We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Urr Valley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Market Inn Hotel(Castle Douglas)
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Birchtree Hotel(Dalbeattie)(Great Value!)
$78
$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Selkirk Arms Hotel(Kirkcudbright)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Arms(Gatehouse of Fleet)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bank of Fleet Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms Hotel(Castle Douglas)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cally Palace Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveler rating
72
120
93
64
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
120
93
64
135
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 484 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed before Christmas 2013,made very welcome by new owners,changed our bedroom,as I like to take a bath not a shower,we had our evening meal,very good even though the chef for that evening had had an accident going in to work,every thing ran like clock work,full breakfast wonderfull all in all a lovley comfortable hotel,we have booked again for our spring break
Regards Anne & Bill

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nannaanne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I find it really disappointing that I gave this place a constructive, accurate and in many places, praising review and they have, for some unknown reason, asked TripAdvisor to take it down.

I am dumbfounded as to why they have done this considering I gave them 3 stars and plenty of praise for their staff, their food and their brilliant value.

I also said that I would be willing to bring back a party larger than 16 for this years NYE break. Obviously this hotel does not want custom.

There are many reviews on here that attributed them with 1 star and labelled their reviews as "SHAMBLES" and "DO NOT STAY HERE". Yet my honest and generous 3-star review is the one they have asked to be removed??!?

Absolutely astounding.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked this hotel through a wowcher voucher for a couple of days away. We were given the bridal suite at no extra charge which a four poster very comfortable bed with an amazing big bathroom. The hotel has an old world charm to it and very comfortable and welcoming. We decided to eat in on both nights of our stay and were not disappointed at all. The food was of excellent quality and more than ample portions. Lovely roaring fire in the bar was most welcoming. The staff were extremely helpful and extremely pleasant. For breakfast only order the full breakfast if you have a seriously big appetite. We explored Castle Douglas on the first day what a lovely place, the second day we went to Kirkudbright what a quaint little village well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed from 30th December to 3rd January, third visit to this hotel, first time at new year, and will certainly be back very soon. The new owners and staff could not do enough to make this an enjoyable time. Food and entertainment were first class. Complaints(nothing major) were listened to and fixed very promptly. Agree with comment on champagne taste and irn bru pockets as there were some obvious examples of this during our visit. This is a really good value hotel, built in the 1700's, obviously in need of refurbishment as it has been neglected by previous owners for quite some time and the new owners are well aware of the scale of this work, and have every intention of doing so.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

In general everything was ok staff were very friendly all I would say is some people hav champagne taste with irn bru pockets if u want five star need to pay for it. The grounds were nice hopefully the hotel will get refurbished to a high standard as the decor was a bit dated

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulwilliam50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews