We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Barbara and sister Doris.RIP
A sizable Rainbow Trout from our Loch.
Downstream of our river (the Penkiln)
View towards Knockman Wood from our Loch
View towards the Merrick and Cairnsmore Hills  at the Farm.
Fully fitted shower room.
Bunk room.
Our extensive lounge.
Kitchen.
Double Room.
Near bye Mossyard Beach.
Near bye Port Patrick.
A wild Goat at the Goatpark.
Big George saying hello to guests through  our cat flap at the Farmhouse.
A Deer Stag at the Deer range.
One of our many Barn Owl chicks!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
12alan
2 reviews
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We are from Texas mark and Diane are just good people perfect getaway for vacation or just a weekend it was just like the pictures it is a working ranch and appreciated mark showing us around an the supper they fixed for us Alan

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2015
Dear Guest .
It was great to meet you both , and we all enjoyed you visit here with us at Kirkland Farm . We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Newton Stewart and the surrounding area, and we hope you managed to fit all of your Clan Gathering functions in. It was a pleasure to take you out and about to visit Port Patrick and the Kildonnan Estate, along with a few other places . We hope you will be able to return some day .
Kind Regards Mark and Diane .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H
Harrogate UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely cottage, good value”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage is at Kirkland Farm a 15 minute walk from the centre of Newton Stewart which is itself a centrally located to explore the region. The cottage is very well equipped and comfortable, in such a way that made it a practical base rather some cottages which feel basic and temporary and almost force you to eat elsewhere. We were made to feel welcome by the owners who met us on arrival and had provided a basket of a few essentials and treats. The location meant we were within 15 minutes of 2 Galloway Forest Commission visitor centres ideal for walking and biking, and no more than an hour from a whole range of other attractions in the area that easily filled a week's stay. For what it offers, it represents great value. A point of note is that you can get 3G reception on the EE network - a little variable but good enough to check the weather forecast and emails.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2015
Dear Guest.
What a lovely review , informative , complimentary and a great advert for our Farm Cottage . We always appreciate it when our guests feel they want to tell other people that they have enjoyed their time here. Many thanks for your review.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess D
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable cottage, good location, and warm welcome.”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just had a lovely short break at Penkiln cottage. The cottage was warm, nicely furnished and well equipped, it's set on a peaceful farm with lovely views and forest walks from the door. Being on the edge of the Dark Skies Park, the night sky was brilliant - was great to sit out the back and spot shooting stars. Also fun spotting the resident barn owls in the evening.

Newton Stewart is a good base to explore Galloway from: quiet sandy beaches, rugged coastline, forests, castles and gardens.

Thanks Mark and Dianne for making us so welcome.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2015
Dear Guest.
Glad to see you had a lovely time here with us at Kirkland Farm. We do have some pretty spectacular night skies in Dumfries & Galloway . We are one of only three designated Dark Sky areas in the world . Many thank's for taking the time to review us , and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radeph
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a lovely well equipped cottage close to Newton Stewart. It has a rural setting with a great fishing lake close by. Excellent hospitality, great value for money. We stayed to be close to the mountain bike centre and it was perfect. Definitely recommend. You could walk into Newton Stewart from the property, probably a 15-20 minute walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2015
Dear Guest's .
Many thank's for your review , we are glad you had a nice time here with us at Kirkland Farm . The little one seemed to have a good time feeding the pig !
Hopefully we will see you all again sometime in the near future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satloka
1 review
“Brilliant Accommodation and Excellent Location”
Reviewed March 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at the cottage from 11th to 15th March 2015 and had a wonderful time. We took our two springers with us. Mark greeted us and gave us a guided tour around the cottage and the farm itself.

Mark & Diane were most helpful in suggestion places to visit especially having the dogs with us. We were made to feel most welcome throughout our stay. The rooms are decorated to a high standard and were exceptionally clean. The photos don't do the cottage justice!

The cost for the 4 nights was very reasonable and we would recommend the cottage to anyone; whether you've got children or dogs with you, you'll find everything that you need.

We hope to return later this year!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2015
Dear Guest's.
Many thank's for your review , and it was really nice to meet you both . We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us at Kirkland Farm , and we would love to welcome you back for another stay . it is always nice to see the pets enjoying their stay too .

Kind Regards Mark swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feemur201...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a lovely short break at Penkiln Cottage. The cottage was beautiful and had everything we needed. Mark and Diane were very welcoming and not intrusive at all. The cottage is very peaceful. You feel like you're miles away from everything when in reality you are 5 minutes from the centre of Newton Stewart. A lovely place to base yourself for discovering the beauty of Galloway. Would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2015
Dear Guest.
We are always appreciative of guest's who take the time to post a review of their holiday here with us at Kirkland Farm , and we are glad you had peaceful and relaxing time here. We look forward to your return visit .Once again many thank's .

Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomilola
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just like home but with better views”
Reviewed February 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Visited in January and absolutely loved the cottage. Very comfortable and had all the modcons of home. I was there with hubby and my toddler and had no problems - well-heated, well-stocked, had everything we needed. If you're going in winter, take your slippers as the floors do get cold (we had to run out to buy slippers :)

My toddler loved feeding Barbara the pig and still talks about her! Mark went out of his way to make us welcome and help us have a good time. The welcome basket and fresh milk were a very nice touch. Because we visited in Jan, unfortunately most things were closed, so we couldn't visit any of the places we would have loved to. But we did a bit of walking, visited the wild goat and red deer parks (both were a bit underwhelming) and the chocolate factory (just stayed in the play area).

We're already looking forward to visiting again, but definitely in the summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the property and the pig
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2015
Dear Guest.
Many thank's for taking the time to post a review on Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. We are happy you had a nice stay with us , and we love showing the children around the farm , ( It's nice to see the reaction on their faces when they see the pig close up !) Look forward to seeing you all soon .
kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing