We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country house in a beautiful setting”

Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Country house in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Our host, Willie, welcomed us and made us tea and cakes on the terrace overlooking the most amazing garden.

Our room was large and comfortable and the bathroom was larger than most people's sitting rooms! It had a large bath, double shower, loo, bidet, two washbasins and a fireplace! Luxury soaps and toiletries were provided as well.

The location is fantastic and we walked for over an hour in the evening around the local fields.

One of the most enjoyable stays on our lovely summer holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Stanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Chipperkyle provided an ideal overnight stay on our journey northwards. We were greeted with a warm welcome and after being shown our double bedroom and beautiful bathroom took tea and shortbread in the lounge. The room was appointed with every comfort we could have wished for and the bathroom was beautiful. As the afternoon was sunny we played tennis on their excellent court. Brekfast the following morning was a treat. We felt very welcome and relaxed during our stay.
Our host was most helpful with local information and in assisting us with a location for our evening meal . We would strongly recommend Chipperkyle as a choice for an overnight stay or longer as the surrounding area was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smm103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

My wife and I made a last minute booking to stay at Chipperkyle, and we were pleasantly surprised. From the moment we arrived we were treated warmly by the owners Catriona and Willie - we enjoyed cake and tea on arrival, and they were very helpful with information about the local area. The room we stayed in was bright and roomy, with a very comfortable super king size bed. The breakfast was oustanding - fresh strawberries and raspberries with yoghurt, a home made loaf of bread, and a cooked breakfast of choice.
As for the local area, we were there for mountain biking and there are a number of 7stanes sites in the local area that are easily accessible. Additionally the charming local town of Kirkcudbright is definitely worth a visit.
All-in-all highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_A_Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Stayed at Chipperkyle for 3 nights recently, extremely warm welcome, great hosts and breakfast to set you up for the day. If you want peace and quiet in exceptional surroundings, this is the place for you

  • Liked — quality of soft furnishings towels, bedding etc
  • Disliked — lack of milk in rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2008

Chipperkyle is a beautiful Georgian jewel of a house, the house itself seems to have a feminine personality! There are two lovely bedrooms with big windows looking out over the garden, one ensuite and one with a private bathroom a step from the door. The towels and bedding are particularly luxurious, and joy of joys, no television, but a vase of bluebells on the dressing table. The sitting room and dining room are large and linked, with welcoming comfy sofas and a log fire. The welcome from Catriona and Willie Dickson is perfect, we had tea on the lawn with a home made orange cake. They have achieved the difficult task of being welcoming but not overwheming hosts to perfection. They inherited the house unexpectedly (lucky things) and have made it really lovely, there are donkeys and a pony in the field nearby, and free range hens and the garden was hopping with rabbits. Breakfast was also perfect, home made bread and lots of fresh fruit and then a full Scottish cooked breakfast if you want, and endless refills of tea and coffee. The pace is leisurely, breakfast was a lingering treat in a perfect setting. I know I am repeating myself, but it really was perfect, I have been looking for a long time for a B&B that lives up to my expectations, and this is it.

  • Liked — The house, the hospitality and the deep comfort and peace
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castle Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#2 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Airds Farmhouse B&B
#3 of 13 in Castle Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Kirkpatrick Durham, Castle Douglas DG7 3EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We only offer two of the bedrooms at Chipperkyle; they are both large and comfortable with private bathrooms. One is en-suite the other is adjoining. These rooms are west facing and are often flooded with sun so much so that we have to pull down the blinds - would you believe it in a Scottish home? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chipperkyle Country House Bed And Breakfast Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing