We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Holiday - Despite no chickens”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Barbara and sister Doris.RIP
A sizable Rainbow Trout from our Loch.
Downstream of our river (the Penkiln)
View towards Knockman Wood from our Loch
View towards the Merrick and Cairnsmore Hills  at the Farm.
Fully fitted shower room.
Bunk room.
Our extensive lounge.
Kitchen.
Double Room.
Near bye Mossyard Beach.
Near bye Port Patrick.
A wild Goat at the Goatpark.
Big George saying hello to guests through  our cat flap at the Farmhouse.
A Deer Stag at the Deer range.
One of our many Barn Owl chicks!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
john o
stokesley
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Holiday - Despite no chickens”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just got home from a glorious stay in this great little spot. House very comfortable and had all we wanted. The best news is that there is no WIFI. (Mark please do not get it.)
If you want to relax in an area of outstanding beauty and in a cottage that truly allows you to turn off and get away from the busy world then head here.
The cottage is truly functional without being luxurious but the main things are that it is warm and has plenty of space to be together and as a family of 5 and a dog this is important.
The host is a Lancastrian which is always a good start and is friendly and helpful when you see him. But not intrusive and gives you a warm welcome and tells you about respecting the livestock and to remember it is a working farm.
No chickens or eggs but having learnt that an intruder of an animal kind had been on the hunt in the area this was not really a concern. (for us anyway.)
We will return and it cannot be soon enough.

Thanks Mark.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
Dear Guest , Many thanks for your review hear with us at Kirkland Farm . It is always a pleasure to welcome new people who come to stay with us , and we are glad you enjoyed your stay ( More hens on the way ) We hope to see you all again in the very near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adam m
Apopka, Florida
1 review
“wonderful accommodation, with a warm welcome”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What can i say, last moment booking for just a week before we fly back home to FL. My family and I were very impressed by the high standard of the "cottage"-spotless comes too mind. Tastefully decorated, clean and has everything you might need for your stay. Great location, nice views, long walks, typical Scottish weather but well worth it. Mark, the owner was a character, he had a wealth of knowledge on the area and places to visit-the week flew buy-looking forward to stay longer next time and perhaps in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: above my expectation
Liked least: too short a stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
Dear Guests . Another great review for us at Kirkland Farm , with our holiday cottage . We are glad you had such a good time , and we would love to see you all again sometime in the near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable well situated and peaceful”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in the cosy and very comfortable cottage with all the amenities we needed. The surrounding area was great to explore and included an excellent short walk recommended by Mark which started from the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall comfort, heating and seating
Liked least: Small windows but it did mean the cottage is well insulated.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
Dear Guest . Many thanks for your kind review of Penkiln cottage . We hope to see you all again .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
187jane67
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic winter break”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spent 5 days at Penkiln cottage over New Year. The cottage was very welcoming - even had a Xmas tree and decorations and we were greeted with tea, milk, biscuits and delicious home made jam!
We took our children, aged 9 and 12 and 2 border terriers and they all loved the countryside walks. We know the area well as we have family there but there was lots of information for visitors who had not been to Dumfries and Galloway before.
We would definitely return and would recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a holiday in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness of the cottage and general location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2016
Dear Guests . Many thank's for your review , we are glad you had a nice stay at the cottage , and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
42eller
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Break at Penkiln Cottage”
Reviewed December 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent stay at Penkiln Cottage. We found it to be in a lovely, tranquil area. A great base to enjoy all the surrounding areas have to offer.
On our arrival, Mark and Diane were wonderful hosts and showed us around the property (which was spotlessly clean!). The cottage has everything you would need and we really enjoyed the goodies that Diane had left for us. Plus a God send not having wifi - time to relax!
Overall we had a very comfortable stay and hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2016
Dear Guests . Many thank's for taking the time to write such a lovely review , we would love to welcome you back to Kirkland Farm , and we look forward to meeting you again in the very near future
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This cottage is a gem”
Reviewed November 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and myself stayed at Penkiln cottage for 3 nights 7th-10th November 2015. We arrived to be greeted by Mark and Diane,we where showed round the cottage by Mark who was a wonderful host. Inside the cottage beautifully presented,fresh flowers on the table,milk in the fridge, Diane's homemade plum jam and shortbread biscuits went down a treat. The cottage was spotlessly clean, warm and well equipped, we both found Penkiln Cottage lovely and quiet and enjoyed good nights sleep in a warm comfy bed.Only regret we should of booked for a longer stay we will defiantly go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2016
Dear Guests . Many thank's for posting your review . We do appreciate the time our guests take in posting their reviews , and we would love to see you both again back at Kirkland Farm, and hopefully you will be able to stay a little longer next time .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissPhryn...
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Liked it”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is presented with a well equipped kitchen and tasteful decor. It was immaculately clean on arrival and the basket of goodies and milk in the fridge was very much appreciated after a long sit on the M6. The surrounding scenery is beautiful and although it feels remote, the town is just a few minutes away.
As a family with children aged 10-15 the lack of Wi-Fi was a blessed relief and there are plenty of games in the cupboard to keep everyone occupied. There is also a comprehensive selection of books in the property including some on the local area.
The one drawback for us was the futon in the living room. The mattress was a little hard for our 14 year old son but on the plus side for him the size of the room meant he didn't need to put the bed away each day!
This place suited our need for a base from which to visit relatives in Newton Stewart. Mark and Diane have clearly drawn on their own experience of holiday stays to provide an appealing, comfortable and well equipped holiday let themselves.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing