We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely, Friendly, just a great wee place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackhorse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackhorse Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Homely, Friendly, just a great wee place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This small hotel owned by Irishman Derek and managed by his trusted local woman Denise is an absolute treat to experience. Great welcome, friendly, they have a "nothing is impossible" attitude, rooms are spanking clean, food in the restaurant is great and so well priced, and a beautiful small bar that is lively and good local craic! We highly recommend this small hotel and we will most definitely be back, so "children friendly too", our three young boys had a ball!

Room Tip: Only "tip" is make sure you leave Denise a "tip" before you leave, she is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
28
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkconnel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

There were 10 of us that stayed on Sat 24th Aug we all arrived early before our book in time but the staff were great and we all got settled into our rooms (which can not be faulted). With a wee refreshment in the bar Denise introduced herself as she would be looking after us at dinner and breakfast (and looked after we were). The Dinner 1st class various dishes were had and everyone complimented the chef. With some more refreshments we got to know a few of the locals and Denise joined us for a while. Great nights sleep then it was into Denise`s full breakfast again this meant 10 clean plates. We will definitely be back and have already recommended this to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Called in whilst on holiday with the family to watch our team on Sky in the English Premier. Even though TVs weren't on when we arrived the staff didn't hesitate to put them on when we asked. Had a great and reasonably priced meal and enjoyed the football along with some locals. It's a small bar but this just adds to the great atmosphere as you feel like you are sat in your front room at home. Would definitely call back in when in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reach123y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

stopped by here last week on a motorbike tour of Scotland looking for dave an old army mate I heard drunk here. Staff and locals alike were very friendly and accommodating. Denise cooked me a lovely breakfast in the morning too. Small room but very comfy and clean. Cheap at £35 with breakfast after being in another 9 or so hotels or so in Scotland this has to be one of my favourites. Great views too. They go that extra little bit for you here so please try it out if in the area

Room Tip: try the tenants lager its lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfriesshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had an excellent nights stay at the Blackhorse. Very clean rooms and all staff very polite. A special thanks to the bar for staying open till the wee sma hours.Really enjoyed our stay and hope to return shortly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff are first class and The hotel and rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated . The breakfasts are nice and some dinners equally so . We didn't pay much for the room which I'm glad as we stayed at the weekend , and got no sleep whatsoever before midnight as the music and noise is rediculously too loud and feels and sounds like its in your room . Book elsewhere if your staying at weekend or ask for a room at the back . Won't be returning or recommending at all . . . . Very disappointed :( .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g4gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed as guests in the Black Horse Hotel in Newton Stewart while viewing prospective properties in the area. We also had the chance to enjoy both dinner and breakfast in this establishment---and we were extremely pleased.

The owners and staff were warm and friendly, and the bar provided a welcome respite from a day of traveling and viewing properties. Dinner began with a excellent and flavorful bowl of lentil soup accompanied by bread and butter---hot, thick, and tasty soup to take the chill off tired bodies! The special Roast of the Day was beef, with Yorkshire pudding, new potatoes, and assorted vegetable---and, of course, a hearty beef gravy. Our appetites were sated completely!

Our accommodation at the Black Horse was clean, cheerful, comfortable, and spacious. The pillows (of which I am often skeptical) were thick, firm, and synthetic---perfect for me!!! The bathroom was enormous and also well appointed. The in-room coffee and tea-making service was also welcome, especially since it included Spekuloos biscuits (Dutch cookies)! Mmmmm!

All-in-all, the Black Horse hotel is comfortable, charming, friendly, and well provisioned for the weary traveler or local area tourist. We WILL stay there again!

Room Tip: Room number 1, at the front of the hotel is a double bedroom with a large window opening to allow fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appinhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.1 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.2 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stables Guest House
Stables Guest House
#2 of 18 in Newton Stewart
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackhorse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackhorse Hotel

Property: Blackhorse Hotel
Address: 66 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackhorse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A SMALL FAMILY RUN HOTEL IN THE MARKET TOWN OF NEWTON STEWART. NEWTON STEWART IS A SMALL TOWN IN THE GALLOWAY HILLS. OUR HOTEL HAS A TOTAL OF 9 BEDROOMS AND ALL ARE EN-SUITE. DEREK, TRACEY AND ALL OUR STAFF WOULD LIKE TO WELCOME YOU TO HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackhorse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackhorse Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing