We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Start To a Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirroughtree House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Start To a Holiday”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed for three nights as the start of a two week touring holiday in Scotland. Our room had a larger floor area than our home and also had a wonderful view over the grounds and countryside. Menus changed every day and each evening meal was excellent. Great breakfasts as well

Room Tip: Room 17 has a wonderful bay large enough for a settee and television with a view over the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    30
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
94
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Booked this for a getaway before and after jollifications! Lovely surroundings and beautiful room, spoiled by noisy extratctor fan from kitchen which came on at 5pm until last meal and again at 8am for breakfast. Ask for room well away from this Food excellent on 2nd night but not nearly as good on fist evening.

Room Tip: Get a room at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We visited the Kirroughtree House Hotel last weekend.
It was something of a sentimental journey, as my late father was born in a cottage on the then Kirroughtree House Estate and my grandfather worked as a gardner on the estate from circa 1910 until 1926 (excluding his WW1 service in the Argyle & Sutherland Highland Regiment).
The staff could not have been more helpfull and assisted me trying to gain more knowledge of my family connections with the house.
The suite we stayed in was excellent, the lounge previously having been the library had lovely oak panelling. The bedroom and en-suite were very comfortable and traditional. The food in the AA listed restaurant was superb, with a very good wine list.
The grounds were beautiful and very well kept by the current gardening staff, which, given the nature of our visit, made our stay even more memorable.
Thanks to everyone for making our weekend such a pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackwil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here again for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday and for an enjoyable break. The hotel, location, staff, service and food were exemplary. We always feel welcomed back by the staff which is very heartening. Although we have stayed several times we continue to remark on the high attention to detail for example in our room with the turn down service. I also like the drying room for my mountain bike stuff.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank glentressgiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I chose this hotel online to celebrate my wifes 70th birthday, thinking it would be quiet and peaceful in a lovely part of Scotland. The intention was that her brother and sister could join us for the evening as they both live in Glasgow.
When I suggested it, they both decided to stay as well.
First impressions on arrival were excellent as the manager came out, to carry our bags and welcome us. We were upgraded to a large bay fronted room with what would be great views if it hadn't been foggy!
It is hard to find anything to criticize, - Just two things - Although the interior was perfect the outside could do with a lick of paint and the menu was a bit restricted, but the chef rustled up fillet steaks for us with no problem, and they were perfect!. All the staff, without exception were cheerful friendly and helpfulAs far as the hotel itself is concerned, the interior, lounge, dining rooms and bedrooms were all beautifully clean and just what you would expect from a country house hotel nealy 300 years old. The atmosphere was really friendly and homely, and the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable.
We all said we wouldn't hestitate to reccomend this hotel, and will be going again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherbert81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I called into Kirroughtree House Hotel for Sunday lunch. Right from the outset it was obvious this business sets a high emphasis on service delivery with customer satisfaction their main objective.

The décor of the building promotes the past history of the building and for those interested there are historical artefacts relating to the Robert Burns connection to the then “Big House” The atmosphere is warm, relaxing, clean and fresh in appearance.

The whole meal was delicious from starters, main course and sweet. Quality and quantity reflected the high standard of the hotel. The staff were very welcoming and professional in their interactions with us. We were both impressed and enjoyed the whole lunch experience and would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOGgy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I visited this property in early December as part of a weekend stargazing package with astronomer, Steve Owen. Included in the price were 2 nights accommodation, 4 course dinners, breakfasts, a presentation by Steve, and an outing into the Dark Sky Park to view the constellations (unfortunately weather cannot be guaranteed!).

Food was chosen from a set menu, which varied each evening. It was decent, but certainly not amazing. Service was quite old fashioned, but pleasant. The hotel is dated, and although the period features add to its charm, it could do with some slight refurbishments to allow it to retain a luxurious feel. We were upgraded into a spacious suite which had amazing views and plenty of room to spread out.

As others have mentioned, the hotel is located in the middle of Scottish countryside and there are many walks, biking, and other activities to partake in only moments from the front door.

I'd certainly recommend the stargazing weekend, but I'm not sure that I would recommend an independent stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarletmelete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.7 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
352 reviews
13.0 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
464 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
127 reviews
0.9 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirroughtree House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirroughtree House Hotel

Property: Kirroughtree House Hotel
Address: Kirroughtree Lodge House Heron Way, Newton Stewart DG8 6AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirroughtree House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country house hotel, a former private mansion house dating back to the 1700's, sitting within 8 acres of its own gardens, a golf course adjacent. It is located near to the picturesque town of Newton Stewart built on the banks of the River Cree, and is within walking distance of the Galloway forest and hills. There is not only a variety of walks around the town and through the forest, but great cycling tracks as well. Slightly further away are a number of historical sights and the Machar Peninsular. On the Machar peninsular you will find the Booktown of Wigtown famous for its annual book festival, picturesque ports, a cave that was occupied by an early Christian Missionary to the Area, a bird sanctuary and the furthest south whisky distillery in Scotland. The Mull of Galloway, the most southerly point in Scotland, is not far away with its bird life and views to Ireland and the Isle of Man. If the magical village of Brigadoon was to appear this is where it would be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Kirroughtree House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirroughtree House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland
Kirroughtree Hotel Newton Stewart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing