We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best b&b I have stayed in!”
Review of Kiloran B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Stewart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiloran B&B
Ranked #5 of 17 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best b&b I have stayed in!”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed at the Kiloran for 2 nights! We were greeted by Davy and lovely wee Monty on arrival then introduced to Eve. Both hosts are very welcoming (and Monty). We were helped with our bags to our beautiful double room, the room and en suite were immaculate! We had bottled water and home made shortbread biscuits on our hospitality tray! After a great nights sleep we had Davy's delicious breakfast to start the day! One word yum! I cannot speak highly enough about the Kiloran and our wonderful hosts for the weekend! Felt very at home and we have already booked up for our next stay later in the year! Great place if you are in the area and lucky enough to get a room I guarantee you will not be disappointed!
Tracy and Jonathan (31st March until 2nd April 2012)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLinton1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stopped for 1 night at Kiloran on the way to catch a ferry to Northern Ireland. We booked based on location near to Cairnryan and price - £55 for the night for a double room. An absolute bargain.

Eve, Dave and of course Monty (the dog!) are excellent hosts - I would go so far as to say they are the best hosts we have come across in a long time. They are extremely friendly, welcoming, helpful, informative but also not intrusive. On arrival they helped with bags from our car and then served us tea and cheese scones in the kitchen whilst recommending places for us to eat in Newton Stewart. They also offered to serve breakfast at any time we requested. A note about Monty - they are very conscious that some guests may not like, or be allergic to dogs and therefore only let him out after much begging from us to meet him. Otherwise he is kept in their own living area.

A great idea they have is choosing what you would like for your cooked breakfast the night before (e.g. you tick off if you want bacon, sausage, baked beans etc). We thought this was brilliant, as if nothing else it cuts down on any food wastage. Breakfast itself seemed like a team effort. Everything is cooked in front of you (in their dining kitchen).

As we left, the weather had been freezing overnight and Dave helped to defrost our car.

The room was lovely, very clean and well decorated. I suppose one minor let down would be the shower, but I am willing to forgive for an otherwise unblemished stay.

I hope we have the chance to stop at Kiloran again. We can highly recommend this B & B with a wonderful family feel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger_Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Had a wonderful stay with Eve, Dave and Monty last week for 3 nights. Room was very clean and comfortable, we were made to feel extremely welcome. Dave rustled up an mean breakfast that set up us up nicely for a days mountain biking. Eve couldn't do enough for us including sharing her lovely home made biscuits and amazing home grown chillies. Nothing was any trouble at all, we had a great stay made perfect by fantastic hosts. We will be back next summer for another stay :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerryMTBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

An overnight stay while house hunting and the perfect respite from a long trip and a busy day.Dave and Eve are very welcoming and everything was just right.Gorgeous garden.Interesting climbing plant which is Tropaelium speciosum(nasturtium family) as I suspected.I will certainly try to grow it when I am settled in down the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilanova
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Just perfect!! Thanks a lot for Eve and Dave, and the cute dog Monty! A perfect place, with a perfects owners! The breakfast was the best meal of all the entire trip! It's a great place to go with children and a good place to hold a conversation with this lovely couple and talk about the Galloway Forest and Scotland! Thanks to Eve thanks for washing and ironing our clothes and thanks to Dave for the football games with kids!! I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edsa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for just one night in August 2011. The accomodation is magnificent, the hosts were magnificent, the room was magnificent, the food was magnificent. Even the weather was magnificent. . . . Next time I'm up in the South West of Scotland, I'll be at the Kiloran. Thank you Eve and Davy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nozzer8691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is no ordinary B&B, this is the BEST B&B ever. The welcome from host Eve and Davy was like meeting up with old friends. Our room was Twin but had a double and single bed, the en-suite was way beyond any B&B we have stayed in, and the little table with the tea tray groaned with all the lovely goodies available. Be warned - Davy's breakfasts are to die for, if theres something you would like that is not on his menu, he will go out of his way to cook it for you. Eve is of course the perfect hostess making sure that everything is perfect and makes a 'mean brew'. We would highly recommend this B&B , if your in the area looking for a class place to stay but at a reasonable price
THIS IS IT. Cheers Elaine & Bob Lambert

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myjoelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.4 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blackhorse Hotel
Blackhorse Hotel
#4 of 17 in Newton Stewart
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rowallan House
Rowallan House
#6 of 17 in Newton Stewart
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiloran B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiloran B&B

Property: Kiloran B&B
Address: 6 Auchendoon Road, Newton Stewart DG8 6HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Kiloran B&B Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing