We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creebridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We visited Creebridge House Hotel for dinner on our way through Newton Stewart. Top quality food, beautifully cooked and presented, served by friendly and courteous staff. Best restaurant that we visited in the area. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AHG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 373 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

We did not stay in the hotel but at a lodge nearby; however we visited the bar and restaurant on a regular basis during our stay in Newton Stewart. We loved the friendly and relaxed atmosphere and found the staff to be very welcoming, knowledgeable, warm and friendly. The food was delicious; although helpings were quite large! A good selection of wine; including my favourite! Don't know what the rooms are like but would definitely recommend the restaurant and would certainly return if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have been frequenting this hotel for a number of years but circumstances have dictated that we haven't been for the last four years. Our arrival was tremendous treated like family even after all this time.I have never been to a hotel that retains its staff like this one and it shows.The service is exceptional and the food out of this world. Well done everyone looking forward to seeing you all again in August.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer Margar... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Nice room, country house type place, quiet even though near town centre.

Dinner - Once started good service and food. Had prawns/garlic mushrooms, then both 'Stewartry' lamb, asparagus in bacon + other veg. Strong herbal gravy. Then banoffee pie

Breakfast included haggis - ok, but very filling

There is a shortage of restaurants in Newton Stewart, so we ate at the hotel again., My wife had amb again and I having steak pie. We shared sticky toffee pudding.

Room Tip: Some rooms have good view of garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Incartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

we had our wedding at the Creebridge in a marquee in the garden, it looked stunning in the grounds.
staff were so helpful and friendly! and all our guests could do was compliment them! especially leisa, kenny and gillian who helped us with the wedding where ever they could.
food was delicious, from canapes to the meal to the evening buffet to breakfast the next day!
a lot of the guests stayed at the hotel and enjoyed their stay, and our honeymoon suite was lovely and spacious with great garden views.
overall we had a perfect day and this wouldnt have been possible without all the staff! thanks everyone!x

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afiskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stephen and Sarah Donnan certainly know their market. For some, the hotel's an excellent local bar under the skilful leadership of Kenney, for others it's a deservedly popular venue for family functions, for us it's the 3-night DB&B offer which combines a very warm welcome, friendly public rooms, comfortable (albeit a tad tired) bedrooms, and good food, all provided by a consistently efficient, enthusiastic and loyal team, who greet you like old friends and run the place like clockwork. To return is a bit like going home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royalcrescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the hotel on our way south and selected the hotel from reading reviews.
It is in a lovely setting in quiet grounds with good parking and close to the town. The evening meals were very good but breakfast choice extremely limited. The bedrooms are clean and tidy with complimentary tea and coffee tray and toiletries. Overall the hotel lacks a sparkle. The garden was attractive but needed a good weeding and mowing, paintwork needed freshening and mirrors around the hotel would have benefitted from a good polish. However this does not detract from the ambience of log fires, a well stocked bar and excellent barman and very pleasant and helpful waiting staff. I would certainly recommend staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherryimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
148 reviews
13.5 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
88 reviews
21.8 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
314 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creebridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creebridge House Hotel

Address: Minnigaff | Dumfries & Galloway, Newton Stewart DG8 6NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range: $159 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Creebridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creebridge House Hotel is a traditional Scottish country house hotel, with 18 ensuite bedrooms, which preserves the peace and tranquility of rural life in elegant surroundings.Your hosts, Stephen, Sarah, Rory,Campbell and the rest of the team look forward to offering you a warm welcome and comfortable stay. The hotel acquired it's name from the nearby River Cree and is situated in 3 acres of garden and woodland, in the village of Minnigaff, at the edge of Kirroughtree forest. The busy market town of Newton Stewart is a mere 2 minutes walk across the Cree Bridge, where you will find a Cinema, Museum, Tourist Information, Leisure Centre with swimming pool, and a range of supermarkets, shops and services. The Hotel has a Scottish Tourist Board 3-star rating, 3 AA stars and one AA Rosette for food. There is central heating throughout, with roaring log fires in all the public rooms in winter and plenty of hot water on tap. The hotel's location makes it central for a wide variety of activities, from walking & cycling through the nearby Galloway Forest Park, to golf and fishing so close you can walk to the nearest hotspots. In fact the first tee at Newton Stewart Golf Club is just 400 yards away. Approximately 30 minutes drive west on the A75 will take you to Cairnryan with it's ferry links to Belfast in Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Creebridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creebridge Hotel Newton Stewart
Creebridge House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing