We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Three of us stayed at the old priory for six nights as a base for salmon fishing and golf. .
Very warm welcome at this bed and breakfast with a very homely feel.Good central location.Free parking. Very attentive service/super breakfast choice and outstanding rooms.
Some hotels do not provide the standards and facilitys on offer at the old priory.
Very highly recommended
EX THF AREA MANAGER

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Lorne, thank you so much for your review, you kept the Trust House Forte bit quiet when you were here!
Glad to have been of service to you , we enjoyed your stay as well and you are welcome back anytime, you will see a link on our Trip Advisor page to the Tour of the Borders which is useful for exploring the area and can be downloaded in pdf form.

We look forward to seeing you again

Robin and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 422 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

A nice B&B in a good location in centre of town with free parking. We stayed one night and went to visit Floors Castle which was worth seeing. Overall a comfortable stay for a short visit or stop over in Kelso.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mac123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Oh dear.

Something upset you.

Interestingly the review below yours also titled "Comfortable B&B" is from guests who stayed on the same night, see the world of difference.

You must have missed the extras or mistaken us for a hotel as you don't mention the silk duvets,hand made bedspreads and curtains, soft towels, free WI-FI, free toiletries, free hospitality tray, two sitting rooms ( a B&B has no communal areas in Visit Scotland rules), 7 choices of breakfast . More than a hotel would give and at B&B price.

B&B is as much about the customer as the place, it is their ability to choose wisely and enter into the ambience of the home understanding that a family home cannot and chooses not to be the sterile enviroment of some Travel Lodge type situations. A home from 1796 cannot be all glittery bathrooms and clean lines, it is a house that was built before bathrooms were thought of, before bikes were invented and has history attached. We feel that we have not spolt the integrity of the house by pandering to modern fads and the house will stand with its original features long after we are dead. Nevertheless we do have all the amenities that you would expect such as great water pressure, warm rooms and antique furniture.

If that is not what you wanted, sorry but as the other review shows different stokes for different folks, pity that you couldn't have spoken to me. Perhaps your expectation was too high?

Average?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 for one night along our route. This B&B is situated in a quaint little town with cobblestone streets. We enjoyed a very friendly welcome and the room and attention we received was excellent. Breakfast was delicious and served in a friendly atmosphere whilst we enjoyed interaction with the other guests. In all, a lovely place to stay in this part of the country and we would stay there again if in the area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Kaye17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your review we enjoyed your company, it is refreshing to have people who understand B&B rather than the hotel scenario, see the review above also titled "Comfortable B&B"

Highly recomended says it all. You are welcome anytime.

Best wishes

Robin and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and found the location, facilities and hospitality fantastic. The rooms are perfectly appointed, with beautiful antique furniture, comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities.
Were able to walk to the racecourse, about a mile away, and use the restaurants and pubs, all within walking distance.
Robin was the perfect host and made a fantastic Scottish breakfast. Can't recommend it enough

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Nick

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed our home, it makes it all worthwhile.

Having a break now ready for next year.

Have a good Christmas and a very happy and prosperous New Year.

Best wishes

Robin and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Only stayed the night for a business meeting. Found it very clean and Robin very friendly and hospitable without being over bearing. Breakfast was superb rooms tastefully decorated and clean. Absolutely first class and would highly recommend the old priory.

Room Tip: Any there all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

GAvin

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we enjoyed your company and would welcome you back anytime

Best wishes and have a good Christmas

Best wishes

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

First let me say that Kelso is a must see (plus the surrounds). And the Old Priory B&B greatly adds to the experience. Robin, our host, knew all the best places to go and had the low-down on the local venues as well as all the farther ranging sites. He was knowledgeable, funny, entertaining and gracious. It was like staying with a friend who was there when you needed without being intrusive. The room was homey and well appointed: the common rooms were welcoming while retaining a feel of the history of the original building - the place is a gem. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Despite being hi-jacked by my wife and your wife being from Ohio (in joke for other readers) it was a pleasure to have you to stay.

You, I'm sure regretted saying that you could play guitar but you did get your Andy Warhol moment at Cobbles, not sure what time Sue got in!

Thank you so much for being so easy to look after, it has been a long season this year.

Come back sometime if you can

Still love the cockerel....hope that you can get a time in the Borders.

Best wishes

Sue and Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and were greeted with a warm welcome. Our room was very comfortable, well appointed and we could not have asked for more. Robin cooked us a superb breakfast after cereal, toast and coffee. We were also helped with, where to eat and where to go, that was on top top of all the information that was emailed to us when we booked. This is a fabulous place to stay, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Kathy

Thank you for your lovely review (still blushing).

Glad that you had a good time, we enjoyed your company too.

Great photo on TA

Have a great Christmas even though snow is unlikely!

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
385 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
161 reviews
0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 16 in Kelso
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#4 of 16 in Kelso
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range: $96 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing