We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality smoked produce”

Marrbury Smokehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Seafood, Scottish, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Smokehouse Deli and Cafe - NEWLY APPOINTED FIVE STAR STB with access to historic castle on site. Food presented daily fresh from our highly acclaimed smokehouse, in a variety of style and budgets to suit all. Families welcome - larger groups by prior arrangement. Open most of the year around including Sundays - for current opening hours please do call first. Food 2 GO available ie Fish/Chicken and Chips take aways - order before 4.30Pm by telephone. Disabled parking space, no stairs, ramp to shop and access for one wheelchair in cafe. Winter weddings in the Castle by arrangement.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality smoked produce”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

A 2nd visit to this deli/cafe. Set with great views over the solway firth and access to Carsluith Castle next door makes it worth the visit. The food is great and the service just so. A great range of products. Lovely staff

Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    42
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandrillo, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not quick, but worth waiting for”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We turned up in the evening and getting a table was slow - the place was just understaffed, but that said the waitress was apologetic and helpful. We really enjoyed the food - we had a meal, so enjoyed their smoked salmon and smoked chicken breast. Good value, very tasty food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanastonOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great setting, great smoked cheese scones”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We were disappointed to find that the chef wasn't in and anything cooked from the menu was unavailable, but we had smoked cheese scones instead. Very nice. It was lovely to be able to go up to the top of Carsluith castle as well. The menu here looked great, so we'll have to try again next time!

Helpful?
Thank DJN-ATF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's Town of Dalry, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you can,only vist one place,make sure its this one.”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have visted,this place,many times,over the past few years.great place.to stop at,for a snack,lunch,or dinner.Fresh food,that is above standard fare.great vaule,staff.go out of their way,for customers.from freshly made ,smoked salmon pate,which is the best,ive tasted,to wonderfull delights to take home.which,the resturant,.why settle for,a sandwhich,when you can have,haggis gojon style,or smoked duck in a delishious light batter.Or choose from a mouth watering selection,all freshly cooked.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank electricbluejean666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrbury, General Manager at Marrbury Smokehouse, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Hiya!
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback - we all know you in the shop - and value your repeat custom greatly
MUCH appreciated and for you, PATE is always available ;-) xxx
Kind wishes from all the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit this place”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This tea room is situated next to the ruins of Carsluth Castle on the way A75 to Stranraer. We highly recommend this place because of delicious food, excellent service and very nice interior. It is the very good place to eat and spend nice time for all the family. There are two car parks available for customers.If you visit this place once, you will visit it often.
Yvonne and Andrew

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrbury Smokehouse also viewed

Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Creetown, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Marrbury Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing