We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, bright, clean, high quality...”
Review of Summerhill B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summerhill B & B
Ranked #4 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Came up to Dumfries and Galloway for an interview and wanted a clean, quiet place and a bit of luxury before the dreaded day. Summerhill exceeded all expectations. Tina greeted me warmly and even gave me a plate and napkin on arrival for my dissolving sandwich purchased in Biggar. I had my own deck and the room was furnished in relaxing duck egg blue's and golden tones. Bathroom was luxurious: felt like a queen. Added touches - a good range of toileteries, towelling slippers and robe made me feel even more at home. Tina designed the house herself, maximising the light. She's chosen high end fittings throughout. Tina is a very gentle and friendly host and easy to talk to. Robin has a bike hire company which he runs from the house and I cycled out to Threave that evening. Castle Douglas is renowned for its food producers and I had local granola, sausages. bacon and eggs. You also get a good selection of fruit and yoghurt - grapes and berries. I will be back, it's such a beautiful area, great for walking and seeing wildlife and this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zebraverdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 171 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

Now you are probably thinking what a ridiculous suggestion to make? Well a group of 5 lads from Liverpool would beg to differ.

We turned up at Tina and Robin's a group of cold, tired and hungry cyclists looking for a comfortable bed for the night. What we didn't expect was a standard of accommodation and hospitality that made our short stop in Castle Douglas an absolute pleasure.

The Rooms are of an excellent standard, of the quality i would expect in a luxury hotel. If that wasn't enough we also had an incredible Jacuzzi! After an hour in that all the aches and pains of the road were smoothed away, it was lovely!

We wanted to have a look round Castle Douglas and Tina recommended that we visit a pub where we could get a nice pint and food. I've forgotten the name of the pub (ask Tina) however they served the best steak pie!

In the morning we were all served a wonderful Breakfast, not the rubbish you get in some places. The cereals included Granola with fresh berries and strawberries followed by a big cooked breakfast with coffee, tea and fruit juices. We had a 70 mile day in front of us and that set us up perfectly for it.

Tina's husband Robin gave us some great tips for routes and places to stay as we were heading down to the Isle of Whithorn then up to the Isle of Arran.

All in all this was a perfect place to stay and i only wish we could have stayed longer, it is not just the standard of accommodation and food that makes this place special, what really makes it stand out is 2 hosts who seem to actually enjoy hosting people. It makes such a difference to your stay when you feel so welcome in a place.

So the best B&B in the world, well maybe that’s going a bit far, let just say it was the nicest place that any of our group stayed in on our trip around Scotland or anywhere else we've ever been.

Myself and everyone in our group would like to say a big thankyou to Tina and Robin.

Room Tip: Make sure you try the Jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larklaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Tina and Robin at Summerhill are just the perfect hosts and this coupled with the most fantastic facilities makes this a fabulous place to stay. My husband and I needed to recharge our batteries and staying in this bed and breakfast just did the trick. We had a wonderfully relaxed two nights here and within moments of arriving we felt very relaxed and welcome. Everything about Summerhill is of the highest quality including the spacious bedroom and the fantastic breakfast.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I can't recommend summer hill enough! The room was amazing, a really good size with lovely decor and underfloor heating. We had our own entrance and key which was great too. A very warm reception and we felt very looked after. The breakfast was really good, a great granola and fruit and yoghurt, rather than tired cereal, followed by a gorgeous cooked breakfast 5*

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jills05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed for one night, using both rooms. Both rooms are vey well equipped, comfortable, spacious and clean. They include high quality fittings including tv with dvd and ipod dock. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and bottled water, along with packets of biscuits are also welcoming. Tina is an excellent host especially in providing such a wonderful breakfast - you really do not need to eat for the ret of the day. A 5 star bed and breakfast experience.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank holidayAFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a beautifully appointed home with very welcoming, friendly hosts. The quality of the accessories is excellent. We only stayed one night and would certainly return in the future. We were disappointed we had forgotten to take our costumes to take advantage of the swimspa. The breakfast was delicious and so generous we didn't eat again until the evening!

Room Tip: Stayed upstairs and were shown the downstairs bedroom - both would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed in Febuary half term and couldn't have asked for better accomodation. The room was gorgeous and the hosts were knowledgeable and extremely helpful (particularly when my forgetful other half managed to leave his bag in the last city and their daughter came to the rescue!)

Those 'little extras' really made the difference. Watching the football in the jacuzzi was extremely relaxing and a highlight! Being able to hire bikes and see some more of the area was also fantastic. We could also highly recommend Laggan outdoor centre for some adrenaline fueled action.

Really couldn't recommend this bed and breakfast enough and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castle Douglas hotels
2.4 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#2 of 13 in Castle Douglas
84 reviews
3.4 mi away
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Airds Farmhouse B&B
#3 of 13 in Castle Douglas
145 reviews
15.3 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in Castle Douglas
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castle Douglas
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#13 of 13 in Castle Douglas
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Castle Douglas
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill B & B

Address: Summerhill Abercromby Place Abercromby Road, Castle Douglas DG7 1GA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range: $69 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Summerhill, a contemporary and stylish new Bed and Breakfast situated in the busy market town of Castle Douglas offering superior accommodation and the luxury of an indoor swimspa, a fantastic heated swimming pool with variable resistance currents and powerful massage jets. Summerhill is ideally situated for those wanting to explore the area including the Solway Coast and the nearby Galloway Forest Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhill B & B Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing