We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service - never going back!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Stewart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creebridge Caravan Park
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrible Service - never going back!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have stayed at this Caravan Park a few times as regular mountain bikers at Galloway Forest. It has always been a bit on the "tired" side, but relatively comfortable and close to Newton Stewart for walking into town.
We were booked in this weekend and were asked to arrive before 7pm in the evening to be allocated our motorhome pitch. We were onsite by 6.55pm to find the office closed up and locked up and no staff around. I phoned the phone number and got an answer machine.
Our response to this poor service was to leave and to find another awesome campground 5 miles away in Creetown (Castle Cary Camp ground).
Sorry to have to say I would not recommend this camp ground to anyone else and I will not be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have been visiting this caravan park for the last four years, and every year I have loved it. We rent a static caravan, and it is in great condition, clean, and quite spacious for what it is. The owners of the park are friendly and helpful. The park is an easy 5 minute walk from the town Newton Stewart, which has a few pubs, gift shops, and cafes. There is also a cinema and a swimming pool a walkable distance away. There are swings within the park for older children, and plenty of grass for younger children to play on.

An overall great site.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stumbled upon this place on our way down to visit Wigtown and Glentrool in July 2010 (I had to pick Dec 2010, it's as far back as tripadvisor goes). The park is pretty close to the small main street of Newton Stewart, where there are a couple of shops and restaurants and we found it really convenient to be able to walk down to the store for some supplies and to the bus stop. It was pretty easy to find. We just crossed the river that goes through the area and walked along for a few minutes.

We thought it was a pretty peaceful area overall. There weren't too many other tent campers the night we stayed. The place is family owned. The people who own it are really friendly and helpful. The guy who checked us in was super nice and chatted with us a bit. He even helped us carry out pack to the camping area.

As someone else mentioned the bathrooms were definitely adequate and you can get a coin from reception. They also let us store our luggage at reception the next day as we checked out the surrounding areas. It was a pleasant experience and I would recommend this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destinationnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 14, 2005

We stayed at the Creebridge Lodge in August 2005, had a very pleasant week there. Big rooms (one with a four poster bed), reasonable rates and good breakfasts, the owner was very friendly and made helpful suggestions about places to eat and places to visit. At his recommendation we had some good meals at the Cree Inn and also an expensive dinner at the Creebridge Hotel. Good place to stay if you're spending a few nights in Newton Stewart.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We have just returned from a camping holiday at Creebridge Caravan Park, Newton Stewart.

This is an ideal camp site for touring Dumfries and Galloway. It is within 5 minutes walk of the town which has several places to eat and also various takeaways. There is a cinema.

The camp site is clean and the toilets and showers are spotless. 50p tokens available from reception for the showers and this gives more than enough time. The dustbins are emptied regularly.

There is some traffic noise and the birds sing very noisily from 4.00 am, so take your ear plugs.

All in all, a very convenient place to put up a tent!

Helpful?
4 Thank nettyfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newton Stewart hotels
0.0 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rowallan House
Rowallan House
#6 of 17 in Newton Stewart
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harmony B&B
Harmony B&B
#11 of 17 in Newton Stewart
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creebridge Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creebridge Caravan Park

Property: Creebridge Caravan Park
Address: Newton Stewart DG8 6AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Newton Stewart
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Creebridge Caravan Park Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing