We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

Galloway Activity Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Galloway Activity Centre. We are situated on the banks of Loch Ken in south west Scotland and have an exciting range of activities for families, individuals and groups alike. Here you will find details of our services & facilities including activities, courses, equipment hire, accommodation and holiday packages. Choose from: Sailing, Windsurfing, Powerboating, Kayaking, Canoeing, Outdoor Laser Tag, Archery, Mountain Biking, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, Giant Water Slide, Climbing and more...Our aim is to give you a memorable holiday in a safe and friendly family atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you.
St Johns Town of Dalry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Grandchildren attended for a day and tried windsurfing,raft building, the climbing wall etc etc. The 3 of them loved it. would take them again as it thrilled them so much

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gac_lochken, Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks for your feedback,

We are open all through the winter aswell, so keep us in mind if your looking for something to do with the Grandchildren over winter.

Many thanks
Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    36
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“School Trip 2012”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a fantastic weekend we have all had! The site of the centre is beautiful, the meals delicious and the activities exciting, safe and well organised. All instructiors were thoughtful, professional and fun. a great place to take a school group for an unforgettable weekend!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gac_lochken, Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks for your feedback!
Good to hear you had a good time, hope to see you back next season.

GAC Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Watersports Centre”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Galloway Activity Centre on Loch Ken in Dumfries and Galloway is tucked away down a lane in a lovely unspoilt scenic part of Galloway.

Accommodation is in log cabins next to the lake, the lodge house, a tent and even a Mongolian Yurt a huge tent with a wood burning stove at the centre of it with access to all of the activities right on the doorstep and has a very relaxed family atmosphere.

All equipment is provided including wetsuits, mountain bikes, etc safety is clearly a big consideration and I was impressed by the briefings. The instructors are very friendly and give loads of encoragement and were very approachable. They were always on hand to provide assistance and advice. The food was also excellent and the kitchen staff went out of their way to accommodate any specific requests.

Good value for money and a lovely place to relax and leave the rat race behind.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Solitary_Trucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gac_lochken, Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thanks for your kind feedback on the centre.

It's great to hear that you had a good experience accross the board, especially from the kitchen (i will pass this onto them)

Whilst outdoor activities are at our roots we have been adding and diversifying for many years now. This has included the addition of many outdoor activities and over more recent years the Mongolian Yurts and Cabins.

Watch this space for more activity and accommodation development over the winter.

Many thanks
Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great watersports centre!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

All of us (a family of five including our sons aged 10, 13 and 15) enjoyed a couple of days on the water at the GAC. Staff were excellent, food in the cafe was wholesome and tasty, and the setting is just fabulous. The tuition was great - older two did the Stage 2 sailing course - which they really enjoyed as it wasn't 'all work' but fun too, whilst the younger one just wanted to have a go in his own boat for a bit - nothing was a problem as the centre operates a very flexible system. It was good value for money for such a good quality service. The centre offers other activities too including mountain biking - when we arrived several people were taken across the loch with their hired bikes by boat to the MB course on the far side...wish we'd done that too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasperpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gac_lochken, Manager at Galloway Activity Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thanks for your great feedback, i will pass this onto the team!

Im glad you enjouyed your experience and found the ballance between fun activities and tuition to be right. It's often a difficuilt one to strike when teaching RYA courses.

We do our very best to stay as flexible as possible and im glad that this showed.

We hope to see you all back in the future, and possibly take up the mountain biking?

Many thanks
Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmaben
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Learning to canoe.48 hor basic course”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great one to one tuition. All the basics well taught. Plenty emphasis on safety, Lots of different paddle strokes and taught to use them in the varing conditions availabel. Felt that I had learnt a lot really well. Food included on course. Plent calories necessary!

Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galloway Activity Centre also viewed

Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Galloway Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing