We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time even better!!”
Review of Summerhill B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summerhill B & B
Ranked #4 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

In August 2012, my husband and I and another couple traveling with us stayed at Summerhill Bed and Breakfast in Castle Douglas, Scotland, My husband and I had stayed there in August 2011 and knew we had to reserve it to share with our traveling companions. Robin and Tina are the most excellent and gracious hosts with much helpful knowledge of the area.Their 2 bedroom, purpose built bed and breakfast is incredible - from the king-size bed to the large, modern bathrooms to the breakfast area overlooking the garden. The decor is tasteful and calming and modern and the breakfast is fresh, homemade and is prepared and served with a beautiful smile from Tina. We were delighted by their warm welcome and that they remembered us! You cannot do better than this bed and breakfast in Castle Douglas. I highly recommend it! :)

Room Tip: They only have 2 rooms and they are both gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 171 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We received a warm and very personal welcome. The house is modern and features oak flooring and furniture throughout with underfloor heating and a luxury walk-in shower. Every possible detail had been attended to. The breakfast was scrumptious and refined. I loved the homemade granola, the local bread and preserves.
Would recommend to anyone wanting a touch of luxury in Scotland!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartipolkadots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Four day business stay was superb. Hosts were very helpful and friendly. The food was excellent. Accommodation was the best. The spa pool was warm and enjoyable. Ideal small walk into this small market town.
Recommend this accommodation and will return again soon.
Dianne (Glasgow)

Room Tip: Rooms are all of the highest standards, bright and modern and very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were caught in the recent Dumfries and Galloway snow storm and found Summerhill on a recommendation from another guesthouse. What a recommendation that turned out to be. The upstairs suite was superb; modern, clean and spacious. The temperature was excellent as we were coming in from the cold. Our hostess gave us full details on the local area and recommendation for an italian restaurant that evening and we enjoyed the marvellous home cooked breakfast to prepare us for the onward journey. Altogether an unexpected pleasure which we hoped could have lasted longer. We'll definitely be back, regardless of the snow.

Room Tip: Ground floor suite is the best, only because of being a little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Every aspect of our 2 night stay was top notch, from our booking by phone through to departure we were treated especially well. We had the downstairs "suite" in this lovely modern house, with our own private entrance. Large comfortable room with huge bed; large bathroom with walk-in shower; all spotlessly clean. Access provided to the indoor spa pool (though we didn't have time to use it (this time).
Super breakfast. All round attention to detail exceptional in our wide experience and such a lovely friendly "landlady".

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbcreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

One of the best B and B's I have ever stayed in The double room ensuite with its own entrance and deck was everything one could wish for in terms of comfort and amenities from a well supplied tea tray to ironing board and iron in the cupboard. The decor was attractive, the bed huge and very comfortable, the heating was adjustable and the large bathroom was a joy. We decided to experience the swim spa and found it great fun with various currents to swim against and different coloured lights.Breakfast was all that one could wish for with delicious granola and fresh fruits and yoghurt and I followed this with scrambled egg and a generous helping of smoked salmon. The coffee was hot, plentiful and very good. Our hostess could not have been more helpful, even enlisting her husband's help in identifying a local landmark I had been trying to track down.
I cannot recommend Summerhill enough - give it a try!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Graqlvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Oh my goodness......just had the most amazing weekend away. A beautiful home with amazing facilities, great hostess, spectacular breakfasts...couldn't have asked for more. Arrived Friday night to a very warm welcome, where my husband and I were made to feel so special. A warm room beautifully decorated, a lovely bed, fabulous ensuite and a great tray of goodies including galaxy hot chocolate...what more does a girl need!!! Breakfast was delicious, home made granola and beautifully presented cooked breakfast with locally sources ingredients. Tourist information on tap and to top it off the use of the private indoor spa pool made it an exquisite relaxing weekend for a set of exhausted parents of three energetic children.

Room Tip: The whole house is beautiful, any room you would be extremely happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimsymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castle Douglas hotels
2.4 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#2 of 13 in Castle Douglas
85 reviews
3.4 mi away
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Airds Farmhouse B&B
#3 of 13 in Castle Douglas
146 reviews
15.3 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in Castle Douglas
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castle Douglas
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#13 of 13 in Castle Douglas
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Castle Douglas
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill B & B

Address: Summerhill Abercromby Place Abercromby Road, Castle Douglas DG7 1GA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range: $70 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Summerhill, a contemporary and stylish new Bed and Breakfast situated in the busy market town of Castle Douglas offering superior accommodation and the luxury of an indoor swimspa, a fantastic heated swimming pool with variable resistance currents and powerful massage jets. Summerhill is ideally situated for those wanting to explore the area including the Solway Coast and the nearby Galloway Forest Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhill B & B Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing