We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A unique cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The driveway, accessed via a stone entrance way, with paddocks either side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The driveway, accessed via a stone entrance way, with paddocks either side
Forgotten your shampoo, conditioner or bubble bath?  Don't give it another thought
So why not sit on the private (not overlooked) terrace and look at this?
The walk up the driveway (should you decide not to walk across the fields)
The stream at the end of the garden - fancy a dip? Or maybe just some fishing?
The outlook from the rear of the property ... the rural idyll
Surrounding countryside for gorgeous walks
Nearby woodland walk (accessed from track near cottage)
Nearby woodland walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kelso, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cliff P
Blyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A unique cottage”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A unique cottage in a wonderfully peaceful location, absolutely beautifully presented, luxurious and well equipped .
On arrival the cream tea, cards, wine etc. were a lovely touch and much appreciated. Thank you Miranda.
Our dogs settled in quickly - a lovely lawned garden and plenty of interesting local walks, looking forward to visiting again when we can explore further.
An enjoyable experience in a very special cottage.
Many thanks, we loved it.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay to celebrate a birthday and a wonderful wedding anniversary. You are welcome back any time - your dogs are beautiful and we look forward to seeing them again.
Best wishes
Miranda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mscoultha...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, well equipped cottage in peaceful srroundings”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautiful, well equipped cottage in lovely peaceful surroundings. The cottage was more than big enough for the 2 of us & our dog for the 10 days that we stayed . It had everything you need for a comfortable stay and the large garden is great for dog owners. The cottage is in an ideal location to explore the beautiful Northumberland National Park & the Scottish Borders. Miranda was very helpful and a great welcome pack was waiting for us when we arrived. We would definitely book the cottage again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2015
Thank you Sam! It was lovely having you both to stay (and Maisie) and hope you come back again soon. I hope your trip south went OK x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheps73
Scottish Borders
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way ...”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an absolute fine. An utter gem of a cottage. From the sparkling wine, fresh flowers and scones on arrival to the utterly luxurious bedroom we couldn't have asked for more. A real escape and we would utterly recommend. Great walks, beautiful countryside, utter tranquility yet not isolated. Really well done up - no cut corners! We shouldn't really be telling people about it but it really is a lovely place to go and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The top quality furnishings and fittings
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2015
Thank you so much for your comments and we very much look forward to having you back again next year X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise O
1 review
“A cosy cottage in a delightful setting”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Generally speaking we had a lovely holiday here. We never me the owners, they left us very much to ourselves. Two very friendly dogs who also kept to their distance, which suited ours who very quickly settles in and thinks the territory is his. The 'garden' is a patio area and field, it is not enclosed but faces away from the main house so is private. Lovely to have horses right outside the kitchen window. The living room/kitchen/dining area is a bit too 'cosy' but for one week was fine. Kitchen minimally equipped for those wanting to cook a lot from scratch, we'd gone quite well prepared. No mobile signal and although internet facility was installed it didn't work well enough, however there was something quite nice about feeling 'cut off'. Lovely walks around the cottage and around Kelso which is in itself a very pleasant place. All in all we had a great holiday and would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2015
Hi there, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. Thank you for your comments about the garden and the kitchen provision - the lawn was only sown earlier this year and we are now embarking on the next stage of the project - landscaping! I hope that you will return in the future to see how our work as progressed. I have sourced more kitchen utensils and equipment and hope that future guests will enjoy making some lovely meals. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - it is invaluable in helping us improve and make our cottage all that bit more special. Best wishes, Miranda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhewit
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous, perfect place”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is just perfect - it's like the finest boutique hotel suite set in the most beautiful, tranquil location you could imagine. It's perfect if you like peace and quite and luxury, and you will never run out of places to walk and explore. My wife and I enjoyed our stay so much we'd prefer to keep it to ourselves, but Miranda is such a brilliant, welcoming hostess and the cottage really is so magical it's only right that others get to share it too. I can't recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything was perfect
Liked least: no complaints at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review (I've just worked out how to respond to it!!) and really look forward to seeing you soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing