We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Nutkin Cottage

Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Lounge with patio doors to the patio and garden Squirrel on feeder in garden looking for nuts
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Lounge with patio doors to the patio and garden
Squirrel on feeder in garden looking for nuts
Bruntis Loch, a short walk from the cottage through the forest alongside Bruntis Burn.
Red squirrel in cottage garden
Separate dining room with door leading to lounge
Spacious double bedroom next to bathroom
Nutkin Cottage garden in Autumn
Magnificent Loch Trool in the Galloway Forest Park
Spacious twin bedroom with en suite shower-room
Nutkin Cottage kitchen with views from 3 windows
Rear hall
Rear side of NUtkin Cottage facing East
Nutkin Cottage garden with topiary in June.
Woodpecker in the cottage garden
Back out to enjoy the nut
Nutkin Cottage Garden
Squirrel lifts lid and helps himself
This is just outside the patio doors at Nutkin Cottage
Red squirrel feeding on the garden patio 3 feet from the patio doors.
Kippford Beach
Red squirrel on Nutkin Cottage patio
Red squirrel on Nutkin grass
Zac taking a leap into Bruntis Loch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Nutkin Cottage was the perfect cottage, Clean, Homely and cosy. Fantastic surroundings, with great hosts. We won't hesitate to book again next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
Thank you for your review of Nutkin Cottage. Many thanks for leaving it so clean and tidy. It was very much appreciated!
We look forward to your return. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieCott...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Peace & Relaxation for Paws and People!”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A massive "thank you" for a wonderfully relaxing stay at warm and comfortable Nutkin Cottage, so clean and welcoming for us and our two dogs. Such peace and quiet here! Marvellous to watch very many varieties of birds visiting the feeding stations around the cottage. Galloway Forest is magical and such a pleasure to walk from the front door straight onto the paths. Autumnal tree colours and the array of coloured fungi is incredible here. Dark skies studded with a million stars are awe-inspiring. Lots of interesting dog-friendly places and areas to visit locally, Threave Castle, Cream O'Galloway, Culzean Castle to name a few. We've previously stayed in Drey Cottage too and this is equally well fitted out and very comfortable. We will be back soon to recharge our batteries again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure to see you return to our 'Shangri-La' as an elderly customer always called it. She and her husband loved it here but sadly old age got the better of them!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin C
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming and comfortable”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Country lovers paradise. A great base to explore a far reaching and beautiful rural area. Delightful walks right on the doorstep. Great comfort and a warm welcome from Jennie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
Thank you for leaving your review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and your dog Moss who is a sweet little treasure. Thank you for leaving Nutkin Cottage clean and tidy. It was appreciated! Love to see you both again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine F
1 review
“Perfect dog-frendly cottage in idyllic setting.”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Nutkin cottage provides all home comforts - and more - with little extra treats like cake and fresh flowers on arrival and home made bread too.The owners, Jennie and Vince, thought of everything to make our stay enjoyable. The cottage is less than fifty yards from the entrance to the forest park with walks to suit all abilities and visitor centre less than five minutes away. Newton Stewart, Wigtown and Kirkudbright are a short drive away and Castle Douglas is within easy reach. The scenery in the surrounding area is at times breathtaking. We have had many cottage holidays but this one has surpassed them all. I would highly recommend Nutkin cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2017
Lovely to meet you both and your dog Clyde who was very quiet which we appreciated. Thanks for leaving Nutkin Cottage clean and tidy. It too was very much appreciated. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure to meet lovely people and we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in Nutkin Cottage. It would be great to see you all again.

Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lizzystam...
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Cottage in a great location”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This lovely cottage is very comfortable with plenty of space even for five of us and a dog!!! Jennie and Vince are great hosts ensuring we had all we needed and even supplying homemade cake and bread which was delicious, plus we got to watch Red squirrels in the garden. The cottage is situated very close to Kirroughtree visitor centre making it easy to access all the walks and bike trails, and Newton Stewart is only a Short drive away for shopping.
We have been coming to this area for many years as we enjoy it so much but this is our first stay at Nutkin Cottage and we hope to be back soon!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
We are very pleased that you chose to stay in Nutkin Cottage and also pleased that you enjoyed your holiday so much. It is great to see people enjoying the birds, red squirrels and all the facilities that this beautiful part of Scotland provides and we look forward to seeing your lovely family again.
Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markdalto...
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious, handily placed. And red squirrels.”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The welcome at Nutkin cottage (a smiling hostess to tell us useful information, and a dining table laid for afternoon tea, including a homemade fruit loaf) was just lovely. We delighted in watching the woodland birds and the red squirrels feeding at the bird table just beyond the windows. The cottage is attractive, warm, comfortable, spacious, and well-equipped. It is also spotlessly clean.
Ten minutes country walk and you can be at the Kiroughtree Visitors Centre of Galloway Forest Park. Three miles drive and you can be at Newton Stewart, a small town with restaurants, Sainsbury's, Aldi, and lots of independent shops. We visited Castle Kennedy Gardens, Dunskey Gardens, the Mull of Galloway and Wigtown book town, but there are many more things one could do. We would very much like to visit both Galloway and Nutkin again. We'd wholeheartedly recommend both.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. It was great to meet you both and loved chatting to you. You left Nutkin Cottage clean and tidy which was very much appreciated. Perhaps come again in the not too distant future? The red squirrels will be here waiting for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing