We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had my Wedfest wedding celebrations here in August this year. Staff all excellent, go out of there way to help! Decorated for me as i ran out of time. Organised buffet and helped clear all away. would definately recommend for birthday/ wedding celebrations. First class, couldnt ask for more. :) :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane_copeland71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    36
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
51
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington UK
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were really friendly on reception when we arrived early and luckily our room was available. The room was ideal and very clean with a good sized bathroom perfect for our requirements. The full Scottish breakfast on both mornings was very good along with the cereals, toast and juice, we also had a meal in the Knights Bar one evening. There is free parking at the hotel and it is a great base for visiting the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is well situated right on the main road (Queen Street) in Newston Stewart - right within walking distance of many other restaurants if you are tired of driving after a long day. The rooms are very small. The bathroom felt like stepping into a space capsule. The TV is about the size of a IPad. But everything is clean and there is a coffee maker in the room along with a few biscuits. The breakfast in the morning was very nice with cooked to order items. Rooms facing the street are right across from a livestock auction - which can add to your whole experience or annoy you if you don't like to wake up to the bah of sheep. I thought it was hilarious and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mctrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed in Newton Stewart for a few days and had to find a place with a menu to suit our 3 fussy kids (7,7 & 3). Stumbled upon this place and very glad we did. We all really enjoyed our meals, really good portion sizes and excellent choice. Enjoyed it so much we went back (at the kids request).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr southayrshire ka8 0lt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

just return home after a coulpe of days here what a great place to stay the staff were absolutely amazing friendly and very helpful the cooked breakfast was brill there are free parking at the side of the hotel the room was very comfortable the restaurant is a good place to eat so if your planning a trip to Newton Stewart this is a great place to stay and have a great meal

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter as there is a disco on a saturday nigth
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rab43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galicia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

CONTEXT
Stayed here for one night before starting the John O’Groats to Land’s end route by bicycle.

PROS
Friendly staff.

Good price. If you can ignore the strange colour co-ordination in the rooms, then £35 is an excellent rate and good value.

Comfortable room.

Restaurant. A hidden gem here. The fresh fish dish I had was superb and the service excellent
.
CONS
Apart from the haphazard colour scheme in the room, I can’t think of any.

CONCLUSION
If you’re staying in Newton Stewart, this is a fine place for a night’s accommodation and a good meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glevum777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geordie Land
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

we (family, 5 of us) called into this place on an evening which was clearly a busy time...there appeared to be something going on upstairs I guess...the place was very busy and everyone seemed to be calling on John, I think he night be the manager...the meal we had was adequate...the prices were ok and the surroundings ok...the staff to me appeared to be 'doing their job' and I thought a little cold and un attentive but that might have been because of the business elsewhere on the premises...it was 'OK' for a call in...judging by the photo's and the reviews this is a nice place to stay but to me the staff made me feel un welcome...apart from the gentleman who showed us to a table...that might have been John...but the two women in the bar were quite stern looking and not very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raven1GeordieLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Stewart
0.1 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newton Stewart
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
356 reviews
16.5 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
413 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blackhorse Hotel
Blackhorse Hotel
#4 of 17 in Newton Stewart
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 102 Queen Street, Newton Stewart DG8 6JW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Stewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel boasts 14 en-suite rooms all with their own tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary refreshments and satellite televisions. Our rooms range in capacity with single, double, twin and family sized rooms available. We offer a range of accommodation deals from B&B to Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. They have a fantastic Bar & Grill Restaurant which offers customers a delicious selection of gourmet burgers, steaks and ribs, pastas and chicken dishes. We can also cater for special dietary requirements including vegetarian, vegan, gluten and dairy free. Their lively public bar has lots to do including pool, darts, online quiz game and online jukebox as well as two large screen televisions. Weekly acoustic music sessions are hosted every Saturday afternoon from 3pm and weekend entertainment in the form of karaoke or DJ is held on a regular basis. The Crown Hotel is situated in the picturesque market town of Newton Stewart, in the heart of Galloway, south west Scotland. This area is becoming well-known for the outstanding beauty & variety of its natural landscape and for the growing opportunities for outdoor pursuits, from golf and fishing, to bird-watching and hill-walking, and most recently for the new 7-Stanes mountain bike trails in the nearby Galloway Forest Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Newton Stewart, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing