We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creebridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We go to Newton Stewart every year for a break and always go to the Creebridge Hotel for our food this time was no exception, the welcome was warm as always and the staff rememberd us from the pervious year which was nice, we had our dinner there two evenings from the specials menu, both evenings we complemented the chef as the food was well cooked well presented and very tasty we had the cottage pie and venison, both were excellent thank you we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank loobylou1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 363 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We called in twice for a lunchtime bar meal whilst on holiday in the area.
It is tucked away on the eastern side of Newton Stewart.
We found it a delightful place full of character with very pleasant staff.
There is a good choice of meals all attractively served with excellent service.
Both meals were excellent.
The bar area had a roaring wood burning stove.
A big plus for us was that the place is Dog Friendly.
A definite place to call next time we are in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in September. On arrival we were welcomed and shown up to our room. The room had been partly modernised with a new carpet and the bed was comfortable. We noticed a stand-alone heater on wheels which we utilised as the radiator never seemed to be switched on. The evenings were getting cooler. However one morning we awoke to a warm room and the radiator was hot. Unfortunately the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The lino the floor had seen better days. The bathroom sash window had peeling paint, with mould showing quite clearly, plus the remnants of insects on the surround. The blind was unusuable and dirty and both the wash basin and bath plugs had no chain on them which made removing them very difficult when washing or bathing and the toilet seat fixing was broken. My husband attempted to fix it which helped a little. The building has definitely seen better days and is looking tired and shabby. The restaurant was also dated and needed an update also. Having said this the food was good, wholesome and plentiful. The waitress service started off well, but towards the end of our stay (we were staying half board) it tailed off and we had to wait over 45 minutes for our meal one evening. Our waitress was often harrassed, and spent a lot of her time apologising for the delays. The music which accompanied our meals was either the radio in the morning, or a mixture of 50's and 60's hits which were repeated every evening during our stay and was intrusive. The hotel seemed to be more interested in holding wedding functions and conference meetings than looking after its residential guests. There was a large Trip Advisor sign prominently placed on reception, stating its good rating, but can only assume it achieved this for its food. The bar in the evening was full of locals with their dogs, so no room for a pre-dinner drink and a chance to look at the menu. The driveway was narrow, with the tarmac breaking up in places and also limited parking. One day we couldn't drive out due to a delivery lorry and dustcart reversing towards us. Just 2 days before we left a huge marquee was erected on the front lawn, obscuring our view from the bedroom window completely. On enquiring at reception when we checked out we were told that there was going to be a large wedding reception (180 guests in total) held there at the weekend. We were leaving 2 days prior to this. The receptionist said she was pleased she was not on shift when the wedding was being held as it was expected to be very noisy. How the facilities provided by the hotel were going to be adequate, we can only guess at. We were glad we were moving on before the event was held. Its a shame, because the hotel viewed from the outside doesn't look too bad, but internally it definitely needs some TLC.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Sussex_Diners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My Wife and me went to have a meal in the restaurant one evening. Narrow driveway, limited parking not a good start had to reverse twice to let vehicles pass. The building has seen better days, it is unfortunately looking a bit shabby and really could do with a makeover. The lady who gave us our menus was polite and friendly. 3 Dogs in the bar a bit like crufts! sorry do not appreciate animals and food together. The restaurant was ok but if you look around its somewhat tatty. I had a prawn cocktail, usual thing just thrown into a dish small amount of prawns and hardly any sauce. We had the lamb shank, had better from Tescos 4 mins in the microwave. Not cheap either. Would not go back. Shame its needs some TLC..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank rumsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and its just as lovely as the first time. I cannot fault anything. The food, staff, cleanliness etc is first class. I am already planning my return visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElainefromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Been meaning to put a review on for a while because the Creebridge deserves praise. Lovely little 2 night break early April. Homely, welcoming, cozy, friendly little hotel - greeted with a smile and a roaring log fire even though was unseaonably warm for Scotland in April. Nice touch of shortbread on the tea tray and no trouble for the staff to provide fresh milk when requested. Comfortable warm room overlooking the garden and probably the deepest longest bath ever - most welcome after a 14 mile run in marathon training. Restaurant served hearty, substantial food but a little dated environs we joked that it reminded us of the 'wheel tapper and shunter's' those of you old enough to remember but this kinda added to the charm of the place. Buffet breakfast was plentiful and hot especially the vegetarian sausages (inside joke) we had such a laugh on this break and think it was down to the very relaxed comfortable surroundings.

Staff were knowledgeable on local attractions - must see the Dark skies forest, don't forget binoculars, would recommend Laggan outdoor sports, ask for Duncan for some clay pigeon shooting, he will also recommend the nearby riding stables where a bucket list achievement of a hack out on the beach/sea was a truly memorable experience. You won't be disappointed with a stay at the Creebridge - perfectly placed for forest and sea in the day and a cozy evening in the bar after sipping Drambuie - perfect !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonnetts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just come back from a 2night stay, we found the hotel in a great location, we dined at the hotel on the Saturday and found the menu choice and quality excellent what made our stay was the attentive staff and how welcoming they made us feel. Thank you for a great weekend


  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugby67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
283 reviews
13.5 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
509 reviews
16.2 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stables Guest House
Stables Guest House
#1 of 17 in Newton Stewart
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creebridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creebridge House Hotel

Address: Minnigaff | Dumfries & Galloway, Newton Stewart DG8 6NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range: $138 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Creebridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creebridge House Hotel is a traditional Scottish country house hotel, with 18 ensuite bedrooms, which preserves the peace and tranquility of rural life in elegant surroundings.Your hosts, Stephen, Sarah, Rory,Campbell and the rest of the team look forward to offering you a warm welcome and comfortable stay. The hotel acquired it's name from the nearby River Cree and is situated in 3 acres of garden and woodland, in the village of Minnigaff, at the edge of Kirroughtree forest. The busy market town of Newton Stewart is a mere 2 minutes walk across the Cree Bridge, where you will find a Cinema, Museum, Tourist Information, Leisure Centre with swimming pool, and a range of supermarkets, shops and services. The Hotel has a Scottish Tourist Board 3-star rating, 3 AA stars and one AA Rosette for food. There is central heating throughout, with roaring log fires in all the public rooms in winter and plenty of hot water on tap. The hotel's location makes it central for a wide variety of activities, from walking & cycling through the nearby Galloway Forest Park, to golf and fishing so close you can walk to the nearest hotspots. In fact the first tee at Newton Stewart Golf Club is just 400 yards away. Approximately 30 minutes drive west on the A75 will take you to Cairnryan with it's ferry links to Belfast in Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Creebridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creebridge Hotel Newton Stewart
Creebridge House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing