We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creebridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed here overnight while attending the book festival in Wigtown, about 10 minutes away. My single room was actually a small double, and while it could have done with a lick of paint, it was clean and comfortable, with a lovely view across the garden. I didn't have an evening meal here, but the restaurant is obviously very popular with the locals, which is always a good sign! Lots of parking but still not easy to find a space in the evening. Lovely and quiet at night. Breakfast was great and the service was very good. All the staff I encountered were pleasant and helpful. A great place to stay as a solo traveller, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    87
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
76
133
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had eaten lunch here several years ago and checked if we could bring our German Shepard Dog into the bar. This was possible and we (and the dog) enjoyed the food, the excellent service and the general pleasant atmosphere. Not surprised its no one in Newton Stewart, but did not check any others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmanBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is an ideally placed hotel for exploring Dumfries and Galloway, with access to the A75 less than 5 minutes away but set within it's own quiet, landscaped grounds. There is plenty of parking, without the usual struggle to find a space. The staff are all, without exception, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Hubby was even offered a chance to watch the rugby with the owners! The restauraunt is worthy of four stars - dishes with a scot's twist, and breakfast kept us going all day! In fact, people come from all over the area to eat here - always a good sign. The bar guests different real ales and has a good selection of malt whisky. Rooms are comfy although the age of the building makes for an interesting tilt to the floors!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VladHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I have recently returned from a 3 day visit to The Creebridge, where I thoroughly enjoyed myself.
Other reviewers have noted the kind welcome and courtesy shown by the staff, and I echo this wholeheartedly. Each staff member was very helpful both in terms of advice and information.
The chef is really really good!! The Dinner/B and B arrangement is excellent, - although my appetite is not large enough to do justice to the hearty menu!
Speaking with the owners of the hotel, I understand that the bedrooms are under a programme of re decoration, this will certainly will enhance the hotel, but I was very satisfied with my own room.
I enjoyed the welcoming fires, the excellent meals, the comfortable room, the peace and quiet and feeling relaxed.
As a solo traveler it is often difficult to find somewhere that will not put you above the air conditioning or in the smallest room available. Indeed this was far from the case in this hotel; my room was a small double with a delightful outlook over the garden. I greatly appreciate the courtesy and I look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have spent several holidays here and enjoyed them all. The staff are very helpful, the largely local food is very good, rooms, I had a single, are relatively spacious, comfortable and clean and great guest lounges and reception areas. The 3 day offer we used for DB&B was very good value. I hope to be returning again next month.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We recently stopped at the Creebridge House Hotel and had a fantastic stay. They managed to squeeze my daughter in at the last minute by moving people around. Nothing was too much for the staff who were all very helpful. I booked this hotel after reading all the previous comments and I can say that they are all correct. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElainefromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We returned to this hotel after a two year gap (we stayed there in July 2009) and we wondered if the hotel would still be as good as we remembered.

The answer is a resounding YES.

The hotel was everything we remembered and more - the room had been refurbished, the menu changed by the new, young head chef, and the food was fantastic.

What had not changed was the level of service provided by all staff - this has remained at a very high level that we have no hesitation is calling excellent - a warm welcome provided by all, the barman - Kenny - providing excellent guidance on wines, restaurant staff (at breakfast and dinner) providing first class, smooth service.

All in all an excellent hotel for a relaxing holiday !

Room Tip: We have used the 'superior double' (room 5) on both trips and it is large, comfortable and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
278 reviews
13.5 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
423 reviews
16.2 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blackhorse Hotel
Blackhorse Hotel
#4 of 17 in Newton Stewart
75 reviews
1.3 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creebridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creebridge House Hotel

Property: Creebridge House Hotel
Address: Minnigaff | Dumfries & Galloway, Newton Stewart DG8 6NP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Creebridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Creebridge House Hotel is a traditional Scottish country house hotel, with 18 ensuite bedrooms, which preserves the peace and tranquility of rural life in elegant surroundings.Your hosts, Stephen, Sarah, Rory,Campbell and the rest of the team look forward to offering you a warm welcome and comfortable stay. The hotel acquired it's name from the nearby River Cree and is situated in 3 acres of garden and woodland, in the village of Minnigaff, at the edge of Kirroughtree forest. The busy market town of Newton Stewart is a mere 2 minutes walk across the Cree Bridge, where you will find a Cinema, Museum, Tourist Information, Leisure Centre with swimming pool, and a range of supermarkets, shops and services. The Hotel has a Scottish Tourist Board 3-star rating, 3 AA stars and one AA Rosette for food. There is central heating throughout, with roaring log fires in all the public rooms in winter and plenty of hot water on tap. The hotel's location makes it central for a wide variety of activities, from walking & cycling through the nearby Galloway Forest Park, to golf and fishing so close you can walk to the nearest hotspots. In fact the first tee at Newton Stewart Golf Club is just 400 yards away. Approximately 30 minutes drive west on the A75 will take you to Cairnryan with it's ferry links to Belfast in Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Creebridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creebridge Hotel Newton Stewart
Creebridge House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing