We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only way is up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Urr Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The only way is up”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Spectacular scenery,wonderful food, friendly helpful staff and a very welcoming proprietor Angela. This really sums up our stay, yes the rooms have been neglected by the previous owner and it will take time to get the hotel back to its full potential but this is now happening and it is still a very pleasant place to stay whether for leisure or business.

Room Tip: Wi fi is free but limited to the reception and public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    120
    90
    64
    134
See reviews for
67
282
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Have just returned from a 2 day stay at The Urr Valley Hotel. We had a lovely time and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Also the breakfast was unbelievable and the portions were huge!! Also after a day out on our bikes we stayed in the hotel to eat for the second night and the menu was wonderful and so reasonable. Altho the bedroom was a bit "tired" we had a great sleep and left feeling the better of our stay! Would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel.
Gill Smithw

Room Tip: Ask to see room first, ours faced car park on ground floor and we could not leave windows open all n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just returned from having a lovely peaceful 2 nights away. With our voucher deal it included 2 nights bed&breakfast and a bottle of lovely wine which tasted lovely one cannot complain at the price the whole stay was value for money. The food was fantastic huge helpings. Staff were friendly and helpful. Cannot fault Angie who was one of the owners she was so helpful and pleasant and very down to earth she made us feel so welcome. Yes the hotel is going through major renovations but it still was and is a very home from home hotel I cant understand why people have put some bad reviews about the hotel. We had a lovely renovated room( no2 ) which was immaculately clean, spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room with a shower cubicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

my partner and I stayed at this hotel on a Go Groupon deal 2 weeks ago. for the price of the deal(£60 plus a bottle of wine on arrival),it was extremely good value.the deal was for bed and breakfast -breakfast was extremely good,the cooked breakfast was tasty and filling-plus it was served piping hot.i know a lot of people moan cos you have to do your own toast-whats wrong with that??saves waste and staffs time...
the room was a good size and although didn't have a view it was perfectly adequate-I laugh as I booked a double room but it had 2 single beds,still we worked round that.hte washroom taps were a bit on the loose side but the room itself had nice clean pine furniture,plenty of storage space too.
the grounds of the hotel are beautiful-lovely unspoilt woodlands with rabbits running about!!nice to sit out and just chill
I would definitely go back again,it was a real value for money deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordewrs
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just back yesterday from this hotel. This was the second time there and we will be returning. Yes it need a bit work done but don't be put off. It is great value for money, the food is excellent staff friendly, the location is peaceful. Give it a try you won't be dissapointed

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alip6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Although this hotel is being refurbished (to a high standard) at the moment, it did not detract from the overall experience. It is set in beautiful grounds and had a lovely family atmosphere. We booked using a voucher and were totally surprised. On arrival we, (64,62) were shown to the 'honeymoon' suite with a nice bottle of white wine :-) much appreciated! Four poster bed was so comfy and room had lovely views. Complimentary toiletries were much nicer than we usually find and tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits were there in abundance. ( pleased to see use of fair trade)
Will finish by saying that we had two rooms, the honeymoon suite and no. 2 for Grandma 86, which had been tastefully refurbished but did not see any of the other rooms. Room 2 had a single and a double bed, fantastic en suite with power shower. I'm sure, given time and understanding guests, the present owners will make the rest of this hotel wonderful too. It is a great place for bird watchers, has beautiful walks and is very close to Castle Douglas quaint shopping centre. Thanks for peaceful 2 days !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethandJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries & Galloway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This couple have a huge task in front of them and its going to cost, the rooms and public areas are so tired, I think the hotel inspector could help, the place is very clean and the beds comfy, the bathrooms need ripped out and overall modernisation. Lovely setting and castlr douglas very close. We enjoyed the food with the exception of my sister who asked for salmon salad and got sauce, she was up most of the night sick, so not so good for her, my macaroni was the best ever made with lockerbie cheese.
I dont want to be unfair as yhis place needs all the visitors it can get.

Room Tip: The rooms are all quiet due to the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeekenderWooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
82 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
117 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dalbeattie
55 reviews
16.3 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urr Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urr Valley Hotel

Property: The Urr Valley Hotel
Address: Ernespie Road, Castle Douglas DG7 3JG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Urr Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urr Valley Country House Hotel is a long established hotel set in 14 acres of mature woodland and gardens. With its stunning views across the Galloway countryside, it is an ideal location for short breaks, longer holidays, weddings and conferences. Sporting groups and coach parties are welcome.Within walking distance of one of the region’s most attractive towns, the hotel makes an ideal base for touring the attractions of Dumfries and Galloway and we welcome walkers and cyclists throughout the year.Within a short drive to the beautiful and lonely wilds of the Glenkens, this has long been a forgotten part of Scotland and is therefore relatively unspoiled with a wide variety of fantastic wildlife and spectacular landscape ranging from the mountains and moorland; woodland and forest; burns, rivers, to lochs and farmland.We have a large conference hall and a small conference suite for hire.We are licensed to hold weddings on site, either in the main hall or in the gardens.Whatever the reason for your visit to Scotland, our friendly and professional staff will ensure that your every need is catered for. Enjoy luxury in the heart of Galloway at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Urr Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing