We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Beauty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Ken Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The caravan lets (especially the vans on the front) afford beautiful views of the Loch.
Activities abound which include, fishing, sailing, waterskiing, cycling, red kite trail, canoeing, walking.
A continuous programme of upgrading the lets ensures excellent accomodation.
The site also has free wifi for those who want to keep in touch with day to day living but the site is at its best as a tranquil heaven to relax and enjoy. (even in poor weather!!)
If you need more goods than Mungo has in his on site shop then visit the nearby town of Castle Douglas.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank RalphGerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 225 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here during the jubilee week in a caravan on the newly terraced area. Brilliant campsite which the kids (9 and 6) absolutely loved, have already booked again for next year, Loch edge only a few yards away, 2 play areas for kids and outdoor table tennis table. Whilst we were there there was also an on-site hot food wagon which seemed very popular. A singer was on site on the Sunday with his guitar and was very good and encouraged a lot of the campers to come down to the Loch edge with there seats to listen, really good atmosphere. The site staff were excellent and very helpful, the site shop stocked most things required. Free Wifi across the site was a bonus as orange/t-mobile reception was a bit ropey. A river for canoeing is just across the other side of the Loch and after rain makes for good fun on the rapids. The Loch is excellent for water craft and is very quiet, these can be hired directly off the site. Toilet and showers where of a high standard for the caravan side of the site, cant comment for the tent field as never used. To summarise, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Borrowed a caravan this week from relatives to see if we liked caravanning before we buy our own and also took our own canoe with us. Spent idyllic three nights at Loch Ken Holiday Park – Mungo and his staff are very welcoming and as helpful as can be to newbies! The site was very peaceful, plenty of space between pitches, shower/toilet block spotlessly clean, dogs welcome, short distance to the Loch to launch the canoe and the site is close to plenty of activities and fun things to do for young people of all ages! Will we be buying our own caravan? Well, if all sites are as good as Loch Ken then its a definite 'yes'!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just back from spending a few days over the jubilee weekend in a tent at this site. We (5 mums and aunts) had our annual camping trip with 6 kids and weren't disappointed with this site. We struggled to find somewhere which could take us at short notice and although it was their busiest weekend ever there was still heaps of room in the tent field .They did not squash everyone in. They ensured they did not take more than the facilities could cope with.
Beautiful views across the loch, amazing full moon and pair of kites soaring over the loch were rare sites to see. The kids loved the freedom to go to the play areas, rope swing, outdoor chess and going out on the kayaks and boats. Facilities were spotless. We used the showers beside reception as they were more luxurious than the portacabins in the tent field but both were modern and immaculate.Only downside was the very cold nights but we lit a fire on our barbeque. A must if you have kids is the nearby Cocoabean kids chocolate factory where for £10.50 the get nearly 50 mins to make and keep various moulds of chocolate. There is a good indoor and outdoor play area , good cafe and amazing chocolate shop. Only thing is it is not well sign posted from the main road and it took a bit to find it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowBoBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed for a week in a mobile home in loch ken last week,what a fabulous time we had,we had the weather on our side too,everyone was so friendly and helpful,the scenery is breathtaking,we did a lot of fishing and enjoyed it,the home was lovely and comfortable,,we will definatly go again.thank you mungo you do a great job.

Room Tip: we had home no 9 the roach,on the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We booked a week here in our trailer tent. The kids at school - people at work when we went. It was such a peacefull week. The weather was fantastic - not had a drop of rain all week.
The staff helpful & polite. The site was spotlessly clean in the toilet block. The new dish washing block in the tent field was also clean. (could have done with a bin in there though) All In all a very nice site.
On the Friday before we were leaving on the Saturday, more campers turned up. The only problem there was noise till 02:00 am. I know this is not the fault of the site, but I was glad I was going on the Saturday.

As you can see from the photos it was quiet when we arrived there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in the tent field. Had fantastic time, staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help you. The wash facility and toilet/shower block are very clean n well kept. Will Definatly be back when the weather is better.thankyou

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiebaby1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castle Douglas hotels
14.5 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in Castle Douglas
687 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castle Douglas
95 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#2 of 13 in Castle Douglas
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Airds Farmhouse B&B
#3 of 13 in Castle Douglas
146 reviews
6.8 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#13 of 13 in Castle Douglas
93 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Castle Douglas
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ken Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ken Holiday Park

Address: Parton, Castle Douglas DG7 3NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Castle Douglas
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Ken Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ken Holiday Park is situated on the shores of Loch Ken in an area of outstanding beauty. There are private holiday homes, holiday homes for hire, touring pitches and tent pitches. The extensive tent field offers wonderful views and now features electric hook-ups, its own facility block and dishwashing facilities. There is free wifi, boats/canoes/pedalos/mountain bikes for hire, fishing, walking in the Galloway hills, situated close to many of the Seven Stane bike tracks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ken Holiday Park Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing