We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasanr Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Urr Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Pleasanr Stay”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just spent 2 nights at the Urr Vally hotel and had a great time. Booked through Woucher and found the hotel to be a bit tired but very welcoming with bags of character. The bar area is so relaxing with the log fire burning and the food is absolutely spot on. We intended to go into Castle Douglas for the second night however with the food being so good we stayed at the cozy hotel bar and had another great meal. I also must mention all the staff who cannot do enough for you and are so genuine and friendly.
Without doubt we will be back for a second visit, pure value for money.
Graeme Campbell

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    120
    90
    64
    133
See reviews for
67
282
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just back from a 2 night b&b stay - cheap deal from Wowcher. First impressions as you drive up the long, multi-potholed drive and when you go into the main reception area which smelled a bit musty really was 'what have I done?' Second impressions on arriving at our room was 'Really glad I didn't pay full whack for this'.

The hotel and the room was pretty dated, some of the furniture handles came off etc., the most important point is that it was clean. Walking from the main part of the hotel to the corridor our room was in (Rooms 1 to 5) was like walking from an icebox into an oven - it was lovely and warm.

The bed we slept in was beautifully clean and really comfortable. Had two nights great sleep - better than we do at home. There was a blanket at the foot of the bed which you could use if required (it was a bit retro – I am 62 and I remember my mother having one just like it in the fifties). We didn't need it though.

The shower – again a bit dated - it took ages for the hot water to come through and there wasn’t a great deal of pressure, but it did the job and fortunately the water didn’t go everywhere, because it was just a shower curtain above a shower tray, so I was happy.
We noticed that Room 3 had a separate bathroom & had a peek in when we saw the door open on the way to breakfast – it has a proper shower enclosure.

On our first night we had a bite to eat in the lounge before we went out – my husband just had soup and I had Galloway steak & gravy pie with chips – it was absolutely delicious. The breakfast on the first morning was OK – the usual – help yourself to juice & cereal & coffee etc. and then one of the waitresses will take your order for a cooked breakfast if you wish. I didn’t notice the little menu stands and when asked if I wanted a ‘Full’ breakfast I just said yes. There was so much on the plate however, I felt really bad as I had to leave half of it. I was much smarter the next morning & asked for a much lighter breakfast, which was fine.

The staff are really nice and one girl who was on the bar on our first night and serving in the restaurant the next two mornings had just started working there and she was really attentive & pleasant.

I think you have to remember this is an old building - it was one of the premier hotels in the area when my husband was growing up there. Previous reviews have said that the present owners are making efforts to renovate but these things take a lot of time and money. Perhaps some scented candles in the entrance area & just a little more attention to first impressions and making sure all the handles on wardrobes are screwed on properly, would make all the difference, especially in the short term.

However, all in all a great stay. We got everything the Wowcher promised, including the wine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jan-car-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is an old hotel which needs a lot of upgrading. The room we were given was very small, but clean. It was also warm but the rest of the hotel was less so. The restaurant was cold in the evening but we had a lovely dinner in the bar beside a warm open fire. Breakfasts were good too and the staff were very pleasant. We booked as a special offer- its fair to say I wouldnt pay the full price. It is a good base for walking and seeing the surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 600Twinkletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castle Douglas hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Absolute waste of a building! Double booked us so we got flung in the "cottage flat". She actually meant staff quarters. Smelly dog from reception followed us in to "flat". (which was actually someone's bedsit, with hairbrushes, cameras, chip pans dirty clothes all lying around). Woman at reception made this "cottage flat" out to be an upgrade from the actual hotel. 5 minutes in I told my wife to get back in car and we stayed at the Premier Inn in Dumfries. Shame because the grounds are quite pretty. Only good this about this hotel is the gate back to Glasgow.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrhenderson1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Although building is old the owners and staff make up for this.

The accommodation was very clean warm and spacious and I had a super stay with my elderly mum. An upgrade to a family room on arrival was very nice to give us a little extra space and was not expected.

Breakfast is very tasty and plenty of it. Hotel is a super base to see all the countyside around.
It was good to see they also do plenty of wedding business along with murder nights

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JIMW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Got my parents this as a gift from Go Groopie a 2 night stay including wine. Arrived only to be told there was no booking for them when I had already phoned up week before to confirm booking? Didn’t receive any wine on arrival, room was very small and for a double room only had one chair in it and above the chair was a shelf with a kettle on it very dangerous! Couldn’t move chair anywhere else as no space. Shower was freezing! Only thing that was good was the breakfast! Staff were pleasant enough but would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank 12Angela34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I got my partner a 2night stay off woucher. We drove up to the hotel and it was complete darkness. Not a light in the driveway at all. On arriving no bottle of wine given even tho it was meant to. Got told door was stiff and was hard to open. Only got given one key and got locked out 1st nite. Couldnt get in for half an hour. Complete joke of a place. Shower was terrible. Was very small standing area and the curtain was inside. The room was very small. Would never stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urr Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urr Valley Hotel

Property: The Urr Valley Hotel
Address: Ernespie Road, Castle Douglas DG7 3JG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Urr Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urr Valley Country House Hotel is a long established hotel set in 14 acres of mature woodland and gardens. With its stunning views across the Galloway countryside, it is an ideal location for short breaks, longer holidays, weddings and conferences. Sporting groups and coach parties are welcome.Within walking distance of one of the region’s most attractive towns, the hotel makes an ideal base for touring the attractions of Dumfries and Galloway and we welcome walkers and cyclists throughout the year.Within a short drive to the beautiful and lonely wilds of the Glenkens, this has long been a forgotten part of Scotland and is therefore relatively unspoiled with a wide variety of fantastic wildlife and spectacular landscape ranging from the mountains and moorland; woodland and forest; burns, rivers, to lochs and farmland.We have a large conference hall and a small conference suite for hire.We are licensed to hold weddings on site, either in the main hall or in the gardens.Whatever the reason for your visit to Scotland, our friendly and professional staff will ensure that your every need is catered for. Enjoy luxury in the heart of Galloway at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Urr Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing