We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 Castle Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had booked 2 nights at this Country House B & B, the first in the double room, the second in the twin room due to availability. We didn't mind the changeover as it looked like a jolly nice place to stay. We checked with the owner that everything was ok a week or two before we set off and were told there were no problems. We even phoned on the day to confirm our eta. When we arrived the owner showed us below stairs (and we all know what that means) and offered us the family's own bedroom which was basically, well, basic. The two beds had been pushed together so that you would have to climb over one other to get out of bed. The stairs and corridor were uncarpeted and smelled musty and damp. The bathroom was certainly nothing like the luxurious bathroom of the upstairs rooms. This room is not listed as available. The owner told us that he was concerned about our being disrupted by the move and said we wouldn't have to pay the £100 per night expected for the other rooms. We declined, obviously opting for the double as agreed. We were expecting to stay in the lap of luxury, not the servants' quarters. The next morning we packed up our things and the owner kindly offered to take our things to the other room for us. When we got back we were horrified to find our things had been taken below stairs! It was at this point that he informed us 'there had been a mix-up with the booking'. He pretended that he had told us about this. He most certainly hadn't and at first blamed his daughter then decided to take the blame himself. The way we were treated was absolutely unacceptable. We paid for the first night and basically just left. This put a dampener an otherwise lovely holiday which had started a week and a half earlier in Edinburgh to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. I would certainly not trust this chap and most definitely wouldn't stay at Chipperkyle again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Roxy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 32 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is our favourite sort of b&b....and Chipperkyle was voted our best ever b&b! Everything about it was just right - they have that perfect balance. The huge bedroom and bathroom: so comfortable and just wonderful space to linger in. Very comfortable bed and lovely linen. Great shower! Superb sitting room and dining room. Perfect hosts - such a warm welcome, and just the right amount of friendliness and care throughout. Great breakfast. Lots of interesting magazines and books. Interesting garden (and a cocker spaniel!). Excellent location too. How lucky are we that they choose to share their lovely home with us?!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this delightful B and B in the heart of Dumfriesshire. We were made most welcome by Willie our host on our late evening arrival and immediately were invited to sit around a blazing log fire for coffee and biscuits. Our room was very comfortable with enormous bed and bathroom large enough to hold a party. The house is full of interesting family artifacts. It is over 250 years old with lots of history . Breakfast was excellent with home baked bread and ample choice as one would expect in Scotland. Chipperkyle is surrounded by beautiful country side and had we more time there were plenty of walks to enjoy. One tip, it is a spacious old house so in cooler weather it can be chilly. Don't let this put anyone off. We would definitely go again and have already recommended it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithandTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

A few days ago I stayed at a different B&B that was described in a testimonial on the web site as the best in Britain - all I can say is they haven't tried Chipperkyle.

In these days where everything has to be "extreme" or "mega", it's easy to become used to superlatives but believe me when I say Chipperkyle is, without doubt, the best B&B I've ever stayed in form Catriona's beautiful homemade bread at breakfast to the amazing accommodation.

I'd forgotten quite how magnificent the bathroom is here. It has a bath, huge shower, the biggest and fluffiest towel I ever saw, loo, bidet and his and hers sinks, not to mention a fireplace - the room is bigger than the bedroom at the last place (and that was big by hotel standards). It's not just the bathroom either, the whole place is fabulous and the welcome is wonderful.

Try it, you won't be disappointed (and no I'm not related to the owners, I just appreciate excellence).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-Stanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Summer holiday seem like a long time ago? Need a few days to unwind and generally get away from it all? That's how we felt when we took the spur of the moment decision to stay at Chipperkyle, and we couldn't have made a better choice.

The double room is large and airy, with a massive 6ft bed and splendid views over the Galloway countryside. The obligatory tea-tray includes a generous selection of classic teas, fruit teas, instant and filter coffee and biscuits - although for some reason the milk is kept downstairs in the guest dining room.

The en-suite bathroom is equally generous, with a huge bath, large shower, and his-and-hers wash basins, together with masses of soft towels and luxury toiletries

The guest sitting room / dining room is luxuriously appointed with comfortable sofas, hundreds of books, and a roaring fire with an endless supply of logs - all with a perfect homely feel that immediately makes you want to curl up in front of the fire.

Breakfast was an experience in itself, with fresh fruit and yoghurt, still-warm freshly baked bread, full Scottish breakfast, and an endless supply of fresh coffee. Perfect for a relaxed Sunday morning with the papers, again with the obligatory roaring log fire - I can't remember the last time we took two hours for breakfast!

All this in the most peaceful and tranquil locations imaginable.

Oh, and if you end up going, make a point of taking a walk around Glenkiln just along the road - the setting of Moore, Rodin and Epstein sculpture in the wilds of Scotland is absolutely stunning, and under promoted - which means you have it almost to yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Our host, Willie, welcomed us and made us tea and cakes on the terrace overlooking the most amazing garden.

Our room was large and comfortable and the bathroom was larger than most people's sitting rooms! It had a large bath, double shower, loo, bidet, two washbasins and a fireplace! Luxury soaps and toiletries were provided as well.

The location is fantastic and we walked for over an hour in the evening around the local fields.

One of the most enjoyable stays on our lovely summer holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-Stanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Chipperkyle provided an ideal overnight stay on our journey northwards. We were greeted with a warm welcome and after being shown our double bedroom and beautiful bathroom took tea and shortbread in the lounge. The room was appointed with every comfort we could have wished for and the bathroom was beautiful. As the afternoon was sunny we played tennis on their excellent court. Brekfast the following morning was a treat. We felt very welcome and relaxed during our stay.
Our host was most helpful with local information and in assisting us with a location for our evening meal . We would strongly recommend Chipperkyle as a choice for an overnight stay or longer as the surrounding area was beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smm103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castle Douglas hotels
0 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in Castle Douglas
684 reviews
0 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castle Douglas
91 reviews
0 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#2 of 13 in Castle Douglas
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Airds Farmhouse B&B
Airds Farmhouse B&B
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
145 reviews
0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#13 of 13 in Castle Douglas
93 reviews
0 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Castle Douglas
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Kirkpatrick Durham, Castle Douglas DG7 3EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Douglas
Price Range: $123 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We only offer two of the bedrooms at Chipperkyle; they are both large and comfortable with private bathrooms. One is en-suite the other is adjoining. These rooms are west facing and are often flooded with sun so much so that we have to pull down the blinds - would you believe it in a Scottish home? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chipperkyle Country House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipperkyle Country House Bed And Breakfast Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing