We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like being at home”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Imperial Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“just like being at home”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The welcome was amazing, the room was standard, clean and comfortable. We had a weeks travel round Dumfries & Galloway and this was one hotel we booked. The staff were so friendly and breakfast was good. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirk_edward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    18
    12
    16
See reviews for
14
28
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Chintzy (late 70's - early 80's - but clean. They even wash the back of the toilet door! I have an obsession with that! NO shake & vac smell trying to disguise smells - which trust me is a bonus! Ultra friendly. Bar prices good. Couldn't do enough fabulous service. Thank you x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robsclan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

me and my husband and another couple went to stay for wkend. the owner . (i think a lovley irish lady ) ?.was sooo nice . and staff lovley . we were looking to get taxi . and they phoned around for us .really friendly and felt very comftable there . rooms were not great . but bedding spotless. i would go back. value for money.

Room Tip: in castle douglas town . so very easy for shopping . and going out of a night . and getting home
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Extremely overpriced (£75 per night!). Uncomfortable beds and very noisy at night due to pub and karaoke right underneath our room. Rooms were dated and TV was temperamental. Poor quality food at breakfast which we left most of. The only positive thing I can say is that the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castle Douglas hotels

Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at various places in Castle Douglas - always enjoyed and good value ... Imperial always busy and nice decor downstairs , so 9 of us stayed there . Rooms were awful , dated small and windows not working - noisy on sat and toilet blocked in one room - damp on wall - absolutely no value at £37.50 a night ... Should have checked rooms out first - lesson learned

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Been touring around the Dumfries area with friends ( which we do often ) have stayed at all hotels in this town, and the one we keep going back to is The Imperial ! why because although it is in need of an update it is soooo friendly, the food is wholesome and fresh, the rooms are tiered they are clean and fresh tv's in rooms are small but who needs to sit in a room all night !! this is a small friendly home from home, if you want noise there is Sams Bar - or just a quiet drink then the lounge bar in the main hotel.
Thanks to Patricia / Tony (guitar man) and all your staff, see you soon - get the FOOD ready oh and the drink.

Room Tip: On booking ask for what you want - they will try to accommodate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed two nights with friends on an escape for some golf. The inn dates many many years ... and the building and plumbing reflect it .. but!!! ... the people and hospitality are superb ... the character is to be savoured ... the bar food and breakfast great ... the people and the welcome ... 5 star ... If you are looking for a homley haven in SW Scotland this is it!!! .... and they even have guiness and a wine sellar!!!

Room Tip: would you like sun in the morning or sun in the evening?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMikeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.9 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
482 reviews
6.9 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
125 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
422 reviews
17.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 35 King Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing