We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bruce Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Creebridge House Hotel(Newton Stewart)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Downshire Hotel(Portpatrick)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bank of Fleet Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)(Great Value!)
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ken Bridge Hotel(New Galloway)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirroughtree House Hotel(Newton Stewart)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Newton Stewart)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murray Arms(Gatehouse of Fleet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cally Palace Hotel(Gatehouse of Fleet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Selkirk Arms Hotel(Kirkcudbright)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
123
115
31
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
115
31
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftroom was largea bit tiredcomfortable hotelfamily roomwarm welcomeevening mealgarlic mushroomssteak piebreakfast was excellentone night staygreat foodkeep up the good worknothing is too much troublemenuscotlandgalloway
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 288 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

£30 p.p. bed and breakfast .
Callum , hotel manager and his staff were fab ( special mention to Callum, David and Sarah) . Nothing was too much trouble for our group of 12. Good laugh , Scottish hospitality at its best . Food was fab . So good we ate both nights of our stay . Delicious homemade food served promptly .
Hotel is dated and a bit tired . Clearly needs cash injection . This is unimportant , as the staff make this hotel . Good banter . Quality biscuits and smellies in room . Great place if you are a large group . Bar welcoming .


  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C7AMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel - the first was a few years back and I didnt realise it was the same one I had booked until I pulled up outside.

The first time I stayed here I was not impressed, the room was small, service was very average and I left not thinking much of the place.

This time however was pleasantly surprised.

Rates are a bargain - DBB or BB - both good value. Makes sense to go DBB as Newton Stewart doesn't exactly have a range of options for dining.

Check in was easy - I think it was the owner or manager at least - he was very friendly, polite and also gave us some info on a pub quiz that was happening in the bar later that evening.

Room was lovely, large and on top floor so limited noise, good views from the windows.

We ate in the restaurant, nothing to get excited about as it is traditional basic pub food, but tastes fine and is presented well. Good size portions. Service - no complaints, staff were polite and friendly.

We went to the pub quiz that takes place weekly in the bar, the locals were very friendly and the quiz master, although slightly dramatic, was a good laugh!

Would recommend for a night or twos accommodation if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KayleighMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in July 2014 and enjoyed the glorious summer weather Newton Stewart had to offer!

Also enjoyed was the excellent hospitality at the Bruce. This family-friendly, excellent value htoel just keeps getting better and better.

The staff are the biggest asset of this hotel, whether they are staying awake until all hours to keep the resident bar manned for you and your drinking needs, or entertaining your children with games of Connect 4, Jenga and homemade computer games (yes, homemade - the bar manager has more talent than he lets on!!).

The staff were friendly and helpful in suggesting activites for our stay, planning our days and making excellent recommendations. Because of their suggestion and local knowledge we spent an incredible day cycling through the Galloway forrest!

The food at the Bruce is probably the best in Newton Stewart and excellent value at little more than £10 for a main meal which is homecooked, fresh and abundant in portion and taste.
Rooms are clean and spotless, and the cleaning staff are helpful, friendly and go out of their way to make sure everything is to your needs and taste.

This hotel could never be accused of being overprices - or overrated.

Already looking forward to our next stay at the Bruce!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent with incredible views of the Galloway hills!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

No dislikes at all! Great food, hot and fresh, plenty of it - what more is there?! Oh yes, the service - also couldn't be better!

2  Thank AbbieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2014 and I highly recommend the place. Yes, the decor is tired and some may not have liked our room, but it was huge and wonderful for us and our 2 dogs. The staff more than make up for the decor and the food is excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and they cared about our dogs too - which other pet owners will understand is very important! I really cannot rave enough about the staff and the food and they made our stay brilliant. A lot of money is needed to update decor and I can understand why it may take a while - that does not bother us at all. It was clean - that'll do nicely thank you! We will definitely return if we go back to that area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbbieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews