We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creebridge House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Creebridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and its just as lovely as the first time. I cannot fault anything. The food, staff, cleanliness etc is first class. I am already planning my return visit!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElainefromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    83
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
71
127
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Been meaning to put a review on for a while because the Creebridge deserves praise. Lovely little 2 night break early April. Homely, welcoming, cozy, friendly little hotel - greeted with a smile and a roaring log fire even though was unseaonably warm for Scotland in April. Nice touch of shortbread on the tea tray and no trouble for the staff to provide fresh milk when requested. Comfortable warm room overlooking the garden and probably the deepest longest bath ever - most welcome after a 14 mile run in marathon training. Restaurant served hearty, substantial food but a little dated environs we joked that it reminded us of the 'wheel tapper and shunter's' those of you old enough to remember but this kinda added to the charm of the place. Buffet breakfast was plentiful and hot especially the vegetarian sausages (inside joke) we had such a laugh on this break and think it was down to the very relaxed comfortable surroundings.

Staff were knowledgeable on local attractions - must see the Dark skies forest, don't forget binoculars, would recommend Laggan outdoor sports, ask for Duncan for some clay pigeon shooting, he will also recommend the nearby riding stables where a bucket list achievement of a hack out on the beach/sea was a truly memorable experience. You won't be disappointed with a stay at the Creebridge - perfectly placed for forest and sea in the day and a cozy evening in the bar after sipping Drambuie - perfect !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonnetts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just come back from a 2night stay, we found the hotel in a great location, we dined at the hotel on the Saturday and found the menu choice and quality excellent what made our stay was the attentive staff and how welcoming they made us feel. Thank you for a great weekend


  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugby67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a lovely meal here if a little expensive.

Very nice though & we would probably return. It was very busy & despite this they managed to fit us in.
Barman a little 'over familiar' but just being friendly I suppose. Creme brulee is to die for!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altered69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I returned to the Creebridge House Hotel this bank holiday with my wife and daughters, and had a fantastic time. Its a pleasure to be there, the staff are great with the kids and they had the free run of the gardens to explore, whilst we relaxed in the piano lounge. Mealtimes were busy but we didn't have to wait and the food was excellent, we enjoyed the bistro menu at Lunch and spoiled ourself on the a la carte menu in the restaurant on Saturday evening! Sunday was a bonus, the manager invited me to take part in a Golf day he was sponsoring at the nearby Newton Stewart golf club, and the wife & kids were able to come along and enjoy a free BBQ, what a great day (except for my golf). We will definitely return, many thanks to Steve, Sarah & staff.

Room Tip: We had a delightful family room with seperate bedroom for the girls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Creebridge house hotel for 1 night on our way back to Ireland. Its a wonderful old house, full of charm. The rooms we had were lovely and comfy with views over the garden and some do have creeky & sloping floorboards but its what you would expect in a very old house. Everything was spotlessly clean. All of the staff were very friendly and welcoming, many thanks to Laura. We ate in the Bistro and the menu was excellent and the food was fantastic - the best meal we had in our trip to UK & Scotland. Its certainly a refreshing change from the moderm hotel chains that we are so used to nowadays. Thanks to all for a lovely stay - we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arlowat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Excellent staff, food and bar in a lovely old building. Rooms are fine but not luxurious. The staff were very friendly and were most helpful. Particularly liked smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JacquiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kirroughtree House Hotel
Kirroughtree House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
16.2 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creebridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creebridge House Hotel

Property: Creebridge House Hotel
Address: Minnigaff | Dumfries & Galloway, Newton Stewart DG8 6NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Creebridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creebridge House Hotel is a traditional Scottish country house hotel, with 18 ensuite bedrooms, which preserves the peace and tranquility of rural life in elegant surroundings.Your hosts, Stephen, Sarah, Rory,Campbell and the rest of the team look forward to offering you a warm welcome and comfortable stay. The hotel acquired it's name from the nearby River Cree and is situated in 3 acres of garden and woodland, in the village of Minnigaff, at the edge of Kirroughtree forest. The busy market town of Newton Stewart is a mere 2 minutes walk across the Cree Bridge, where you will find a Cinema, Museum, Tourist Information, Leisure Centre with swimming pool, and a range of supermarkets, shops and services. The Hotel has a Scottish Tourist Board 3-star rating, 3 AA stars and one AA Rosette for food. There is central heating throughout, with roaring log fires in all the public rooms in winter and plenty of hot water on tap. The hotel's location makes it central for a wide variety of activities, from walking & cycling through the nearby Galloway Forest Park, to golf and fishing so close you can walk to the nearest hotspots. In fact the first tee at Newton Stewart Golf Club is just 400 yards away. Approximately 30 minutes drive west on the A75 will take you to Cairnryan with it's ferry links to Belfast in Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Creebridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creebridge Hotel Newton Stewart
Creebridge House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing