We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard 2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
fife, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Courtyard 2”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cottages which was just across the busy road from the holiday park. The cottage was absolutely brilliant, 4 bedrooms with 2 of them ensuite. There is no bath in the cottage, just showers. The cottage was clean and very modern. Outdoor hot tub was amazing!! We ate in the bistro twice and the food was good, the kids loved the evening entertainment. As it was quiet and off peak which I was surprised about as it was our school holidays (fife) all the entertainment was held in the sports bar so we didn't need to pay for an entertainment pass which was ideal. As the courtyard is over the road it is a steep walk back in the evening so we would take the boys scooters and push them up the hill!! We used the onsite shop which was reasonably priced for any essentials you forget to bring from home! We did the coco bean chocolate factory one day, best day out in a long time, the kids had a brilliant time. We had a great holiday and unfortunately were gutted that we had to come home early as our youngest woke up the morning before we were meant to leave with chickenpox ;(
We would not hesitate in booking one of the cottages again as they were fab, will be keeping an eye out for any deals!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    193
    44
    29
    30
See reviews for
387
105
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We went at the end of May/start of April, so it was quiet and no neighbours next to our caravan! :) we were right at the bottom of the yellow zone so all that was in front of us was the sea, we could sit and watch it for ages from our caravan window. Weather was great first day we travelled, people were even sitting outside eating at the restaurant at the starlight lounge, where all the facilities are. We eat one night at the restaurant, it was really nice, like bar food (I.e fish and chips, steak pie, chicken tikka, burgers e.t.c) and you could get 2 courses for £10 from selected items on the menu. The restaurant is open from 5pm to 10pm and there is also a sports bar open from 7pm.
The rest of the time the weather was overcast and cloudy, but that didn't stop us from having a good time, plus it only rained at night which was a real bonus. It was nice listening to it coming off the caravan.
There are breathtaking views around the caravan sight, and there is a nice place called Galloway Forrest park where you can have a nice drive/ or park and have a wee walk. There is a deer sighting area you can park at then you walk up a hill then you can see them on the mountains. There is a high fence, so they have a shed there with a little window lower down for young children to see and a few higher up too, also you can open the windows higher up if you want better photos of the deer as long as you close them before you leave. There is also a visitors book you can leave a little note in :)
I also recommend visiting the cream of Galloway as they have the best creamiest ice cream I have ever tasted! And they make there own cones too. Also they have a huge outdoor activity centre, which is free for adults, but can't remember how much it was for children as I don't have any.
Children would love it here though.
Nearest town is 15/20 minute drive away called the gatehouse of fleet which has some restaurants and bars in it and a few wee shops, and a cash machine you can use as the one at the caravan park charges £1.50 per withdraw. There is also a visitors centre where you can see a working mill and they have an awesome old fashioned bookshop on the top floor :D
Castle Douglas is about a 40 minute drive away and has many bars, restaurants and shops, including a nice Chinese which does a deal at lunch time for just £4.95 per person.
There is also a wee shop at the caravan where the reception is which sells just about everything and are quite cheap. You can also hire DVD's from there if you want a night in.
Also if you need anything, such as we couldn't figure out how to get our hot water on :/, just tell reception and they send someone out right away, they are quite efficient that way.
In the Caravan, as we booked through Hoseasons, they provide everything you need, except tea towels, which we brought just in case anyway. You can hire these from the caravan site, but it's better to bring your own I think. Also if you are going in the summer and fancy sitting out on the porch, bring some folded chairs as you have to hire these too.
The swimming pool was good, except they were having a problem with their showers coz they were cold, but you can go back to your caravan for a shower. It costs £5 deposit for a key to unisex changing rooms, but you get that back, but if you want to use a locker, you need a pound coin, but you don't get it back. They also have a sauna, arcade area and sunbeds within the starlight lounge.
Apparently they also have laundry facilities, but I didn't see this as I just took my washing home, but I am sure if you ask reception they will tell you where it is.
I think I have covered everything, but if you have any questions feel free to ask :)

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I live locally and took my daughter swimming here on Mothering Sunday, the swimming pool & changing rooms were spotless!! made to feel very welcome even though not staying on the park, we then meet my mother & father for lunch in the Bistro, 1st class service, presentation & quality of food excellent & very reasonably priced, all facilities were spotless. Every member of staff that walked past us acknowledged us, All staff very Customer Friendly. Returned today and the standards & Customer friendly staff were exactly the same, well worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMAMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We've been to Auchenlarie in the past so we're signed up to the Newsletter email - got a great offer sent through this and booked for a weekend. We were supposed to get a very basic caravan but we got a really nice one. We were in the red zone - some people on here have complained about the noise from the road in this zone - we were in the 2nd top row from the road and the road noise was minimal. It was a lovely quiet area - no noise from late night revellers coming home from the club and a great area for my 6 yr old grandson to get out on his bike as there were lots of flat paths. New shop just opened has lots of choice and the new pool changing rooms are great. Entertainment passes and the bar are both a bit expensive but the kids light up toys at the new club shop are a lot cheaper than other sights so it all evens out. We all had a great weekend even though the weather wasn't great and are hoping to go back later in the year if there are some more great offers!!!

Room Tip: Caravan grades at Auchenlarie are a higher standard than the equivalent at most other sites - all va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Just visited Auchenlarie for a long weekend lets start with the good points absolutely stunning setting with amazing views scenery and even palm trees caravan could not fault was in Gold B129 excellent view and verandah on all caravans is an added bonus the shop is also great and the swimming pool to now the downside the staff at the pool and in the starlight suite were not in my opinion very friendly and rude also you get charged £4 each for the starlight suite this should be added to the holiday before booking as no one wants to have to pay this for entertainment when you have to add in cost of bingo and bar prices which don't get me wrong are cheaper than haven sites but still quite expensive this was also echoed by owners who I spoke to also. Bar closes far to early 1130 fri/sat 1045 pm on sun even though it was busy especially as you have no choice as nearest other bars are miles away make sure also you get a cash line as they very greedily charge you £1.85 to use cash machine again no choice as nothing local and a word of warning if you have network 3 mobile absolutely no service and the park are asking for £6 a day to connect to Wifi eh no thanks if you have the cloud you can get on for free at the pub overall a good park but to many hidden extra costs which would be better included no matter who you book with I was Hoseasons the caravan owners I spoke to also agreed this should be the case one last point the entertainer on the Sunday night guy who used to do bubbles the clown was hilarious best part of the weekend I would welcome any feedback

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Gggggggggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I live locally but do like going to the starlight suite a group of us went to the rod stewart tribute night what a great night .we were just back from a week in Benidorm and must say auchenlaire tribute was much better than one in Benidorm looking forward to our next night out .

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here fri to monday with 3 other women after getting a deal in the sun paper. We decided to upgrade and ended up in the courtyard lodge. It was gorgeous. Had two twin bedrooms and one en-suite double bedroom. Only slight problem was the shower head in the main bathroom wouldn't stay up, but as we had another bathroom we didn't bother reporting it (though I guess we probably should have). Decent sized living area, with 2 couches, fire and tv on the wall, dining table and kitchen all in the one large room. Decking outside with a fabulous hot tub and bench to sit on. The courtyard is across the main road from the rest of the site, which means you are at the top of the hill and the entertainment/food is at the bottom of the hill. We ate at the bistro on the sat night and the food was really good. We didn't pay to go into the entertainment but went to the sports bar instead. It had karaoke on the sat night and was fairly busy. We had a great night, with a bit of dancing thrown in. There is a premier shop on site, which was really handy and prices reasonable. The best thing about upgrading was definitely the hot tub. It was amazing and we made good use of it. Water was constantly hot and you only had to turn on the jets when you wanted to use it. Although we were 4 adults and had a great time it would definitely be a great place for families. They have great facilities, including a pool, gym, mini golf and plenty of entertainment to keep kids amused. Also noticed a few mini play parks dotted about the site. All in all we had a fabulous time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site xx

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_78_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
15.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
83 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
81 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Brighouse Bay Holiday Park
Brighouse Bay Holiday Park
#2 of 6 in Kirkcudbright
199 reviews
15.3 mi away
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Airds Farmhouse B&B
#3 of 13 in Castle Douglas
138 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Ellangowan Hotel
The Ellangowan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Creetown
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchenlarie Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Property: Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Address: Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and family themed holiday park. Activities for young and not so young. Children's entertainment daily throughout the high season, family entertainment each evening in the Starlight Suite - with live acts. Coastal views with beach access. Beautiful surrounding countryside, ideal for walkers, cyclists and everyone who loves the great outdoors. Many tourist destinations on our doorstep too. Surfside Bistro Restaurant and Surfside Bistro Takeway serving delicious home prepared meals. Sports Bar showing all the live sports action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, PitchUp and Booking.com so you can book your Auchenlarie Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Hotel Castle Douglas
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing