We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding dreams are made of” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creebridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Creebridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
2 reviews
“Wedding dreams are made of”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

My husband and I married at the Creebridge House Hotel on 12th September 2009. In the run up to the wedding all staff at the Creebridge assisted us in all areas of the planning -which would rival any independent wedding planning service (at no extra cost). As we have stayed at the Creebridge before we knew that we would receive the highest level of quality and excellence and this was so important on our special day. The hotel and its staff surpassed the highest of expectations and we had an amazing wedding. We really felt welcome and the staff are now more like family than anything else. To anyone visiting Newton Stewart I would advise that the Creebridge Hotel is one of the many delights of the area that shouldn't be missed. Again to all the staff at the Creebridge you gave us a wedding that dreams were made of all of our guests are still talking about the food, rooms and of course all of you who made our day so special. We will be returning as soon as we can and tears were shed when we had to come home x

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHannahGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    83
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
71
126
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

Myself, husband and two children arrived at the Creebridge on spec and were welcomed from the minute we walked in the door, the kids were especially catered for by all the staff. The rooms are clean and tidy with every amenity that was required. The excellent garden was the icing on the cake for the children with the Creebridge Castle located out there, an excellent idea to keep the kids happy ! Overall I would love to return to the Creebridge and plan to as it just feels like home from home.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

Just returned from our sons wedding on the 12th September what a wonderful day we had !!!! the sun was shining the birds were singing and once again everyone at the Creebridge House Hotel rose to the occasion and made it a perfect day. You made us all feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble even when members of the wedding party all arrived at different times !!!!!. The service was impeccable and the food magnificent .Special thanks to Lisa and Kenny for their help and assistance we can never thank you enough.
We can thoroughly recommend this hotel for your special occasion as their attention to detail is second to none.We have already booked for July 2010 for our 30th Wedding Anniversary although i am sure that we will be back before then.
Thank you !!! Thank you !!! Thank you !!!! you all made our special day even more perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer Margar... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

Hotel clean, food amazing have to try Pork dish fantastic, staff make you feel you are more than welcome a great family atmosphere and locals are very friendly

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

Being in buisness i find myself travelling very often to different places and staying in many hotels, This hotel is BY FAR THE BEST hotel in Newton Stewart!! The warm friendly atmosphere, The cosy lounges with real log fires,The Fantastic food {again the best in newton stewart} The hotel chef' certainly gives mr Ramsey a run for his money! , The outstanding customer service shown by all colleagues is somewhat inspiring, The cosy, exceptionally clean rooms all with tea/coffee facilities, An absolute credit to Newton Stewart!!!!
This is Must stay at Hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecLacashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

My wife and I travelled from Belfast to Stranraer in order to drive down to Lancaster, but my wife was so seasick on the ferry that we had to make an emergency break in our journey while she recovered. The Tourist Information Office at Newtown Stewart booked us into the Creebridge House Hotel, and we're very glad they did!
The welcome from Laura the receptionist was friendly and she went out of her way to help my wife and see to her needs. We were given a "Family Room" - up a lot of stairs and down a long corridor, but a lovely comfortable room with digital TV, tea & coffee, etc.
My wife took to her bed and recovered as the afternoon wore on, while I took advantage of the lovely Residents' Lounge - old-fashioned comfort with huge armchairs and the inevitable stuffed stag's head! I then headed off to the bar, which has some good beers and a friendly and chatty barman, Kenny. My wife joined me for dinner, which was absolutely excellent - she had a very, very good risotto and I had some lovely local lamb - very tasty and tender.
After a good night's sleep we enjoyed a good breakfast - porridge for her and about half the items on the Grill for me - and even that was too much! - the full cooked breakfast must be a very big eat indeed!
All-in-all it's a comfortable hotel with old-fahsioned decor in the Lounge but good, fresh, up-to-date furnishings in the bedrooms. I'm sure the disabled access is poor, what with all the stairs, but I don't see how that can be much changed. The food was excellent at all times. The staff also were excellent - good service in the restaurant and at breakfast, and all efficiently and effectively kept together by Laura, who nevertheless always had time for a personal word. We'll definitely return - it made a lovely break to our journey, even if it was by necessity!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southendbootboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

A very characterful hotel having started as an 18th century hunting lodge. It is in a quiet location but very centrally placed for the town. There is ample parking and a nice garden area with lawns, flower beds and sitting out areas.The main rooms have loads of character, open log fires, grand piano, decorative plaster work etc.but the age of the building makes changes to bedrooms/bathrooms difficult. We enjoyed the sloping floors but the stairs proved a challenge for my 83 year old mother.
The service was excellent e.g. when we booked by phone the receptionist ran up the stairs to count them for us and assured us that they would be there to help mum get upstairs if needs be. Also the first night I had left the internal light on in the car and they rang up to the room to tell me as they were concerned I would havea flat battery in the morning.The rooms were always cleaned and made ready while we were in breakfast, very efficient.In the evening you can eat in the Garden restaurant or Brasserie there is an extensive menu and I am a pescatarian and found lots of fish or vegetarian dishes to choose from.There was evidence of good quality locally sourced food and the chef had recently won a prize for a dish created using local salt marsh lamb.Maybe there should be at least one healthy option on the dessert list, my waistline definately expanded!
The bedrooms and beds were very comfy with excellent flat screen TV, a good amount of storage , seating ,Tea &coffee making facilites. If there was one thing that could be improved it is the bathroom which was in need of updating and redecorating, they could also do with a bigger shelf on which to put your own toilet bag etc.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennyfarthing9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
13.5 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creebridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creebridge House Hotel

Property: Creebridge House Hotel
Address: Minnigaff | Dumfries & Galloway, Newton Stewart DG8 6NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Creebridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creebridge House Hotel is a traditional Scottish country house hotel, with 18 ensuite bedrooms, which preserves the peace and tranquility of rural life in elegant surroundings.Your hosts, Stephen, Sarah, Rory,Campbell and the rest of the team look forward to offering you a warm welcome and comfortable stay. The hotel acquired it's name from the nearby River Cree and is situated in 3 acres of garden and woodland, in the village of Minnigaff, at the edge of Kirroughtree forest. The busy market town of Newton Stewart is a mere 2 minutes walk across the Cree Bridge, where you will find a Cinema, Museum, Tourist Information, Leisure Centre with swimming pool, and a range of supermarkets, shops and services. The Hotel has a Scottish Tourist Board 3-star rating, 3 AA stars and one AA Rosette for food. There is central heating throughout, with roaring log fires in all the public rooms in winter and plenty of hot water on tap. The hotel's location makes it central for a wide variety of activities, from walking & cycling through the nearby Galloway Forest Park, to golf and fishing so close you can walk to the nearest hotspots. In fact the first tee at Newton Stewart Golf Club is just 400 yards away. Approximately 30 minutes drive west on the A75 will take you to Cairnryan with it's ferry links to Belfast in Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Creebridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creebridge Hotel Newton Stewart
Creebridge House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing