We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage with access to the bike trails.”

Review of Glentrool Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of house Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
32 reviews
front of house
Living Room
Living Room
Double Bedroom
Bunk Bedroom
Kitchen
Dining room
back Garden
Twin Bedroom
Access to forest at rear
Forest at rear of cottage
Beside Loch Trool, Glentrool
Loch Trool
Bruces Stone, Loch Trool
Hills beside Glentrool
Rear of cottage in snow
Loch Trool
Wood Of Cree
7 Stanes Glentrool
Loch Trool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma G
1 review
“Great cottage with access to the bike trails.”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were in scotland to go mountain biking with our three young children and we found this cottage. It was perfect for us with everything we needed including toys, games and books for the children, a garden straight into the woods and a cycle path that took us straight to the 7stanes trailhead at Glentrool. The House o Hill pub was lovely too - the food was great.

The cottage is a little dated but was clean and had everything we needed for the week. The front room was a lovely cosy room with a lovely fire and great views out of the windows. There is no internet access but that really didn't bother us; its nice to be without sometimes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Direct access to the woods and bike trails.
Liked least: The midges in the garden - but it is scotland in June and to be expected!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Hi - thanks for your review and your stay in the cottage - really glad you and family had a good holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotdot15
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The cottage was really lovely and cosy and was in a great location and very dog friendly”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Loved our short stay in the cottage which was very clean and comfortable and very well equipped. Loads of great walks from the cottage.and Glentrool visitor centre was within walking distance too. The craft centre in the village is well worth a visit. You can browse the wide range of local artisan wares, enjoy a coffee with cake and borrow a book from the free library all managed by friendly local volunteers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Hi
Thank you very much for your stay at Glentrool. Glad that you had a good time.Thanks for your review - it is appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyffryn Ardudwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House is warm and comfortable
Liked least: Hardly worth a mention but bulbs needed replacing and shower screens needs refixing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
djw621
Norfolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful and quiet”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Well equipped kitchen, plenty of room for 4 people and 1 dog. Very peaceful and quiet area. I had a vodafone signal and used bt hotspot for wifi. Also arranged an ASDA home delivery which helped as ten miles to Newton Stewart so didn't have to worry about shopping.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recharge batteries”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We needed to find a place that was warm, clean, well stocked, peaceful and were we could walk for miles. This cottages was perfect for us. Our teenager was at home, our dogs in kennels, so two very stressed out people arrived. It was our 23rd Wedding Anniversary and we wanted to celebrate quietly. Well all I can say is, two chilled out people left a week later!
To be honest having no Wi-Fi etc., was a real bonus for us, glad to leave all that behind us for a week.
We will be back.........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Glentrool. I am really glad you had a relaxing week away from it all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzievie...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

After the surprise of finding that we were not a single cottage without neighbours we settled into this cosy, warm cottage and had a lovely stay. Our neighbours were friendly but not intrusive and the cottage provided everything you could wish for. Unlike other places we have stayed, cleaning products, kitchen roll and other necessities, were all there for our use. Find the Sainsburys in Newton Stewart and remember everything as it is quite a drive but only a very short drive to eat at the House o The Hill pub, fantastic restaurant quality food not to be missed! I would return for sure. One thing which would have been great would be wifi, to help with ideas for exploring and of course face booking. Can u tell, we loved it at Glentrool cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Cottage was so homely and warm
Liked least: Pillows on the bed badly need replacing, my neck is not too good after struggling with them
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Glentrool. Our aim is to provide all the extras that we would like to find if we stayed in a self-catering property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing