We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirroughtree House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax in Comfort”
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We stayed in this hotel mid week in April. The Deluxe rooms are very spacious and well equipped with beautiful views over the countryside. The hotel is well located for exploring the area and set in beautiful grounds.
The hotel was quiet, but this is a hotel you would come to for a quiet relaxing break so that wasn't a problem. The food is good with the emphasise on local produce and the wine list has a good range. at what seemed reasonable prices.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kempock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    31
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
15
99
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Stayed here for a long weekend in early March. Not very busy, so we were upgraded to a suite. Staff were endlessly helpful and friendly (I looked at all the other rooms as well - there isn't a bad room in the place) Rooms spacious, clean and well-appointed, some have great views across the grounds and local area. General feel is "comfortable country house hotel" - lots of wood panelling, big sofas, open fire in the clubby lounge. Food outstanding. Very quiet. Close (but not walking distance) to the sea and open hilly walks. Hugely relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dw842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We booked the night before we arrived and could not have made a better choice. It was explained to ud that gentlemen are requested to waer jackets in the dining room. We were asked at what time we would be arriving, and even though we arrived a hour later than advised, before we had the back door of our car open there was someone at our side to carry our cases into the hotel. The same person used our names and then showed us to our room. This was larger than we had anticipated from the hotel's website.
When we went to dinner, we were again greeted by name, everyone being friendly and courteous, and they were all attentive to our needs and to ensure that we enjoyed our stay.
There were a lot of nice touches, all of which wewre appreciated by us, from the decanter of sherry in the room, to the personalised menu which was also in our room when we returned each day.
The menu always seemed to have something which we liked, and my wife is a little selective!
Excellent, we will return.

  • Liked — The space
  • Disliked — The bathroom was too large
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BowlsCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

A bit pricey which made the small single bed and the cheap extras (tea/coffee and mint on the turned down bed) seem out of context and just plain penny pinching. Why in the 21st century do we need jackets for dinner?

  • Liked — Well cooked and prepared food
  • Disliked — Over priced and stuffy
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank wandering_pict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

My wife and myself have just returned from a short break at the Kirroughtree House hotel. A winding drive from the road past a wonderful array of trees and immaculate lawns and verges brought us to an imposing country house hotel. We parked the car and had only just opened the tailgate when we were hailed with a "I'll see to the luggage" - at this point we had not actually been in the hotel but felt as though they had been waiting for us. This set the tone for the whole of our stay. We had a de luxe room on the second floor with views over the aforementioned woodland and rolling hills. There was a separate sitting room complete with fruit plate and sherry as well as the usual tea/coffee tray. The bed was most comfortable, though a little warm. Having said that were were able to sleep with the window open and never heard a thing from inside or outside the hotel. The bathroom was well appointed and, notwithstanding the age of the house (Robert Burns stayed there) and the fact that we were on the second floor. a poweful shower had all the water pressure we needed. Food was very good from the canapes with pre dinner drinks to an excellent cheese board. The menu was innovative and I cannot imagine that there is not something for everyone and anyone on the short but perfectly presented list of choices available. An added bonus was that they do a good range of half bottles of wine and champagne- not the usual two white and two red which so many hotels offer these days. Dessert wines and port were available by the glass if desired. Breakfast was ample and had a wide choice of all the usual, however I would recommmend the cold ham - some of the best I have ever tasted. Meals were served in two dining rooms. They could just about sqeeze everyone in to one but choose not to, as a result of which you generally have lots of space around you to have an intimate dinner a deux without listening to the adjacent conversations. I have saved the best till last. However much you pay you cannot get genuine warmth and friendliness from staff who seem to care about what they are doing, remember your name and seem to anticipate your needs - these things come from being looked after by competent and professional staff who are good at their job. Kirroughtree House hotel has these in spades and I commend it to you without reservation.

  • Liked — country house charm and history
  • Disliked — couldn't really fault it
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bjh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 9, 2006

We have just returned from three perfect days in the Regal Suite at the Kirroughtree House Hotel. Quiet, understated, gentle elegance,impeccable, charming service, meticulously prepared and beautifully presented food and a reassuring atmosphere of discreet efficiency and friendliness combined to make this the best hotel we have ever visited.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 21, 2005

My husband and I first stayed here in Summer '98 and found it to be truly excellent. It was one of the best hotels we'd ever visited. Since we have been living overseas for the past few years we have often thought of The Kirroughtree in connection with all the good things about home.
However, our most recent visit presented a different picture. The food was definitely not as good this time. It was far too salty, (though I asked for less salt) and I could even hear the lady at the next table commenting on the saltiness of her meal. My husband ordered a pigeon dish but he wasn't expecting 'Pigeon Tartare'!
The restaurant is definitely not recommended if you have any food allergies / intolerances. I requested that the chef leave out dairy products from my meals only to find that my tagliatelli had a mysteriously buttery taste. After going to enquire, the waitress returned to say there was butter on it but only a little! Just as well I do not have a classical allergy. This was particularly surprising given, as we later learned, the chef hails from Scandinavia, where understanding of food allergies is amongst the most advanced in the world.
We did feel, however, that the people in management were doing their best - I was presented with a lovely dairy-free orange dessert on one occasion - but that somehow not all messages were getting through.
The atmosphere had also become a little staid. All guests were dining in the small dining room and the few parties present were crammed in at tables immediately adjacent. This provided very little privacy or intimacy and quite a few disconcerting total silences.
Our 'Deluxe' room was very spacious and tastefully decorated to echo the Regency period, though the mattress on the canopied bed was due for replacement. The bathroom, presumably once a dressing room, was very large and comfortable with a free-standing Victorian bath.
We like to think of The Kirroughtree as it was seven years ago and dearly hope they will restore the standards of those golden days.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
13.0 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
422 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
277 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
188 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 7 in Wigtown
116 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ellangowan Hotel
The Ellangowan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Creetown
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirroughtree House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirroughtree House Hotel

Property: Kirroughtree House Hotel
Address: Kirroughtree Lodge House Heron Way, Newton Stewart DG8 6AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirroughtree House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country house hotel, a former private mansion house dating back to the 1700's, sitting within 8 acres of its own gardens, a golf course adjacent. It is located near to the picturesque town of Newton Stewart built on the banks of the River Cree, and is within walking distance of the Galloway forest and hills. There is not only a variety of walks around the town and through the forest, but great cycling tracks as well. Slightly further away are a number of historical sights and the Machar Peninsular. On the Machar peninsular you will find the Booktown of Wigtown famous for its annual book festival, picturesque ports, a cave that was occupied by an early Christian Missionary to the Area, a bird sanctuary and the furthest south whisky distillery in Scotland. The Mull of Galloway, the most southerly point in Scotland, is not far away with its bird life and views to Ireland and the Isle of Man. If the magical village of Brigadoon was to appear this is where it would be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Kirroughtree House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirroughtree House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland
Kirroughtree Hotel Newton Stewart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing