We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay, good food and friendly helpful staff.”
Review of Bruce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bruce Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay, good food and friendly helpful staff.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed two nights and dined in once in this compact hotel on the main street of the village of Newton Stewart. We had decided last minute to visit the nearby Wigton book festival but everywhere was fully booked by then apart from The Bruce. Although the decor was due for an upgrade it was neither here nor there as everything we needed was catered for with comfortable beds and a generous and tasty breakfast. The view of the far away hills and countryside from our room at the back was stunning. The only drawbacks with this hotel were that on the way to and from our room we had to walk through a corridor which smelled of cigarettes, the tv was small for modern standards ( perhaps only an issue for those with children to entertain!) and there was no lift. Good news is the car park to the rear but larger vehicle drivers beware of the difficult access through a low and narrow arch then driveway, better to choose the ample parking in the surrounding streets!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    110
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
57
79
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

A group of 12 travelled to Newton Stewart for an overnight in hostel, which on arrival was closed. The staff at the Bruce went out there way to accommodate us last minute and can not thank them enough. The staff (Dave in particular) were friendly and very helpful. Will defiantly recommend the Bruce hotel to anyone in the future

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LFleming24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A group of 12 recently travelled to Newton Stewart for an overnight in a hostel,which when we arrived was closed. The Bruce hotel went out there way to accommodate us at the very last minute. The staff (Dave in particular) were fantastic, friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Will defiantly recommend the Bruce hotel to anyone in the future

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFleming24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Have been a regular at the Bruce for many a year as I have relatives who live in the town. Always a great place to pop into for a meal. Like most hotels or restaurants in Wigtownshire the food is very good. Generous portions at affordable prices make it a worthwhile visit. I've had just about everything on this menu over the years and have never been disappointed. The steak pie and the fish and chips are a stand out in my opinion. Never stayed here, but as I've said the food is great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Recently had cause to stay for a couple of nights at the Bruce Hotel and usually will be too apathetic to review any hotel I stay in .....except this one.

On a wintery type autum night, the bruce provided a warm, friendly and value for money oasis. The staff greeted us warmly, the bar area had atmosphere and a good selection of beers and likewise menu choices - including Haggis.

The rooms were best described as Scottish country - warm and comfortable. I didn't expect to see a flat screen LCD TV however - nice !

In short if you stay in Newton Stewart, stay here. The manager actually took the time to have a chat with us and directed us the following day as to the best road to take down the coast.

Room Tip: Just ask the manager - very approachable fellow. Rooms at the rear are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Myself my partner and my baby stayed here for a recent family wedding...on checking in the reception was quite welcoming. I'd reserved a double room when arriving at my room it was a twin room (wasn't too bothered) the room was massive but the deco was quite dated...i had a hole in the wall beside my bed and the walls are paper thin, so i could hear everything (so could my 5 month old daughter every hour during the night) All the staff were extremely welcoming/helpful....overall i wouldn't chose to stay here again but i'd have a drink/food there possibly, next time i'm in Newton Stewart.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritsa, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Bruce Hotel for 2 nights while visiting the area. The hotel was very comfortable, ok as some reviews stated it's a little dated - but very clean, and the room we had was huge! The staff were very helpful and friendly, couldn't do enough for you. We will definitely be back when visiting the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.5 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
128 reviews
13.2 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
110 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
78 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Property: Bruce Hotel
Address: 88 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruce Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bruce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing