We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trails, great bike shop, great cafe, great day!”

Kirroughtree - 7stanes
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great trails, great bike shop, great cafe, great day!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had a great day out in the morning with children on the blue route (miss out the optional hill loops for smaller children) for some great/easygoing singletrack. Did red and black (taking shortcut at halfway point to miss out mcmoab as short on time). Appears well graded as red is good but not too technical whilst black requires the usual level of committment. Bike shop mechanics sorted out our trashed chains quickly and had some nice Santa Cruz/Orange/Treks for sale. Finished in the sunshine for a Latte and locally made ice cream at the cafe. Great day out!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank robysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    38
    12
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good walking”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I was under the belief that Kiroughtree was just for mountain bikers, but pleased to see that they have some great walking routes. We did the blue route and was very impressed with the separation from bikes and when we did come ac crooks folk on bikes they were polite and courteous. We measured it at 8k rather than 7k but all the same it was enjoyable. Minor grumble is that adult mountain bikers don't seam to be able to read signs, well done to the young ones for not following their bad example.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milliespringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“lovely but expensive for ice cream”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

this is a great facility as long as you don't want to eat in the cafe or buy ice cream which is rediculously expensive

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rals2nM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outdoor shop...for bikes only”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We visited here because it seems to be one of the main attractions in the Newton Stewart area and being new since we last visited the area we thought it was worth a look. Well it's short on information, yes there are some lovely displays but no one seems to really know much about the forests or how they work out with "well you can walk here, here and here" No one to really tell the kids about the types of trees, history or the like. It's NOT a visitor centre in the true sense, it's a cafe and a dam expensive one at that. Take your own food or just go the couple miles into the local town and save £15 feeding a family of 4 and not have a £3 parking fee slapped on top of that.
Then this OUTDOOR and bike shop, we remember the old place that had a little bike shop and that was fine but our youngest needed a pair of welly boots so on our way over from Gatehouse we just went direct to the Kirroughtree centre, NO Welly boots, no boots at all! In fact there was no backpacks, waterproofs, hiking gear of any kind, the forests have fishing in the area yet this "outdoor shop" have no fishing stuff, tons of nature to spot yet no binoculars, no hats, no tents, no stoves, no flasks, The normal stuff you see in an outdoor shop but no, none!
It's a bike shop, looks a nice bike shop with some very dear bikes but why the Forestry Commission market this at an Outdoor and bike shop is beyond me, it's not an outdoor shop at all so why call it that. We had to go into the town to find a proper outdoor shop which is in the middle of the town and was very good. Sorry Forestry, it looks good, it could be good but it sounds very grand when it's a cafe and bike shop in a woodland.
On a final note, the drive into here is very bad, take care and keep your speed very low if you want to keep the sump in your car!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BillyMcColm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful place. . . . . ”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We were staying nearby in Newton Stewart, a few miles away, Kirroughtree has some lovely walks, we did the blue trail but there are easier ones, visitors centre fantastic - fruit scones you must try! I can't wait to go back, look out for the Ospreys - enjoy!

Helpful?
1 Thank juliedjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirroughtree - 7stanes also viewed

Galloway Forest Park, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Kirroughtree - 7stanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing