We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel in an amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirroughtree House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
Driffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel in an amazing location”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

A Hotel we have stayed at on many occasions over the past 12 years. It is always an enjoyable and memorable experience

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    30
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
94
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Just spent two wonderful days here in Newton Stewart staying here at Kirroughtree. It was luxury in a lovely gentle atmosphere.
The breakfasts were good but evening dinner was even better, good food deliciously cooked.
Very comfortable twin beds, good room with a great view.
There was a small decanter of sherry and three pieces of fruit awaiting our arrival, unfortunately these were not replaced the second day!
I will certainly be back to stay next year, very relaxing and lovely to be pampered.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisepoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I live locally, so didn't unfortunately stay at Kirroughtree House, just had Sunday lunch today. The hotel itself and its surroundings are beautiful - just waiting in the lounge in comfy armchairs and huge sofas with family portraits on the walls and wood panelling all around is a pleasure. The staff are all very attentive under manager Jim Stirling whom we had the pleasure of meeting today and all guests are made to feel very special and looked after.

The Sunday lunch menu consisted of two choices for each of three courses plus tea or coffee and is priced at only £18. We tried the tomato soup with basil oil - delicious; hubby had chicken breast and veg while I opted for the grilled salmon, cooked to perfection, on a bed of chive couscous with little cherry tomatoes and courgettes; and desserts were a pannacotta with strawberries in a Drambuie syrup (not overpowering) and a banana parfait with a rum-flavoured creme anglaise - now, it WAS strongly flavoured!! But delicious. Tea and coffee were served back in the lounge from silver pots and an extra pot of boiling water came as standard.

This is not the kind of establishment where you will hear people on loud mobile phone conversations or children running around screaming and shouting - thank goodness! This is our second meal at Kirroughtree and we'll come back for other special occasions. We spent our time in the lounge planning what we'd do with the rooms when we win the lottery and can buy Kirroughtree!! But in the meantime, we'll leave it to others to enjoy as much as we do - we would certainly recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights after visiting Edinburgh. It is maintained and run to a very high standard on classic hotel lines, quite a rarity today. Our room was a tad dated but was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well maintained. All staff were extremely helpful and suggested several places to visit in the area which has some superb scenery and interesting towns.
The standard of cuisine was extremely good. Breakfast has an excellent number of choices and it is so pleasant not to have it served buffet style. The quality is maintained at dinner where the chef, who we understand is only 23 years old, presented starters and main courses that were superb and desserts that were good. There are 2 dining rooms and as the hotel was not full, we felt that the atmosphere would have been better if only 1 had been used. However that is our only gripe and we shall definately stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwicktraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Quintessential country house hotel. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Quality of food and standard of service were excellent both at dinner and breakfast where it was a change to have it served and not a buffet. Bedrooms need a little attention as the room we occupied (11) had stains on the carpet in the lounge area and had some awful dried fowers

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We were looking for somewhere special to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary - and Kirroughtree certainly did not disappoint! From the first moment of arrival we knew we had indeed found that somewhere special.

The welcome was warm and friendly, the hotel itself was beautifully maintained both inside and out. We had booked a deluxe room. This proved to be extremely large with a separate sitting area, all beautifully furnished and well-equipped. The room overlooked the immaculate grounds and gardens and within a very short time we were lucky enough to see 2 red squirrels busy collecting food under our windows. A bonus indeed!

The food was excellent, well-cooked and beautifully presented and served, orders being taken in the comfortable lounge beforehand.

Everything about this hotel was excellent but its greatest asset must be the staff. Each one was courteous, efficient and friendly without being pushy or annoying. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We have stayed here before and were pleased to find the same level of service and food. The staff are all helpful and effiecient. Nice countryside and coast. Empty roads and free parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.7 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
13.0 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
15.6 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirroughtree House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirroughtree House Hotel

Property: Kirroughtree House Hotel
Address: Kirroughtree Lodge House Heron Way, Newton Stewart DG8 6AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirroughtree House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country house hotel, a former private mansion house dating back to the 1700's, sitting within 8 acres of its own gardens, a golf course adjacent. It is located near to the picturesque town of Newton Stewart built on the banks of the River Cree, and is within walking distance of the Galloway forest and hills. There is not only a variety of walks around the town and through the forest, but great cycling tracks as well. Slightly further away are a number of historical sights and the Machar Peninsular. On the Machar peninsular you will find the Booktown of Wigtown famous for its annual book festival, picturesque ports, a cave that was occupied by an early Christian Missionary to the Area, a bird sanctuary and the furthest south whisky distillery in Scotland. The Mull of Galloway, the most southerly point in Scotland, is not far away with its bird life and views to Ireland and the Isle of Man. If the magical village of Brigadoon was to appear this is where it would be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Kirroughtree House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirroughtree House Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland
Kirroughtree Hotel Newton Stewart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing