We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely brilliant - most relaxing holiday we...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Penkiln Cottage

Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm. Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Big Ralph with one of his Ladies.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Penkiln Cottage at Kirkland Farm.
Barbara and sister Doris.RIP
A sizable Rainbow Trout from our Loch.
Downstream of our river (the Penkiln)
View towards Knockman Wood from our Loch
View towards the Merrick and Cairnsmore Hills  at the Farm.
Fully fitted shower room.
Bunk room.
Our extensive lounge.
Kitchen.
Double Room.
Near bye Mossyard Beach.
Near bye Port Patrick.
A wild Goat at the Goatpark.
Big George saying hello to guests through  our cat flap at the Farmhouse.
A Deer Stag at the Deer range.
One of our many Barn Owl chicks!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cantona67...
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant - most relaxing holiday we have ever had!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Penkiln cottage for a week, and what a delight it was!! The cottage is well equiped, extremely clean and comfortable. The owners, Dianne & Mark are both lovely people and cannot do enough for you. It was the most relaxing and enjoyable holiday we have ever had. The surrounding area is beautiful, with quaint harbours and beaches to explore, together with astounding countryside with beautiful walks. There is also numerous excellent restaurants and pubs nearby. Looking forward to going back!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2014
Dear Guest.
We are glad you have enjoyed your holiday with us at Kirkland Farm , and we very much appreciate the time you have taken to post your kind comments on Penkiln Cottage . We take great satisfaction from receiving guest's reviews ,especially when they have had such a good holiday.Many Thank's. Hope to see you soon.!
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Penkiln Cottage for three nights. My wife will write the review about the cottage for both of us suffice to say I will comment on the fishing. Mark, the owner, has done an outstanding job of creating a small lake stocked with some hard fighting rainbow trout up to 6lbs. There are also some large brown trout which seem to hide away from me. Below the lovely cottage runs the Penkiln Beck which has wild browns, sea trout and salmon.
For anyone who likes fly fishing this cottage is manna from heaven.
Oh by the way, the cottage is beautiful and Mark and Diane are so welcoming.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2014
Dear Guest .
Many thank's for your kind words in your review .It shows us that what we are doing here at Kirkland Farm is appreciated, and we very much appreciate guest's who take the time to post a review of their holiday at Penkiln Cottage . We very much hope to see you both in the not to distant future .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Much more than we expected - wonderful!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a three night stay at Penkiln Cottage. Mark and Diane are excellent hosts, friendly and very accommodating. The cottage is spotlessly clean, has everything you could need, it's warm and the countryside is stunning. We even received a 'welcome' hamper of home made jam, fresh farm eggs, shortbread and oat cakes. We will most certainly be returning to Penkiln later in the year - excellent value and a home from home !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2014
Dear Guest .
We want to thank you for the lovely review you have posted after your stay with us at Kirkland Farm . We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we fell very proud that our efforts are appreciated. We are very much looking forward to seeing you both again ( hopefully you will stay with us a little longer next time ! ) Once again many thank's for you lovely review .
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Who000
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - and I caught my first rainbow trout!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were delighted when we saw this lovely cottage. It was spotlessly clean, warm and very comfortable. The milk, tea bags, coffee and home made plum jam were a lovely wee touch. It is tucked away in the courtyard of the farm and the kids loved all the animals we saw in the surrounding fields - pheasants by the dozen, deer, red squirrels, as well as the neighbourly pig! We even heard the local barn owls! I had my first try at fly fishing and hooked one on the first cast - sadly we only caught one other - but it was about 4 lbs - not bad for a couple of novices!
I would definitely recommend Penkiln Cottage for a family or indeed anyone wanting to explore Galloway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2014
Dear Guest .
Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant a review on Penkiln Cottage. We very much appreciate your input , and we are glad to see you had such a lovely stay with us . We look forward to welcoming you back to Penkiln Cottage in the not to distant future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisanda...
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage, Home from Home”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We visited as a family over the New Year period. We phoned Mark a couple of times en route to help with directions which he was more than happy to help with.
Upon arrival we were met by Mark who gave us the tour and some fantastic home made Plum jam. The cottage is really well laid out, so peaceful and a perfect retreat if you want to head out on foot or on your bike.
The sky at night is amazing, very little light pollution and the stars were stunning.
The photos on the website of the accomadation really don’t do the cottage justice. Its a fantastic place and we will definitely be back. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The weather ( no fault of the owner)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2014
Hi , Thanks for your review , we were sorry you stay was cut short , as you were are first New Year's guest's . We are glad you had a restful stay with us , and we hope you will return in the near future and stay a little longer next time , so that you can explore further afield . Wishing you a Happy New Year.
Kind Regards Mark .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatyG27
Lydney, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect location”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed in penkiln cottage for a long weekend to visit the dark sky park in the galloway national park. The cottage is in the perfect location to access all the areas of the park and 2 minutes drive away from the town itself. The farm itself is surrounded with lovely views and walks and the cottage is very warm and welcoming to come back to after a day of being out exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2013
HI.
Many thanks for your kind comment's on our Cottage . We very much appreciate the time people take to post the reviews of Penkiln Cottage ,and the beautiful countryside on our doorstep, along with all the fantastic wildlife we have all around us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us , and we hope that you will visit us again, in the not to distant future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, plentyof space
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2013
Hi , Many thanks for your kind review of Penkiln Cottage. We very much appreciate the time you have taken to review Penkiln , and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us . We hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind Regards Mark Swindlehurst.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing