We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Nutkin Cottage

Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Lounge with patio doors to the patio and garden Squirrel on feeder in garden looking for nuts
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Photo is all Nutkin Cottage
Lounge with patio doors to the patio and garden
Squirrel on feeder in garden looking for nuts
Bruntis Loch, a short walk from the cottage through the forest alongside Bruntis Burn.
Red squirrel in cottage garden
Separate dining room with door leading to lounge
Spacious double bedroom next to bathroom
Nutkin Cottage garden in Autumn
Magnificent Loch Trool in the Galloway Forest Park
Spacious twin bedroom with en suite shower-room
Nutkin Cottage kitchen with views from 3 windows
Rear hall
Rear side of NUtkin Cottage facing East
Nutkin Cottage garden with topiary in June.
Woodpecker in the cottage garden
Back out to enjoy the nut
Nutkin Cottage Garden
Squirrel lifts lid and helps himself
This is just outside the patio doors at Nutkin Cottage
Red squirrel feeding on the garden patio 3 feet from the patio doors.
Kippford Beach
Red squirrel on Nutkin Cottage patio
Red squirrel on Nutkin grass
Zac taking a leap into Bruntis Loch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lizzystam...
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cottage in a great location”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This lovely cottage is very comfortable with plenty of space even for five of us and a dog!!! Jennie and Vince are great hosts ensuring we had all we needed and even supplying homemade cake and bread which was delicious, plus we got to watch Red squirrels in the garden. The cottage is situated very close to Kirroughtree visitor centre making it easy to access all the walks and bike trails, and Newton Stewart is only a Short drive away for shopping.
We have been coming to this area for many years as we enjoy it so much but this is our first stay at Nutkin Cottage and we hope to be back soon!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
We are very pleased that you chose to stay in Nutkin Cottage and also pleased that you enjoyed your holiday so much. It is great to see people enjoying the birds, red squirrels and all the facilities that this beautiful part of Scotland provides and we look forward to seeing your lovely family again.
Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markdalto...
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious, handily placed. And red squirrels.”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The welcome at Nutkin cottage (a smiling hostess to tell us useful information, and a dining table laid for afternoon tea, including a homemade fruit loaf) was just lovely. We delighted in watching the woodland birds and the red squirrels feeding at the bird table just beyond the windows. The cottage is attractive, warm, comfortable, spacious, and well-equipped. It is also spotlessly clean.
Ten minutes country walk and you can be at the Kiroughtree Visitors Centre of Galloway Forest Park. Three miles drive and you can be at Newton Stewart, a small town with restaurants, Sainsbury's, Aldi, and lots of independent shops. We visited Castle Kennedy Gardens, Dunskey Gardens, the Mull of Galloway and Wigtown book town, but there are many more things one could do. We would very much like to visit both Galloway and Nutkin again. We'd wholeheartedly recommend both.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. It was great to meet you both and loved chatting to you. You left Nutkin Cottage clean and tidy which was very much appreciated. Perhaps come again in the not too distant future? The red squirrels will be here waiting for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakesnanL...
Lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nutkin Cottage surpasses all expectations!”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My husband and I, along with our little dog have thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Nutkin Cottage. We received such a friendly welcome from Jennie and Vince and found fresh flowers and home made cake waiting for us. We had hoped to see a Red Squirrel but we were lucky and had Red Squirrels visit each day, along with Woodpecker, Nuthatch, Siskin, Great, Coal and Blue Tits - all attracted to the bird feeders right outside the cottage windows! Wonderful!
The cottage is so comfortable and well equipped. It is in a lovely, quiet location, within a short walk to Kirroughtrees Forest Visitor Centre where you will find Toilets, childrens play area, access to forest walks, a wild life hide, a bike hire and bijke shop, and a cafe serving great food. There is also a field where our dog could play. It is possible to drive to the Visitor centre if you wish... ample parking.
Further afield you will find many beautiful gardens, small harbour towns and of course Wigtown the famouse Book Town and many scenic roads to explore.
At the end of the day we were very happy to return to Nutkin Cottage and sit in the garden there enjoying the peace and quiet. Hopeful for a clear night to enjoy the Dark Skies. We often received gifts of home baked bread or cake or scones from Jennie. Such a treat.
We will certainly be recommending Nutkin and Drey Cottages to our friends.
Thank you again Jennie and Vince. We have had a lovely holiday, batteries recharged, looking forward to the next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Thank you for your review it is always a pleasure to meet lovely people and that is what you two are. Little Bertie the dog was lovely too. We look forward to seeing you again and the red squirrels will be waiting for you.
Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“lovely, peaceful accommodation with plenty of walks”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely clean, comfortable well equipped cottage in fabulous surroundings and with plenty wildlife. Great forest walks from the doorstep. We hired bikes from visitors centre 5 mins walk away and had a great time exploring the whole forest! Our dog was made welcome to. Plenty to do in the surrounding area. Thank you Vince and Jenny we had a great week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thank you for your kind review we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in Nutkin Cottage.

Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Many thanks for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in Nutkin Cottage and would love to see you again.
Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Garry B
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ideally situated, very clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed four nights at the end of January. The cottage is just a few minutes' walk from Kirroughtree visitors' centre and ideal for walking or cycling in Galloway Forest Park. The nearest town, Newton Stewart, is a short drive away and has plenty of shops, supermarkets and places to eat. We were very pleased with the cottage and would certainly stay there again if we were in this area. It is very clean, comfortable, quiet, has plenty of space and almost everything is provided - all kitchen equipment and even a supply of teabags, coffee and sugar. We particularly appreciated the home made bread and cake with which Jennie welcomed us, and enjoyed watching the various birds feeding just outside, not to mention one visit from a red squirrel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in Nutkin Cottage and would love to see you all again.

Best wishes, Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alangore1
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nutkin Cottage - Nr Newton Stewart”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The best weeks holiday we had in years! Jenny and Vince are wonderful hosts and the property is immaculate. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and services offered.
Liked least: Had to return home too soon.
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Thank you very much for your review it is very much appreciated. Also thank you for leaving the cottage so clean when you left. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again the next time you choose to visit.
Jennie & Vince
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing