We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Barley cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Billyrib
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I stayed here on the event of our daughter's wedding. We stayed for a week in order to help with the preparations and also used this cottage for a base from which our daughter would leave for the ceremony in a local hotel. The cottage was perfect in every way, spacious, well equipped and very comfortable.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2015
Thank you for posting your review and hope everyone had a fantastic time at the wedding. :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnyboy...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“A wonderfull 3 days”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

An amazing cottage,a great welcome pack of essentials,spacious,well equipped,all the comforts of home.
Beaches,eateries, pubs,walks,shops all at hand,the scenery is wonderfull.
A great experience all round,will most definitely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home comforts
Liked least: Unable to answer it was so enjoyable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Barley cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel M
1 review
“Wonderful cottage holiday!”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had such a lovely few days with the family here over the festive. The cottage is really beautiful with stunning views. It is immaculately clean, furnished to a high standard with extremely comfortable cozy beds. It is equipped with everything you could possibly need. A welcome hamper was provided with the essentials which was a really nice touch and it really felt like home from home. Although we didn't visit any of the local attractions as we spent our time visiting family there are plenty brochures available of all things to do and places to eat.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay . Would highly recommend and would definitely return in the future.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2015
We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay at Barley cottage and look forward to welcoming you back. Many thanks for your possitive review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanyaj16
1 review
“FANTASTIC NEW YEAR”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Wow what a lovely week we had at Barley cottage. Our 2nd visit and we are coming back again in the near future. Cottage has everything you need including the breathtaking views

Thank you for a lovely stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Happy new year to you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam m
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic, wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Very peaceful and comfortable, the whole cottage is very nicely furnished and spotlessly clean, with a lovely view of the River Cree and it's only a short walk to the town centre and there's plenty of stuff to do in the area, it's a short drive to the Galloway forest park which is great for walking,mountain biking and stargazing.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, cleanliness and comfy beds
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2015
Thank you for the positive review, we are so happy you enjoyed your holiday in Barley cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomtul
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a wonderful cottage”
Reviewed October 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just returned from a week a Barley cottage. The cottage is very clean and in a fantastic location. The balcony is amazing overlooking the river. The cottage is very well equipt with everything you could possibly need for a week away. Can not wait to stay again very soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, second stay says it all”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This cottage is a credit to its owners. Tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean. Superb location for travelling. Lots of local attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2014
Many thanks, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Barley cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing