We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little cafe”
Review of Cafe Cree - CLOSED

Cafe Cree
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family run business with a desire to provide home made food, with a warm welcome.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Try the cakes - any one of them, you wont be dissapointed!

2  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 35 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

reasonably priced snacks or something more substancial

Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

How disapointing.. Gone is the friendly welcome..for us and our elderly doggy pal.. We tried the so called local food..not a patch on the previous owners menu.. And chips with everything..suprised they wern't on the dessert menu too! The present owners are not the people who worked hard to achieve the awards mentioned on the website..the previous owners must be so disapointed that all their hard work and reputation has gone to waste.. I would recomend trying the riverside cafe..RIP Cafe Cree

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank 101room
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingerwithattitude, Owner at Cafe Cree, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Although we always try to please our customers, some times this is not possible. Change can always upset people and this we can not avoid. With regards to the past owners, they felt that they had taken the business as far as possible based on the previous menu...yes we offer chips and potatoes with our main course, dont most cafe/Bistro's?? this was added due to customer feed back that we recieved when the business changed hands regarding providing more choice on the menu than previously available. I am sorry that you do not feel that cafe cree is no longer the place you used to visit. However, the previous owners decided to sell the business... and as a new venture to us we added more to the menu, again due to customer feed back...I am delighted to say that the changes have been approved by most and due to the increase in both trade and demand for our service we feel that to meet this demand we are intending to both refurbish in the winter both increasing the amount of covers provided and staff employed...Please feel free to approach us and discuss any requirments you may have, we are always open to new ideas!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Recently visited Cafe Cree, what a delight, good homemade food & puddings to die for! They do cater for all dietary needs but i'm afraid i had to go for the homemade lasagne & banoffie pie, wow! Calorie overload, but definately worth it. Be warned though it is extremely busy (good sign), but our table of 4 were looked after by a lovely wee friendly scottish lass and we all came out raving about our lunch.
We will definately be back to Cafe Cree.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingerwithattitude, Owner at Cafe Cree, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Thank you for your kind words, it is never easy to take over a business and due to this customer feed back has been the main driver when we make a change, if any...I am pleased to say that due to the customer reviews provided in the cafe we feel overall that any new changes we have made were met with agreement from most people. I hope that next time you are in Newton Stewart you drop by and say hello...glad you enjoyed your meal..Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Sadly, anyone visiting expecting to find Cafe Cree as was, will be extremely disappointed! New owners, (sadly Chris and Jan have moved on) its back to cheese n ham toasties, greasy spoon food, far better off going to The Riverbank outside Sainsburys car park, in a different league!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sunscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingerwithattitude, Owner at Cafe Cree, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2010

Sorry to hear that the change of ownership has not been approved by you. Please note that we are working hard to continue the same ethic that the last owners of cafe cree belived in with regard to using locally sourced produce. Yes we have changed some "suppliers" however, we still use only the "best local suppliers" to help compliment our new and extensive cafe and night time bistro menus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cree also viewed

Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing