We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice lunch”
Review of Cafe Cree - CLOSED

Cafe Cree
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family run business with a desire to provide home made food, with a warm welcome.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Fancied a carvery on route to Cairnryan but on looking at the hotels offering a carvery decided against and stumbled across cafe cree. Had the special of chicken and crorizo pie, cheeseburger, and ham and cheese toastie. All very good and service good and friendly.

Would recommend

Thank Watties2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 35 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

Group of five had breakfast and can't be complimentary enough. Service was friendly and prompt and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The food was good quality, served fairly quickly and was piping hot. Tea pots were topped up and extra toast was offered. Just a shame we couldn't call again to try the tempting home made cakes on display. Would definitely recommend and do not understand the negative reviews. Go try for yourself and you won't be disappointed.;

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TJC7131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were stuck on where to go in Newton Stewart when visiting and noticed that Cafe Cree had some good reviews on TripAdvisor so we thought we would give it a go.

Wow are all of these reviews wrong!

The service was dreadful and the food was even worse, the woman was friendly enough at first, nice and smiley but that lasted a whole 5 minutes. Being vegetarian I have limited options when going out to dine so as always I could only choose from a couple of items.
The food is clearly out of a freezer and just stuck in the oven to heat up, our cans of Irn-Bru were brought out warm with a glass containing no ice!
Would definitely not recommend unless you want to waste your money and have an awful meal with terrible service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kara_WU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Owner at Cafe Cree, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

On reading your review we were dismayed about your comments. We do not accept your negative comments and feel that your review is extremely harsh and incorrect. We pride ourselves on our warm welcoming hospitality and high standards. All our soft drinks cans are stored in our under counter fridge (4 degrees C). You comment that as a vegetarian you could only choose from a couple of items on the menu, which I would disagree with. There are at least 10 vegetarian options on our menu, ranging from breakfast, light lunches, soups and main meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We popped in for breakfast during a stay in Newton Stewart last week. Great coffee, lovely bacon and cream cheese bagel, and comfortable surroundings. Very reasonably priced, quick and pleasant service; no complaints!

Thank DJN-ATF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Not so impressed with the service, unfriendly and not welcoming, food disappointing, this is no where the standard of Grannies Kitchen,would not recommend.

2  Thank Nickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cree also viewed

Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing