We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“M, Castle Douglas”

Galloway Activity Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Galloway Activity Centre. We are situated on the banks of Loch Ken in south west Scotland and have an exciting range of activities for families, individuals and groups alike. Here you will find details of our services & facilities including activities, courses, equipment hire, accommodation and holiday packages. Choose from: Sailing, Windsurfing, Powerboating, Kayaking, Canoeing, Outdoor Laser Tag, Archery, Mountain Biking, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, Giant Water Slide, Climbing and more...Our aim is to give you a memorable holiday in a safe and friendly family atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just spent a fantastic night in a yurt at GAC with a group of six friends. Yurt very comfortable, cosy, clean and cute! Great time kayaking on loch beforehand, everyone very helpful and welcoming.
Girlie night with a difference!!

Thank MaggieL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gac_lochken, Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Ladies!

Glad you had a good time, sorry we couldnt persuade that weather to perform.

Hopefully see you all back again.

GAC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hot tub"
in 50 reviews
"loch ken"
in 49 reviews
"zip wire"
in 32 reviews
"climbing wall"
in 31 reviews
"great fun"
in 51 reviews
"leap of faith"
in 29 reviews
"mountain biking"
in 28 reviews
"wobbly water park"
in 22 reviews
"laser tag"
in 21 reviews
"paddle boarding"
in 17 reviews
"great weekend"
in 14 reviews
"next year"
in 23 reviews
"beautiful surroundings"
in 13 reviews
"mongolian yurt"
in 13 reviews
"log burner"
in 11 reviews
"one night"
in 10 reviews
"different activities"
in 9 reviews
Filter

428 - 432 of 487 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We've been going to GAC since it opened. Indeed, the children have grown up with it as part of their summer schedule and all have learned to sail there. The kids now sail for their university / schools but we're by no means a nutty sailing family. If anything, the broader outdoor experiences have enriched, enlightened and encouraged the children to try other outdoor pursuits.
Heartily recommend for children of any age and any level of competence and experience.

McC

Thank HunkofJunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gac_lochken, Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for your feedback and glad we introduced and got your family sailing and great to hear of what their doing now in terms of sailing for their uni.

Let them know we do offer university trainng camps and special student rates...for sept/oct freshers training :)

Thanks
GAC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Range of outdoor activities, great for older primary/teenagers. They always want to come back again and enjoy the variety of watersports on offer. The outdoor laser quest is always a winner.

Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gac_lochken, Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Rachel, glad you all had a good day.

Hopefully see you guys again througout summer.

GAC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent a half day on the new water park, lots of great inflatables to climb, slid and jump around off, myself and 3 girls had a great time and lots of thrills and spills. Would recommend to anyone who likes a laugh and doesn't mind getting wet. We also has a go at kayaking after enjoying this last year. Although fun, without an adult in the kayak to help, the 2 girls (aged 12) found it hard to steer the kayak and got tired, but still enjoyed themselves, with a good few jumps into the loch off the pontoon for good measure. This was our second visit to lochken and we will be back as we love the activities, staff are very friendly and an added bonus is they are very dog friendly so my 2 collies had a good time running around and swimming in the loch. I could not fault this centre at all.

Thank Woodfinefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gac_lochken, Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for the feedback! and glad you all had a great tim (inc the dogs :) )

Hope to see you all back soon

GAC team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I took 20 pupils and 3 staff to the centre as part of an activity day at our school. The pupils opted for the centre and we had a great day there. There were a great range of activities available - sailing, kayaking, inflatables all on the loch, mountain bikes, climbing, abseiling, zip wire and laser quest all on land. The laser quest was particularly exciting as the guns were accurate and the helmets sensitive and the areas were great for hiding. All the instructors were helpful and pleasant to the kids. I can highly recommend this centre for a great day out.

Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gac_lochken, Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thanks for the feedback guys, glad you enjoyed the new waterpark! wonder what we'll have in store for next year?!

Hopefully see you guys again soon.

Thanks, GAC team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galloway Activity Centre also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Galloway Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing