We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb get-away - Great food - Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #3 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb get-away - Great food - Great Hosts”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a find! I do not usually 'gush' about good service but this B&B is truly head and shoulders above any B&B that I have stayed at before. I thoroughly recommend Airds farm B&B to any and all. We had a weekend away combining hill walking with some training for our unruly Springer Spaniel. Mick offers expert advice on the training of Gun dogs, for which he is well respected. He offers training tailored to an individual dog (and its owner). He quickly identified the 'issues' with our Spaniel then offered sound and simple methods to correct them. For me the highlight of the visit was Mandys cooking, she truly is a gifted chef and great host; Her home made chicken liver pate is just sublime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tone_K888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
54
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Aird's Farm in September and had a lovely time. When we arrived we had a really warm welcome from Mandy, who immediately made us a cup of tea, and stayed with us for a little chat.
Aird's Farm is clean and comfortable and Mandy gives 120% to make your stay that bit more personal and special.Crossmichael is on the Kite Trail and we were delighted to see two kites flying over the road nearby. It is also only minutes away from the Feeding station, where dozens of kites swoop in to be fed. It is well worth a visit to this special place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AILEEN48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I get very little holiday time and as I had two unruly Springer Spaniels that needed some training I stayed in the cottage at Airds Farm with partner Nicola and the dogs. Firstly the dog training was brilliant thanks to Mandy's partner Mick.

The area is fantastic. Mandy who runs the b&b and holiday cottage is really pleasant and helpful. Great accommodation and made to feel most welcome. We also got through a few pints in the local. I will go again and would strongly advise anybody going to the area to stay at Airds Farm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

As we had a last minute cancellation of a planned stay elsewhere, it was an amazing blessing when Mandy offered a full week's booking. From the moment we arrived, we couldn't have been made more welcome, with every thought for our 'senior citizen' status, and every need met. Mandy's cooking for breakfast and evening meals was marvellous, and it was lovely to know that the eggs came from their own hens. The additional thoughtful provision of extras at breakfast time, eg fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and the refillable coffee or tea pot, often led us and other guests there for a few of our days, to stay, eating, talking and enjoying each others' company (whilst Mandy patiently waited for the washing up)! This was our first visit and our room was lovely with views over the garden, fields, River Dee, Loch Ken etc. It was easy to get from the Farm to other nearby attractions. Mandy and Mick have worked and continue to do so, to add to the site and amenities. We thank them very much and wish them every success in the future. Janet and Joan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have stayed at Airds Farm over the past few years and have always enjoyed the tranquility and scenic views. This was our first time to stay with the new owners. We were delighted to find that the same special character has been retained. Mandy went out of her way to accommodate us. From the breakfast window, we watched a multitude of birds on the birdfeeder - including a woodpecker. The farm is well situated, close to the Dark Sky Observatory.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csmcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We recently had a weeks stay at the cottage at Airds farm and had a very enjoyable stay. Mandy was a perfect host and we elected to have a couple of evening meals and breakfasts which were great- fresh eggs from the hens on site! Airds is in a beautiful location and there is lots to do in the local vicinity including the Galloway Activity Centre, Cream of Galloway, Cocoa Bean Factory, lots of different walks and beaches. The cottage was comfortable and clean and well equipped and the hosts plan to update it. Mandy & Mick offer a very friendly welcome and Mandy is a super cook. A fabulous stay and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on an overnight, set in the most beautiful location, quiet and yet still so handy for the main routes. Received a friendly welcome after a long drive, rooms were very clean and well presented even tho in bed of some updating which the new owners are in the process if doing with some excellent future plans. Kids had an absolute ball with space to run around and animals. Breakfast was delicious and Mandy catered well for all our tastes even home made bread. Have booked for next year but will be staying longer to enjoy more if the area and pampering from the lovely hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alimc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
8.6 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
110 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
464 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
479 reviews
15.3 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
617 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airds Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airds Farmhouse B&B

Property: Airds Farmhouse B&B
Address: Crossmichael, Castle Douglas DG7 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airds Farmhouse B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airds Farm b and b offers comfortable reasonably priced accommodation in a scenic location overlooking Loch Ken and the picturesque village and church of Crossmichael. Ideal as a centre for enjoying the many places of interest in the surrounding Galloway countryside. Bird watchers, fishermen, walkers and mountain bike enthusiasts will love our quiet location convenient to Castle Douglas, Scotland's Food Town. Airdside, our 3 bedroom self-catering cottage, is situated adjacent to the farmhouse and is an ideal location for all types of holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Airds Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airds Farmhouse B&B Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing