We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 19 Kelso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Classy B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Welcoming, comfortable and a really good breakfast in an excellent location with its own car parking and bags of character. This excellent B&B is also a stone's throw from several excellent restaurants for lunch (Cobbles) or dinner (Oscar's).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelsoGemini49, Owner at The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
David

Your review does not reflect the fact that you keep coming back.....3 times a year for the last 3 years, I will have to think of you as a frustrated TA reviewer unless Pauline takes you in hand!

3 for sleep?

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
208
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have stayed on many occasions now at this fabulous B & B. We always stay the night prior to Kelso Ram Sales. Robin is always so friendly and helpful. The kids just love the night away in this superior accomodation with a breakfast that has a great selection and fills you for the day.

Room Tip: The family room is great if you have 2 kids because there are twin beds for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hard to add to the other reviews except to say that after staying at The Old Priory a few times it has become the yardstick by which I measure other B&Bs and most hotels!
Superior accommodation, food, atmosphere and hosts.
But beware, as you too will soon find yourself searching antique shops and markets on your travels for those particular shaped milk jugs to add to Robin's trade mark collection AND when you return home you WILL want to buy a silk duvet!
The town of Kelso is lovely, interesting shops and v.good restaurants so stay awhile . Oh one last thing if you cannot face a full Scottish breakfast ( only illness prevented me on my last trip) his porridge with cream is exceedingly good and I do not usually like porridge!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

A lgood B&B in a verylovely house in the centre of town. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious with attention to detail, including closing the shutters and turning th bed down at night. Breakasts were delicious. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This B&B is perfectly situated just off the Kelso market square yet is an oasis of calm. We were treated to an en-suite room on the first floor next to the expansive guest lounge. The room came with a good hospitality tray and there was a larger one in the comfortable lounge. The breakfast downstairs was excellent with a nice range in supplementals. I had smoked haddock with my egg. The rooms were well furnished, the en-suite shower a treat and the hospitality by the owner great. They are currently building a conservatory and remodelling the large garden so I forsee it improving even more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayharker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This B&B was the fourth stop on a 65 mile circular walk around the Borders. We arrived in Kelso rather hot and tired but as soon as we were welcomed by Robin, we knew we would have a good night's stay.

Our room was on the first floor - very comfortable beds and a tray with coffees / teas etc. There was a small en-suite which (like the bedroom) was spotlessly clean and had a powerful shower plus towels a-plenty.

We had the use of a sitting room which was superb - and quite quirky. Lovely comfortable sofas and room to stretch out and relax.

Whilst we were dining in town, our beds were ''turned down'' and the shutters closed which was a nice touch. Whilst we had a room on the street frontage, we weren't disturbed and because of the shutters, we had no idea how light it was when we woke up!

Robin's breakfast was excellent - choice of cereals followed by a full cooked breakfast with all the usual goodies. This filled us up and meant we didn't need to eat for hours into our day's walk.

Robin was an excellent host - he told us places we could eat at nearby and also generally made us (and the other guests) feel so welcome.

I can see why this B&B is so well regarded - the town centre location is brilliant and the service is possibly better than most hotels, especially the freshly cooked breakfast. Places like this deserve the praise - do give it a try.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymru-hillwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

What can I say, my friend and I say here on a regular basis (this is the third time this year) and its home from home. Robin Sue, Emily and Phoebe make us very welcome. Its the only place to stay in Kelso. It is situate right in the centre with good eating places recommended by Robin within easy walking distance. The rooms are are well equipped, we always have the family room, which is wonderfully decorated with antique furniture with great character and the most wonderful comfortable king size bed. You cannot help but have a wonderful nights sleep. Breakfast is something else, and as others have said, if you don't get a good breakfast then its your own fault, because the selection is brilliant. Its a really happy atmosphere in the Priory with an upstairs sittingroom with books, games, coffee on tap, tv and wireless connection for laptops. As we work in Kelso each month this is where we stay, and our rooms are always ready with that homely feeling after a long day at work. I cannot recommend this place enough, you are treat like old friends which is lovely. I would, if I could, give this 100 out of 50!! Get yourself up there, lovely area, lovely people, top class B & B, but please not when we are there or we won't get our favourite room.

Room Tip: Rooms are all spacious and very comfortable. Family room is brilliant for people with small children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish110711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelso hotels
0.0 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
0.0 mi away
Inglestone House
Inglestone House
#2 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duncan House
Duncan House
#3 of 19 in Kelso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Priory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Priory 33/35 Woodmarket, Kelso TD5 7AT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Kelso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Kelso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Priory is a gem of a house half in 1796, when it was built, and half in the modern world. We straddle the gap between Woodmarket and the old world of Abbey Row which houses Kelso Abbey. The aim is for us to provide comfort at a reasonable price, atmosphere and charm as befits the age of our home. Our Sitting Room overlooks the Old Parish Church and garden, our Family Suite is two rooms and can be used in a varity of ways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Priory Bed And Breakfast Kelso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing