We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #3 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely spot!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This lovely bed and breakfast will only get better as Mandy and Mick proceed with all their plans. The warmth of their welcome and the beautiful situation make it a winner. Children will love the hens and ducks and Mandy encourages them to get involved at feeding times. We loved the comfortable conservatory with gorgeous views over Loch Ken.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
53
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had two nights at Airds Farm in the hot weather this July. Mandy and Mick could not have been better hosts, welcoming us with cold drinks and biscuits and an amazing list of choices for breakfast the next day. Our room was spacious, airy and beautifully decorated with stunning views over Crossmichael. The location was perfect for us, tucked away with no traffic noise, but really accessible for Castle Douglas and the 7 Staines MTB trail centres. A perfect stay, just wish we could have been there longer. If we head back to the area, we'd definitely stay here again. Thanks again to Mandy and Mick for being so welcoming.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main room with a wet room. Spacious with amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, Which was a lovely stay, Mandy & Mick were the perfect hosts. Breakfast was lovely & the views were outstanding. The B&B was very welcoming from the moment we stepped in. Will definitely be returning & I would recommend staying there to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackpool2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had a very pleasant two nights' stay at this B&B last weekend. It is in an excellent position set quite high and a safe distance from the main road. It has lovely views down over Crossmichael and Loch Ken in the distance. It is very convenient to Castle Douglas. Mandy and Mick (new owners) were very friendly and welcoming. I was given the family room which was great. It has a lovely view and a good size ensuite bathroom with shower. The room was quiet, and very clean and airy - I particularly appreciated the white bed linen and towels. My cooked breakfast both mornings was excellent. The area is great for cycling with some quiet B roads and bridle paths nearby. And of course the more formal 7stanes cycling centres are also nearby. Well worth an extended visit!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in self catering accommodation at Airds farm - beautiful part of the world, quiet and easy going, everyone so friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for Mandy and Mick and they made the stay even more enjoyable. Cannot rate the place highly enough and would happily return anytime.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had an amazing time in Scotland and our stay at Airds Farm is what made it. Conveniently located with easy access to some wonderful local attractions, set in a picturesque landscape it truly was an unforgettable getaway out of the city. Mandy our host was fantastic – catering to our every need. Breakfasts were freshly made to order and always on-time. We would highly recommend a stay at Airds farm if you ever in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We actually stayed in the self catering Mill. Tricia and Alan have certainly performed miracles with the transformation.
We treated ourselves to breakfast in the farm on the first morning, superb. Lovely to sit in such pleasant surroundings with to die for views. We were lucky to see woodpeckers, delightful.
The building is quite simply beautful, we were a group of 6 with a toddler celebrating an early Christmas as our daughter was leaving for a tour of duty.
The surrounding area is idyllic, stunning with sheep and cattle.
The actual building has been furnished to a very high standard, the kitchen is large, very well equiped, the bedrooms are large and cosy. Towels are provided.
Whilst we loved it, the only niggles I have, the sofas in the lounge were really uncomfortable, my elderly mother in law plus 3 of our party have back problems so we found them quite difficult. We tended to slide off which made our relaxation time a bit of a nuisance
We were keen to go to bed, but unfortunately these were also really uncomfortable. Because of our backs, we have very supporting mattresses at home, so this was a bit of a problem.
I think there must have been problems with previous guests, so towels were placed on the mattresses, one of those things I guess.
Had it not been for these niggles, I would have given 10/10.
We had an excellent stay, I would really recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikingdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
8.6 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Thistle Inn
The Thistle Inn
#1 of 2 in Crossmichael
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
15.3 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airds Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airds Farmhouse B&B

Property: Airds Farmhouse B&B
Address: Crossmichael, Castle Douglas DG7 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airds Farmhouse B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airds Farm b and b offers comfortable reasonably priced accommodation in a scenic location overlooking Loch Ken and the picturesque village and church of Crossmichael. Ideal as a centre for enjoying the many places of interest in the surrounding Galloway countryside. Bird watchers, fishermen, walkers and mountain bike enthusiasts will love our quiet location convenient to Castle Douglas, Scotland's Food Town. Airdside, our 3 bedroom self-catering cottage, is situated adjacent to the farmhouse and is an ideal location for all types of holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Airds Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airds Farmhouse B&B Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing