We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place with lots of good places to eat.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Douglas Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Douglas Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Glasgow
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Friendly place with lots of good places to eat.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Hotel from the outside looked a bit tired and run down, in dire need of a lick of paint.....but staff were really friendly and went out of their way to help.....Andrew in particular was really nice and made us feel really welcome. Food was great both dinner and breakfast. On our second night in Castle Douglas we went for a beautiful indian meal in the Jewel in the Crown......menu had really unusual choices,bit different and presentation was gorgeous....again staff were really nice. We went on a lovely visit to Threave Castle which was about a 10 minute drive from the hotel.....and then about a 15 minute walk....lovely. Also had a lovely lunch in the Design Gallery Cafe in Castle Douglas in the lovely conservatory loing onto the well kept gardens and the weather was glorious couldnt have asked for a nicer weekend. Lastly lots of fab shops!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2monkeysGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    64
    22
    15
    22
See reviews for
24
95
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. It was a Glasgow great deal which was £69 for 2 nights with dinner on first night.

On arrival at hotel in was on the main street but had parking to the rear. We were met with a warm welcome and given our key to our room which was 24. The room was small and was a little tired but was clean and tidy.

As part of the deal we were told we would have fresh fruit and chocolates in the room. We did indeed. 5 quality street and an apple and orange. We did have a chuckle at this.

In the room was a small tv and hairdryer. The bathroom was clean and the shower was powerful enough. Only problem was the water temperature varied from cold to boiling whilst you were in the shower.

We had a 3 course meal as part of the deal and could not fault the service or the food. We drank in the bar after dinner and had a great night meeting other couples on the deal and the bar was reasonably prices.

Breakfast was as good on both mornings. Delicious cooked breakfast.

All in all I would say this was a great bargain break and the service made you feel very welcome. Great food!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were here at the weekend to use our Groupon Voucher and "it did exactly what it said on the tin" we were given fruit and chocolates in our room with a bottle of wine and on the first night we were treated to a three course meal which was lovely. The breakfast the following morning was exactly what we needed and nothing to complain at all. The room we were in was a bit small and there was no heating but a plug in heater had been provided which did the job. Castle Douglas is a lovely town and if you get the chance then take a 10 minutes drive along to Rockcliffe. Overall well worth it, hotel was pleasant and staff friendly, I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hartley12uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

peaceful hotel, food excellant !!nice to have breakfast served to you No congealed fried eggs served here!!1 staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeamacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

A traditional if little old fashioned hotel.
However rooms were clean & tidy, mine had plenty of space. Basic TV & some digital channels. Good heating for cold autumn days.
Bathroom clean & tidy if slightly in need of some doing up.
What it 'lacked' in modernity was more than made up by solid customer service. I was part of a group. We were made extremely welcome, food was excellent and good service. Overall solid place to stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAS02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Spent three nights with a birdwatching group in this very comfortable hotel. Even though it was a group booking with our own menu the management seated us in a large alcove in the dining room which made it like party time. The food was excellent and served with the utmost alacrity and friendliness.
We certainly had a good deal at this hotel - room rather small but very adequate for our needs and oodles of hot water at all times..

Just one little complaint - I am a smoker and am very conscious of inconsiderate smokers throwing dog ends on the pavement etc. There were dog ends at the entrance of the hotel and were never swept away whilst we were there and in addition the ash tray outside the bar was never emptied during our stay.
Apart from that we had a wonderful stay at the Douglas Arms i n Castle Douglas.

Room Tip: didn'd explore any other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilosreturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Nice coaching inn type hotel in centre of Castle Douglas, friendly staff, rooms are very pleasant, clean and in good condition.
Good breakfast and friendly bar

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceLedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#4 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dalbeattie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Arms

Property: Douglas Arms
Address: Main St., Castle Douglas DG7 1DB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your Douglas Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Arms Castle Douglas, Scotland
Douglas Arms Hotel Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing