We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic park, can't wait to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic park, can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This park is without doubt the best caravan park we have ever stayed at! The park is beautiful, all staff very helpful and friendly and lots of activities and places to visit. After reading some previous reviews I was a little worried on arrival when we were told our caravan was in fact in the red zone! Why did we worry?!? Staying in high season we were only meters away from the road. Although you could hear the road and at times it was busier than other, it never causes a problem even with a 10 week old baby. We stayed in a 3bed gold caravan and it was spotless! I cannot stress enough how beautiful this park is and what a beautiful part of the UK it is situated in. We had a fantastic holiday and cant wait to return!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireM2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    185
    44
    28
    29
See reviews for
368
101
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a change of scenery for a group of friends (11 of us in total) and a few wee drinks. After maybe not being allowed in were greatful we were since we didn't have a day pass into the starlight bar for that evening (didn't realise we needed this otherwise we wouldn't have made the trip). Noticed on the sign food like burgers nuggets etc were served until 10pm so went 2 order at 9.45 when told they'd finished doing it as they had a £70 order in and that was it!! Then offered a polystyrene carton of chips that someone had left behind. Yuck!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vich1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieSwal, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Your review and comments regarding our customer service shock me! I am sorry you were not served at 9.45pm but I can only assume the kitchen staff were under pressure to serve a large party which would have meant you may have been waiting for a while until you were served. However I apologize if the staff did not explain this to you properly. Our staff are always praised for their knowledge and helpfulness and are always willing to assist any customer with any queries or questions. Requiring a pass for an entertainment venue is not uncommon on a holiday park - especially peak season - perhaps a little research before you decided to stay with us might have been a good idea so you were more prepared? Having just got back from a holiday park break myself, this is exactly what I did. Your comment about the used polystyrene carton of chips is quite unbelievable. Thank you for visiting us and writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Loved my 4 night stay at auchenlarie everyone very helpful on site the place was spotless.Just read some reviews why people pick the negative on such a lovely holiday park the beach is lovely the swimming is free great swing parks for children and the stream kept mine happy while I got organised! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurnettJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We are just back from a weekend at the caravan park which was absolutely beautiful, clean and the staff very helpful and cheery. We were in a tourer with our grandchildren who were amazed at all the rabbits running around. One of the other caravans had a dog running around freely which got a hold of one of the rabbits and tore it to shreds. As you can imagine the children were very distressed seeing this. There is no signs to say dogs must be kept on a lead at all times (none that we saw anyway) Im sorry to say that this horrible incident ruined the weekend for the children in what otherwise would have been a great weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Amazing stay after a 6 hr drive, lovely staff! Lyndsey and Morgan fab with the kids and so friendly! Accommodation clean and well equipped! Views are stunning and secluded beach is lovely. It does warn it is steep and it does give your legs a workout lol! Kids night entertainment fab. Recommend visit the cocoa bean factory fab day out. Initially after long drive didn't think we would do it again but after 7 nights we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy1975_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in the farm villa for 7 nights 29th July until 5th August. The caravan was immaculate and well stocked with practical equipment. The entertainment was fantastic, especially for kids. The man, David, who was there every evening was funny, kind and fair to the kids. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Although the amusements weren't huge they were big enough for our 9 year old. Overall a fantastic holiday lovely park and a good place to base yourself and visit all the attractions in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seonaid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

From the moment the brochure fell open at the page for Auchenlarie I knew it was the place for us and from the first drive into the park I knew we'd be coming back. We had a fab caravan with lovely neighbours near the fields at the top of the blue zone which the kids used everyday. Had one meal at the bistro and our waitress Sally was very friendly and attentive and gave us ideas for days out. Lovely little swimming pool (which we didn't need to book), arcades and small softplay. Loved that there were small play parks dotted all over the site so you were never too far from one. Yes there was traffic on the A75 but never that much and we were never bothered by it. For days out, if you have kids go to the Cocoa Bean Chocolate Factory and Dalscombe Farm. My only regret was that I only found the private beach (it's signposted so it was my fault!) five days into our holiday, what I thought was the beach was the "slipway" near the bar area! I could have quite happily spent my entire seven days there it was so beautiful. Booking for next year without a doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
4.6 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
15.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Conifers Leisure Park
Conifers Leisure Park
#1 of 10 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 14 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Inn on the Loch
The Inn on the Loch
#2 of 4 in Crocketford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchenlarie Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Property: Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Address: Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Auchenlarie Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Hotel Castle Douglas
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing