We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Law, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Visited here on a cold and windy October, but was greeted with a cheery smile and more than helpful member of the team. She happily directed us to the touring area and explained we could pick our pitch. Lot of the pitches are fairly level but might suggest that you have a ramp or set of for a twin axle. The views were fantastic and the on site facilities are great. Both our kids loved the swimming and games zone. The food in the bistro is great and well priced. Aside of that the entertainment at night is held in a clean, well managed area and there is great entertainment for all. The weather was one our only let down however with the right weather it would be a great base to tour around the West coast. Rabbits... there are lots, but I guess that's nature. The only problem at the time was the myxomatosis which seemed to be ravaging them and unfortunately a few dead bodies being attacked by the local seagulls was evident. Overall a great site!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    185
    44
    28
    29
See reviews for
368
101
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

As an inexperienced camper we was unsure what to expect and only have a few experiences to compare it to. We arrived and checked in early at no early cost. We were asked to pitch our tent in the overflow field. There was only one other tent and had plenty of space to choose where to picth our tent. We pitched our tent near the main road side, unfortunetly if your a light sleeper this could be a problem but i must say if we went again i would pitch it further on the opp side as the lorries could speed past and sometimes was a little scary. The shower block was spotless and i liked the fact you got your own bathroom with a lock, with toilet, basin and shower. Hairdryer was 20p which was okay too! Entertainment passes was extra and tbh we only used the entertainment room once just for bingo. The pool was clean enough and we also went swimming there a few times. The food was very nice in the bar and and was reasonably priced. I cant fault this holiday park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraBassenger86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over the September Weekend with 2 other families. Caravan was spotless, central heating and shower were great. We stayed in the Blue Zone and only a 2 min walk away from the pool and entertainment area. On our arrival a gentleman appeared welcoming us to the park and gave us a voucher for a bottle in their bar....nice touch. Loads of rabbits about which the kids liked and a small play park nearby for them to use.
The swimming pool and gym open at 10am, which is a bit of pain and the drinks at the bar are a wee bit expensive.
Above all a great park, we will be back!

Room Tip: Would suggest the Blue Zone, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRC500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We were 2 adults and 2 children (both 5) booked to stay for the October week. Initially we were concerned about booking incase we were put into the red zone as one of the adults had walking difficulties and we had heard it was quite a distance from the club to the red zone, especially if we were near the back. However the staff were able to show us on a map what caravan we would be allocated if we booked. We were in y39 which was just a bronze caravan, suited for a couple. It was ok for us as the kids slept in the bedroom and we took a couch each.

We were really surprised by how well equipped the caravan was for being bronze but we had a full cooker, microwave and all the utensils you could think of. We also were provided with duvets and linen despite not booking it as we took sleeping bags.

The park itself was great, we had looked into various attractions in the surrounding area but it turned out we never left the park. The 2 boys loved the beach, which was very clean and set in a beautiful cove area. The only downside is the path is steep and has no hardcore path or handrail so the stones can be slippy underfoot, however my 73yr old mother made it down with my assistance ok and she was so glad as it was stunning.

The boys also enjoyed swimming everyday which was free and the play parks, which they could go to themselves as there was no issue with speeding traffic and everyone was very friendly.

At night the kids enjoyed the entertainment and then we had a game of bingo before heading back.

It really was nice to see the boys enjoying our great outdoors and I would recommend this park to anyone. Having never been on a caravan holiday before this exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed for a week with our 2 granddaughters. The park is excellent. Spotlessly clean and well maintained. We were in caravan B155 in the Blue zone and had a fantastic view. The caravan was ample for 2 adults and 2 children. Very clean. We were very fortunate with weather for middle of October. It was fantastic.

We ate once in the bistro and the food was excellent. Good take away chips every night. The entertainment in the club at night can not be faulted. Although it gets a bit repetitive when doing the kids stuff but that's what it is like all over I suppose. All the staff throughout the site are very friendly and welcoming. A credit to the site. Good pool area. Just big enough arcade, and a small fun soft play area for the kids.

Lovely small beach area that is safe for the kids to play about in when an adult there. Lovely on a warm day

All in all a great week. Great weather. Great site. Great staff. Would definitely recommend and will be back.

Only one small criticism. Be good if bistro could open a bit earlier. Perhaps 4pm. But realise it may be to do with staff numbers and getting a break

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

A nice wee site in a lovely location.
I booked through Hoseasons and I feel the description of a Hoseasons Gold 2 raises customers expectations: as what you get doesn't match what you expect, not that there was anything wrong with what we got for what we paid.
There were a few issues with cleanliness on arrival, a dirty used plaster and general grime, and the tv ariel wiring hanging out the wall.
However, on reporting this to the Auchenlaurie manageress, she immediately actioned this and reassured us of what the holiday park could do. The management of expectations I will take up with Hoseasons.
Overall a very enjoyable holiday, food and drink at the main bar was good and we ate there a couple of times. Entertainment was in the sports bar and was very enjoyable!
The staff were friendly, chatty and polite....except the two people I had to deal with on reception. I think they may work as GP receptionist in the closed season :-D.
On first arrival, reporting the faulty tv and another occasion the younger lady seemed either unsure or disinterested. On reporting a removed wheelchair ramp and the subsequent exposed screws that posed a health and safety risk the elder ladies attitude was confrontational and indicated she felt my reporting things were a nuisance. Such behavior, however is definitely not the norm of what we experienced and didn't put us up nor down but may irritate others.
I would recommend the stay, just don't listen to the Hoseasons hype, it is all about management of expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank invisiblehelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked this park as we had never stayed in Scotland before and also because they accepted pets. After booking we did read some of the reviews and were a little worried about the noise. However by the time our holiday came round we had forgotten about this and even though we were in the red zone (R65) we didn't find it a problem at all (Only on the 2nd day did we say to each other "Isn't the road noise supposed to be bad!") Maybe it was because we were there out of season but the traffic really wasn't that bad. Anyway we really liked the park from the start. The caravan was nice and although a bit worn was a nice little place to stay and to be honest when staying with dogs you don't expect the Hilton standard!!! The park was brilliant with excellent facilities and great places to explore, especially the cove as we had some great weather and the dogs loved splashing about in the sea and running on the sand. Also it was great that you could take the dogs into the sports bar if you fancied a drink as you can't leave them in the caravan. The staff across the park were great and always keen to help if needed and most of all the view (WOW) as the park is staggered you get great views across the bay from all angles. Outside and away from the park the surrounding areas are lovely and although some of the attractions were closed as only open Apr - Sept we still found plenty of places to explore. I would recommend a trip to Castle Douglas, probably at the start of your holiday as you can stock up on supplies as this is where the nearby Tesco is and also has a lovely high street with numerous shops including a nice bakers ans butchers. The nearby loch also provides a nice walk. I would also point out the Gateway To Fleet as again this is worth a day out for the scenery, sites and lovely country style pubs :-) Cardoness Castle is at the start of the road but was closed when we were there but we still got some nice pictures. If you turn left at the A75 when coming out of the park there are a few places worth visiting such as the Cairn Holy (park at the bottom and enjoy the lovely walk up) and Carsluith Castle (visit the lovely tea room for a brew and something to eat)
All in all we had a great time and would recommend the park to anyone except those with mobility issues as it is very hilly. We would love to go back again.

Room Tip: If the talk od "road noise" worries you request the yellow or blue zones but availability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
4.6 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
15.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
11.4 mi away
Conifers Leisure Park
Conifers Leisure Park
#1 of 10 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchenlarie Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Property: Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Address: Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Auchenlarie Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Hotel Castle Douglas
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing