We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding party guest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Urr Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Monmouth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wedding party guest”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights to attend a wedding. We were given a very warm welcome with coffee on arrival. We had booked for a meal on the first night and the food was absolutely outstanding, as was the wedding food The wedding was fantastic thanks to the hard work of all the staff, nothing was too much trouble. The new management are in the process of updating the rooms which are at the moment very clean but a litle outdated. We would definately stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    120
    91
    64
    135
See reviews for
69
283
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We recently got married at the Urr Valley Country House Hotel in Castle Douglas, the venue was set up perfectly for our day and it looked fantastic, we could not have asked for a better facility to hold our wedding or a better staff to cater for our needs.
We knew that recently the Hotel had some bad reviews but after speaking to Marcell and Linda we knew that everything was under control and we need not worry, to this we were proved right the effort that all the staff went to were Herculean, we had visited the hotel in the weeks upto the event and notice on every visit that major improvements were happening.
Thanks again to all involved and we will defiantly be recommending the hotel to all and will be booking our anniversary there!
Jamie

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_Bradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My partner and I held our wedding on the 8th December 2012. We were aware that there had been some bad reviews however after meeting Marcel, the newly appointed manager, we had every confidence in his ability to make our day all that we wanted it to be. And he did. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make everything run like clockwork.

Marcel kept my partner and I up to speed with the plan for the day so we knew what to expect and when the flowers for the mum's failed to arrive up Marcel made arrangements for the local florist to provide these! The food was first class throughout the whole weekend (we stayed Fri- Sun): Jason the chef did an amazing job and all my guests expressed how they enjoyed the food and the service was excellent too.

The venue was beautifully decorated for our wedding, the open fires made it so cosy and gave a lovely ambiance. Our bedroom for the wedding was fantastic with a huge room and en -suite and the bed was really comfortable. The entire hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean. We had many guests stay for the entire weekend and all my guests gave glowing reviews of their stay at the Urr Valley hotel.

We express highly enough just as to what a fantastic job the hotel did. We love the Urr Valley hotel and we hope that people reading this will disregard what has gone before as it quite clear that any previous difficulties have firmly been addressed and anyone wishing to come and visit this gorgeous little town will be very well accommodated at the Urr Valley hotel.

An amazing venue, food, service; you will not be disappointed!

Thankyou Marcel, Lynda and to the staff.

Fondest Regards,

Sally and Jamie

Room Tip: The bridal suite was lovely for those wanting a romantic stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Urr Valley hotel for one night following a spur of the moment decision to take our newborn baby away for the night. From the moment we entered the hotel we were made to feel very welcome and treated to excellent service throughout our stay. Although some people may find the accomodation a little basic it was evident that the hotel is in the process of renovation and that once complete will rival any competitor in the Galloway area. We look forward to revisiting to see the developments and enjoy the excellent service we experienced on this visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a weekend here earlier this year - a unique experience. The approach road to the hotel, tho deeply pitted with potholes, is thro a wonderful set of mighty and ancient trees. The staff were friendly and helpful (they immediately gave me another room when I found my shower inadequate). The hotel was built circa 1750 and has an imposing position overlooking surrounding farmland. The rooms are strewn with traces of former hunting lodge-type glory (fishing flies, rods, photos, antlers). One of the best aspects of our stay was Castle Douglas itself - Scotland's Food Town. You can drive anywhere in the centre, park easily, then eat in one of the excellent pubs or cafes. The other great thing is Galloway itself - Glentrool Forest, lochs, rivers and biking trails!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN_MCPHERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Urr valley hotel for 3 nights, it was amazing and if could of, would of stayed longer.
The hotel has tons of character, it's decor is extremely charming, which is how we remember it from 18 months previously. We understand is under new management, and Marcel and Linda we wish to thank you for a brilliant stay.
The food, service, cleanliness and most of all the welcoming atmosphere can NOT be faulted at all.
We got married whilst in Scotland, and will certainly be returning to the Urr Valley every year and more for our anniversary.
Would recommend to any body.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyandIand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creetown...scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

we had to use the urr valley for this and they managed to accomadate us virtually last minute.all i can say is excellant service from all the staff and the location was just right,everybody who attended was satisfied and drunk the place dry would have no problems using the urr valley again and credit to linda and marcell for everything,thank you once again

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank eddiemcgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
86 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
84 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
12.1 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
422 reviews
16.3 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urr Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urr Valley Hotel

Property: The Urr Valley Hotel
Address: Ernespie Road, Castle Douglas DG7 3JG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Urr Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urr Valley Country House Hotel is a long established hotel set in 14 acres of mature woodland and gardens. With its stunning views across the Galloway countryside, it is an ideal location for short breaks, longer holidays, weddings and conferences. Sporting groups and coach parties are welcome.Within walking distance of one of the region’s most attractive towns, the hotel makes an ideal base for touring the attractions of Dumfries and Galloway and we welcome walkers and cyclists throughout the year.Within a short drive to the beautiful and lonely wilds of the Glenkens, this has long been a forgotten part of Scotland and is therefore relatively unspoiled with a wide variety of fantastic wildlife and spectacular landscape ranging from the mountains and moorland; woodland and forest; burns, rivers, to lochs and farmland.We have a large conference hall and a small conference suite for hire.We are licensed to hold weddings on site, either in the main hall or in the gardens.Whatever the reason for your visit to Scotland, our friendly and professional staff will ensure that your every need is catered for. Enjoy luxury in the heart of Galloway at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Urr Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing