We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Bothy”
other travelers have booked this property
Private hot tub.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private hot tub.
Sumptuous library lounge with log burning stove While away the hours reading a book and listening the crackle of the cosy log burner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Private hot tub.
Sumptuous library lounge with log burning stove
While away the hours reading a book and listening the crackle of the cosy log burner.
Sit by the fire with a good book and a glass of wine
Fitted kitchen complete with both dining and soft seating areas
Luxurious power shower with complimentary toiletries...
Peruse the many books on display in the library lounge
Soak away all your stresses in your own private hot tub.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kelso, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tibbylass
1 review
“The Bothy”
Reviewed August 23, 2019 for a stay in August 2019

The Bothy was a tranquil, romantic, peaceful retreat which was extremely homely , welcoming and warm. We were looking for all of the above, a place to chill and get away from it all and The Bothy was just the ticket. It has a fully equipped kitchen with everything that we needed and the complimentary essential supplies that were provided by Ashley and Simon was a lovely touch. We took books, board games and music speakers for our chillax time, but The Bothy is fulled stocked with all of these which was cracking. We especially found the hot tub to be the icing on the cake for us, and the extra touch of the towelling robes was much appreciated. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay on the Kersmains Farm, just wished we'd had longer.

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2019
Thank you so much for such a lovely review Clare. We’re delighted that we were able to provide you with the break that you both needed and hope we can welcome you back to The Bothy again sometime soon.
Best Wishes,
Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonmorSun...
Sunderland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cosy and spacious cottage”
Reviewed May 31, 2019 for a stay in May 2019

The Bothy is a wonderful place to stay, lots of space for 2. Very comfortable and the conservatory/kitchen is great to sit and relax with a book and a coffee.
Plenty of places to visit nearby. Simon and Ashley are lovely and very helpful. We hope to visit again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2019
Thank you so much Moira! We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and hope to see you back again very soon. Best Wishes,Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
66Rainbow
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious accommodation in tranquil setting”
Reviewed May 24, 2019 for a stay in May 2019

We enjoyed our stay at The Bothy in spacious, well appointed accommodation in a rural setting with no traffic noise. All rooms and en suite are surprisingly spacious, well appointed, and comfortable - we slept well in a very comfortable bed.The conservatory is a lovely bright space to sit in with views of a big sky, and although there is no garden view, there is ample space outside with seating to sit and enjoy a glass of wine after a day out exploring the area. Thanks to Ashley and Simon for concise instructions to the location, warm welcome on arrival, and complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits. We would certainly recommend The Bothy for a comfortable break away.

Date of stay: May 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2019
Thank you so much- we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Please do come back and visit us again soon! Best Wishes,Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Easter break”
Reviewed May 16, 2019 for a stay in April 2019

My wife and I stopped here for 5 nights over the Easter period and found it very cosy. The owners made us feel very welcome. It's away from the town and is restful, as a result. The kitchen / diner part of the Bothy is well equipped, spacious and bright. We were greeted by a pint of milk in the fridge, coffee pods for the coffee maker and a few biscuits to start of the stay. The living room is huge, and books, dvds and one or two games are provided to keep you entertained.The bedroom is plenty big enough for 2, although hanging space for clothes is a touch limited. The bathroom is a good size, with an excellent shower unit (multiple shower heads). We enjoyed our time here very much. My only minor criticism is that I found the mattress, on the very large bed, to be a touch too firm for me. I didn't sleep too well for the first couple of nights, as a result. But that's a personal thing. My wife slept very well indeed. If I could give 4 and a half stars, I would.

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M
1 review
“Comfortable and cosy set in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed August 7, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Fabulous place to stay. Very comfortable with beautiful surroundings. Amazing night sky from the conservatory. Only minutes from local towns and places of interest to explore. Very friendly hosts. Would definitely recommend as a place to stay and would consider returning.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review Fiona,they honestly do make such a difference to little businesses like ours so we really appreciate it! We hope to welcome you back to Kersmains again sometime soon. Best Wishes,Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahholi...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed August 5, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We really enjoyed our stay in the Bothy. The decor is lovely and we had more space than we imagined. Had a great walk along the river into Kelso and back along the old railway line. On a rainy day, it was very relaxing to read in the conservatory listening to the rain. The shower was 5* quality and nice extras like the free tea, coffee and biscuits were appreciated. For local meals, would recommend the steak at the Cobbles restaurant in Kelso - delicious. The only thing that let our experience down was that, like other reviews have mentioned, we found the mattress VERY hard and so didn’t get a good night’s sleep. If the mattress is changed in future, would definitely return and recommend to others.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S8520NVlb
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 10, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It had everything you would need for a relaxing break. Lovely little kitchen/lounge area which was very comfortable. Very well decorated and the log burner would be fabulous during the winter months. It’s attached to the main farmhouse where the owners Ashley & Simon live with their young children. Met Ashley as we were leaving and she was lovely. We only had 2 gripes about our stay 1) the mattress was as hard as brick and I mean REALLY hard 2) the small outside area which the patio doors looked out onto had a high fence which when you were seated cut off the views to the beautiful scenery beyond. The fence did provide privacy however. Would like to return in the winter but might bring a mattress topper lol. Thanks for milk and biscuits. All in all we loved it and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing