We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Blackhorse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackhorse Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Marton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Spent the long bank holiday weekend here to access the Galloway Forest Park. The rooms are wonderfully thought out with lots of space and thoughtful touches that made the stay really comfortable and relaxing. The staff were all top notch - nothing was too much trouble. Plenty choice on food and drink and also a quieter dining room if you don't want to stay in the bar area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
28
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Fabulous place, the staff are lovely, nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is lovely, fantastic value for money. We celebrate all our birthdays here, Daughters 18th coming up soon. The sunday Carvery is lovely too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliajiiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel a few weeks ago with a shooting party. The hotel was very cosy. The staff were top notch. Had a few drinks in the bar, it was a busy little place the service was great. The breakfast was also very good and we will be going back very soon

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bigemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The Black Horse (like many establishments in this area of Scotland) would benefit from a big sign outside which yells "This is a nice place!"
The Black Horse is a GREAT place. Sadly hidden behind the small, frosted windows of a dodgy looking pub... which makes you scared to venture inside. Once you've taken the leap of faith you do not regret it. The staff and rooms are lovely. A lot of effort goes into to ensuring your stay is comfortable: We were shown a parking space, given a garage to lock our bikes in and provided with a vegetarian breakfast. The room was very well equipped and attractive. I highly recommend this place- I thought it was excellent value and very pleasant.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We came here to visit family who live in Newton Stewart. From the moment we got here nothing was too much for the dtaff, they were very helpful. The room was nice, had a 32inch freeview tv, kettle and was warm. There was a lack of plug sockets but I brought my own multi plug - problem solved. Breakfast in the morning was a full english, tasted fantastic and was a great start to both days. Overall I would definitely recommend this place to people to stay in - slightly cheaper than the competition but not lacking in any area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lito1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here 25/01/2014 whilst attending my son's wedding room was fantastic staff and breakfast were worthy of 5 stars what a lovely place now bed was to die for perfect sleep rooms have kettle coffee tea and hot chocolate also bottled water is provided well done Derek Tracy and staff

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Living locally I'm only commenting on a recent Sunday lunch taken there.
In a word, Delicious :) Started with Prawns in a Marie Rose sauce which was very good. Homemade sauce, which, for me, makes all the difference. The portion was large and I enjoyed every last bit! I tried the haggis lasagne which, while different to anything I've had before, turned out to be mouth-wateringly good. I couldn't finish everything but again the portion was large.
Staff were friendly and obliging. It was lovely to be in a warm cosy setting (the weather was dreadful) which felt very homely. The bar was quite busy and many other people were eating too. Would return again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdpGalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.1 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
110 reviews
1.2 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowallan House
Rowallan House
#6 of 17 in Newton Stewart
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackhorse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackhorse Hotel

Property: Blackhorse Hotel
Address: 66 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackhorse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A SMALL FAMILY RUN HOTEL IN THE MARKET TOWN OF NEWTON STEWART. NEWTON STEWART IS A SMALL TOWN IN THE GALLOWAY HILLS. OUR HOTEL HAS A TOTAL OF 9 BEDROOMS AND ALL ARE EN-SUITE. DEREK, TRACEY AND ALL OUR STAFF WOULD LIKE TO WELCOME YOU TO HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blackhorse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackhorse Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing