We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Urr Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Average food - nothing too special. Pate for starter was tasty but was just like a lump of sausage meat. It was served with three dry oatcakes but because the pate was so hard you couldn't actually spread it onto it. Puddings a bit of a let down and had clearly just been pulled out of a box!

Staff seemed friendly enough although waitress started to clear our table whilst some of our party were still eating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 846travelercritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    120
    90
    64
    134
See reviews for
67
282
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have nothing good whatsoever to say about my time spent in this hotel. The owners did not care one bit about the residents, complaints were not taken seriously and no effort was made to rectify the problems. Oh the problems, where do I start. Room was freezing, this is December, heating is needed! The rooms were very dated and had a unpleasant odour. The landlady was drunk every time I seen her and often displayed very inappropriate behaviour. The place is extremely short staffed, so no help was available as they were rushed off there feet. Food was edible but the atmosphere put me off it.
Castle Douglas itself is a lovely town and I plan on revisiting in the summer. I however would never stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Laura_F555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castle Douglas hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I thought I had entered a hostel for the homeless - the place was shabby and smelt of damp. The room we were shown was barely furnished, damp, cobwebbed with a dirty toilet. I wanted to leave there and then but my partner asked for another room. This room was bigger and although it too was shabby at least it did not smell of damp. I agreed to spend one night but would not use the shower - the grouting was black. The "dining room" had plastic chairs barely disguised by stretch covers' the place was freezing. I did not sleep a wink due to noisy guests. There is a notice stating that the hotel is undergoing refurbishment. However, it should be shut down and major renovations undertaken or just knocked down.

Room Tip: Do not set foot over the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Iona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Lady of the house was lovely and explained the hotel is undergoing renovation. Breakfast was good lovely waitress. Room very disappointing for the price, extremely run down and in desperate need of refurbishment but this was not reflected in the price. Exhaust fan cover in bathroom fell off revealing filthy filter, toilet bowl hadnt been cleaned, water pressure non existant in shower and had to use quilt off extra bed to pad the mattress to cover protruding springs.plus one very miserable man in attendance who shouldn't be in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taffie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My partner and I decided we needed a short break away before the stress of the Christmas season. We found an amazing deal on wowcher for this hotel which in included two nights with breakfast and a bottle of wine on arrival. Before going I read some horrible reviews but I tried not to let them put me off. On arrival we were amazed by the beautiful scenery surrounding the hotel. The grounds are lovely with great views and as it is away from main roads it is very peaceful. I agree with some other reviews that the hotel is not very modernised but I believe that gives it character. My partner and I were very pleased after asking for an upgrade to the bridal suite. The room was reasonably clean and fresh, there were only two small areas where I found dust. We were a little disappointed out room did not have a great view or a hot tub, but we were still happy to be in it. We found all the appliances to work fine and had a very comfy nights sleep in the bed. The room was always cosy. We found no trouble with using the WiFi after we found out you can ask for the password at reception. Every member of staff we met was very friendly and welcoming and helpful, especially the waitresses. We only had dinner and breakfast on one of the days but the food was tasty and filling. Overall we had a great few days break away and would love to return and see the hotel slowly rising as the new owners keep up with their work in progress. The hotel run Murder Mystery nights which seem appealing. The only fault with our holiday was the timing as many places we wanted to visit were closed for the season but this is obviously not the hotels fault and we can't wait to return in the better seasons!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed here last week and have booked again. The hotel in the past has some history, not being looked after and various other stories. It is however a beautiful old building in great grounds, ideal for dogs, families and walkers or just a couple. The new owners, first time in a hotel, have seen the potential and are trying to do something about it. I guess some reviews are correct but harsh. Maybe needed closing and a complete refurb and re opening but they are charging accordingly and trying to fulfill a dream which I hope comes to fruition. I did not find it dirty at all. I slept well and I had a meal, ok not a five star restaurant but adequate. I hope it works for them, in fact it's a project I too would love to take on. So being fair its comfortable, friendly and work in progress.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cassaloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Do yourself a favour and never stay at this hotel . The rooms are disgusting the carpets are filthy my daughter had white socks for five seconds until we entered the room the walls were tired and dated and the furniture was a total mismatch.
We went for dinner hardly had anything that they said they had on the menu!!!! They had a dessert menu that had 11 things on it and only had 4 things in stock, wasn't like hotel was busy although that doesn't surprise me in the least. Oh I forgot we had a steak and the chips and onion rings tasted like they had been cooked in oil that was about five years old totally disgusting!!!! And the chocolate fudge cake which my partner he thought it was a cross between a slice of best of both and a black pudding!!!!!
Then breakfast oh before breakfast tried to have a shower and whole shower head ended up in my hand. So I had to go to my daughters room for a shower which wasn't much better with a pink dated bathroom suite!!!!!
Then breakfast we'll guess what they ran out of haggis think there was only 6 people staying in hotel wasn't like it was busy!!!! Then the bacon was so hard and stiff it would have stood up on end on your plate or soled your shoe!!!!!! It was just totally disgusting altogether ! We had to leave and cut our stay well short one night was enough in the hotel of nightmares !!!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
82 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
117 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dalbeattie
54 reviews
16.3 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urr Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urr Valley Hotel

Property: The Urr Valley Hotel
Address: Ernespie Road, Castle Douglas DG7 3JG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Urr Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urr Valley Country House Hotel is a long established hotel set in 14 acres of mature woodland and gardens. With its stunning views across the Galloway countryside, it is an ideal location for short breaks, longer holidays, weddings and conferences. Sporting groups and coach parties are welcome.Within walking distance of one of the region’s most attractive towns, the hotel makes an ideal base for touring the attractions of Dumfries and Galloway and we welcome walkers and cyclists throughout the year.Within a short drive to the beautiful and lonely wilds of the Glenkens, this has long been a forgotten part of Scotland and is therefore relatively unspoiled with a wide variety of fantastic wildlife and spectacular landscape ranging from the mountains and moorland; woodland and forest; burns, rivers, to lochs and farmland.We have a large conference hall and a small conference suite for hire.We are licensed to hold weddings on site, either in the main hall or in the gardens.Whatever the reason for your visit to Scotland, our friendly and professional staff will ensure that your every need is catered for. Enjoy luxury in the heart of Galloway at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Urr Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing