We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breakfast to die for”

Stables Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stables Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Newton Stewart B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“breakfast to die for”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

stayed at this lovelyB&B for 4 nights on business,friendly welcome, well equiped room ( nice touch with higher than average shower gel, shampoo and cream ) good shower. However the breakfast was of a very high standared, all locally sourced produce (great sausages) I had to resist the full Scottish every day as I would have put on about 5 kilos, but was offered some lovely scrambeled eggs with smoked salmon. excellent B&B for business and tourists alike

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
31
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We Stayed here for 2 nights and thought this was fantastic!!! breakfast amazing sets you for the day. Rooms lovely and beds reallllllyyy comfy can't fault anything at all and Jacqui is such a lovely lady and fantastic host will do anything to help !!! xx

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at the Stables on our way to Northern Ireland for a week's holiday. We were really impressed by everything. The room and facilities were top class. I commented so to Jacqui on leaving and will definitely stay there again if and when we are that way (if we can get in though as everyone is of the same opinion it might be full!!!). The breakfast was lovely and plenty of coffee and attention from Jacqui. A lovely start to our week's holiday.

Room Tip: I am sure all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbyshiretwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our room was lovely, clean, fresh and airy. Jacqui was very helpful and welcoming. We had a magnificent breakfast with my husband trying haggis for the first time. I think he nearly ate her out of house and home. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I imagine any of the rooms here would be immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is how every B&B should be !
Jackie is friendly, welcoming and accomodating. The bedrooms are very comfortable and well stocked with toiletries and refreshments. Great attention to detail here and nothing seems too much trouble.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HeatherAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Jacqui made us so welcome. Offered to carry the heaviest of suitcases, explained how to make wifi work, even got her daughter to do it for me when I couldn't manage.
Breakfast superb, plenty of it, great variety and well cooked. The whole experience was like staying in someone's home rather than in a guest house. I would stay here again without question.

After a few years of finding mediocre places in Scotland this was the fourth great guest house I have found there this year. Well done Scotland, well done Jacqui.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

A tradiitonal B&B, this one stands out for the excellent level of care and attention, a host who will make you very welcome. Excellent breakfast too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaddyBadger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.3 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
13.3 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.5 mi away
House O'Hill Hotel
House O'Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bargrennan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackhorse Hotel
Blackhorse Hotel
#4 of 17 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stables Guest House

Property: Stables Guest House
Address: Corsbie Road, Newton Stewart DG8 6JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stables Guest House is privately owned.Set in its own gardens it is only a few minutes walk to the centre of Newton Stewart which offers a wide range of places to eat, shops cinema and sports centre.Plenty of free off road parking.All rooms offer TV,radio,beverage tray and good quality toiletries, all rooms are either en-suite or have private facilities.Free wifi is available.There is a welcoming guests lounge and breakfast room with conservatory.Breakfast offers a choice of dishes, using local produce where possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stables Guest House Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing